We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury for Families” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pillo Hotel Ashbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
1 review
“Luxury for Families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel happily ticks all the boxes. Had a different hotel booked, one that I always use, clean reliable etc. but with bringing the kids on the mid term break it was a bit on the dear side. When I found the Pillo hotel I was a bit worried because of the unknown but it I was pleasantly surprised. Firstly was the entertainment organised for the kids was well thought out and a large function room was set aside for a kids disco, arts&crafts and finally a cinema sized movie viewing. With all of this, I am happy to say there was no compromise on standards. For less than €100/night we got a large family room with 2 large double beds with all the latest mod cons and high standard of finishings. Very modern trendy bar and restaurants serving beautiful food and drink with a spacious family friendly lobby for the kids to wander. A huge pool and modern gym to top it all off. Definitely making a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deltaromeo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell P, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Deltaromeo82,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and 5 out of 5 rating.

I was delighted to read how much you and your family enjoyed your recent stay at The Pillo Hotel. I was especially pleased that your children enjoyed the kids club and activities as well as the pool facilities. We have received exceptional feedback from numerous familes who very much enjoyed their time at our hotel. Be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our family offers and packages.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Pillo Hotel in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Darrell Penney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    400
    163
    81
    54
See reviews for
646
299
17
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We recently spent one night's B&B at the Pillo Hotel, whilst attending a wedding in the area. My overall reaction was that I wished I was staying longer! The staff were all extremely friendly & helpful; the check-in and check-out was very fast & efficient; the room was huge, spotless and well-equipped; and the breakfast was delicious. But the absolute best thing about the Pillo Hotel was the bed! I had the best night's sleep I've ever had in a hotel (and possibly ever!). The kingsize bed was really high, which I love, and unbelievably comfortable - mainly thanks to a lovely thick & soft mattress topper. The pillows were lovely & soft too. I just didn't want to leave!
I would highly recommend this hotel, and can't wait for a reason to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell P, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear JeanO,

Many thanks for such a wonderful review on tripadvisor!
I took great pleasure in reading all of your comments and I will ensure they are passed on to the Management & Staff here at The Pillo Hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Darrell Penney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Before arriving I had read threw a few reviews on trip advisor and was quite worried as there were quite a few bad comments. On arrival we wer greeted by a super friendly receptionist and given our room on the 5th floor. It was a corner room and was massive! Really comfy bed and very clean. We later went down for a swim, again facilities wer great. Our package included a 3 coarse meal in the restaurant. The meal was beautiful and staff wer very attentive! We had a few drinks in the bar before returning to the room for a great nights sleep. Breakfast the next morning was fine, very busy and food not the warmest but nothing worth complaining about! All in all we would definatly return and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tootsy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell P, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Tootsy87,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of The Pillo Hotel on Tripadvisor.
I was extremely pleased to read such wonderful comments, I will ensure they are passed on to the Management & Staff who will be just as pleased.
What pleases me most about your particular comments is that they relate to all aspects of the facilities here at the hotel and you found them all to be of a very high quality.

Many thanks once again, I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Darrell Penney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Very poor wi-fi makes it a bad hotel if you are away on business. Must be one of the worst in Ireland. The best advice is to go down the lobby if you want to work - a great place for privacy !

Would not stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell P, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Michael S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at The Pillo Hotel.
Obviously I am extremely dissappointed to learn that you would not return to the hotel due to the issues with the Wi-Fi. Due to the ongoing issues with the Wi-Fi, we are in the process of sourcing a new provider for Wi-Fi in the bedrooms and I a hope to report installation of same very shortly. I do hope you will then give us another opportunity by returning to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Darrell Penney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights to attend a couple of events close by. The hotel gives a good first impression and the public rooms are light and spacious. The room we had was OK and had plenty of space. The bathroom was fine, although, as is usual in many Irish hotels, there were no power points there. I was disappointed in a few things.
Breakfast was good in terms of range and quality of food but whether we were early or later, the eggs and bacon were cold and coffee was inconsistent. This was clearly a weekend for families and the number of noisy children was probably higher than I would have expected.
Room service was prompt but my partner reported the burger he ordered the worst he had ever had. We also bought four small bottles of tonic water and one was very dodgy - apparently re-sealed with a 'brand cola' crown cap.
Another problem was flies. No, I don't mean the possibility of one that came in through an open window... I mean 10 very groggy flies that appeared to have been born in the room. This made me feel sick. And wonder where they had come from! The room certainly wasn't dirty.

I note that other reviewers had a problem with noise. We did too. Apparently the hotel has weddings and other groups quite frequently and this is the reason, I am guessing.

This wasn't a dreadful place but one that needed some improvements.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisPossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell P, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Janette07,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Pillo Hotel.

Obviously I was extremely disappointed to read your mixed review. I have passed your comments in relation to the food and beverage onto the Food & Beverage Management Team. In relation to the noise you experienced, we have a reputation as a comfortable and relaxed environment so I am a little surprised to read you experienced a lot of noise. I can assure you that would not be a common occurrance here at the hotel.

Many thanks once again for the valuable feedback, I will ensure we discuss all your points at our next Management meeting.

Warm Regards,
Darrell Penney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Well where do i start .....
Myself and My Husband planned a last minute trip to this hotel... we drove 1hour and a half to get the place itself. We noticed there was a large wedding taking place and it looked busy altho we didnt mind as we are young married couple and were planning a nice dinner and a few drinks
Check in was fine ..... the receptionist alloacted room 203 on arrival
When we got to our room and opened the door the smell of stale cigarette smoke hit me, it was sooo bad that we just dropped of the luggage and went straight to the fine dining restaurant as we were starving after our jouney, the starter was lovely, steak looked amazing half way through i proceeded to pull a black 3 cm hair from my fork, i instantly felt sick... i didnt want to complain because the waitress was so nice and i didnt want to embarass her as i work in a hotel and know its not her fault. After this we went straight back to out smelly room as i felt sick after dinner. I tried to wash my make up off and when i turned on the hot water no water came out!!! It dribbled so i washed my face with freezing water... around 9.00pm the wedding band kicked in i felt like they were in the room with us .... at 11.30pm i literally couldnt take anymore as it was so loud. I packed my luggage and we went to reception... receptionist looked at us uniterested ... i said im checking out ... she said one moment i will prepare your bill???... i said are you not going to ask why we are leaving? she said "ok y" .. I explained the situation she said "ok well i will move you to the 5th floor" .....Y did she not put us there when allocating the room in the first place i asked .....she said "well i didnt check you in" ...... I honestly couldnt think of a response to the attitude .... I couldnt even look at the so called room on the 5th floor as i was that annoyed with the whole place! (i paid)...U can really tell how much the managment cares about service at this hotel, as you can see below their manager does not respond to any of the reviews so they dont care about you they just want your money .... 4 star ... Who gave them these stars they do NOT deserve them

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FeeMark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell P, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear FeeMarkR,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at The Pillo Hotel.

Obviously I am extremely disappointed to read your comments and that you felt the need to check out early. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your overall experience with you and would very much be obliged if you could email me a contact number where I can reach you. I can be contacted by mail at darrell.penney@pillohotelashbourne.com.

I look forwrad to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,
Darrell Penney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Region
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed at the Pillo for one night while attending the recent auctions at Fairyhouse. This was my first stay and i was impressed with the speed at which i was checked in.
The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable.
I ate in the Red Bar and my order arrived within 20 minutes.
I chose to have breakfast in my room and this arrived bang on the time i requested, it was still piping hot, although the toast was slightly soggy.
Check out was even more efficient than arrival.
My only complaint - the room was warm and even with the aircon running on its lowest setting i could not get it to a comfortable level

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collec2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell P, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Collec2r,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay on tripadvisor.

I was delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your stay, I have passed your compliments on to the Management & Staff at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Darrell Penney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
1.3 mi away
Ashbourne Court Hotel
Ashbourne Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
14.5 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
8.0 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
1.3 mi away
Ashbourne House Hotel
Ashbourne House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ashbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
9.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pillo Hotel Ashbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pillo Hotel Ashbourne

Property: Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Address: The Rath, Ashbourne, Ireland (Formerly Ashbourne Marriott Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pillo Hotel Ashbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel combines contemporary chic with 4 star luxury, perfectly located between Dublin City centre and Meath the heritage capital of Ireland so you can enjoy the best of both worlds. With 148 bedrooms decorated to the highest standard The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is the only choice when staying for business or pleasure.The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is ideal for a family getaway, with interconnecting and spacious family rooms available, a fantastic 16 metre swimming pool, children’s play room on site and with Ireland’s newest attraction Tayto Park just five minutes away the children will be entertained for hours. Other attractions within the area include The National Aquatic Centre, Dublin Zoo and Funtasia.Or if you’re staying for business, enjoy our high speed complimentary internet access or work in the comfort of our business centre. Relax and unwind in our Fitness centre, Jacuzzi, steam room or sauna.The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is located on the N2 and is only 11 minutes from the M50, which makes the hotel the perfect location for conferences and events partnered with over 9000 square feet of meeting space over 7 meeting rooms and on site exhibition space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Pillo Hotel Ashbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ashbourne
Ashbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing