We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay cant wait to visit again!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We arrived a little early for Check-in and after a 4 hour drive were a little tired... but the receptionist was very accommodating. The room and linen was spotlessly clean!! We then went off to Newgrange which was lovely and so close.

My boyfriend and I came back to the hotel around 7ish and ate in the hotel bar. We both ordered the Burger which was delicious and the waiter we had was so nice and the manager of the bar (I think??) was so nice and made sure everyone was being looked after!!

We then went to enjoy the pool/sauna/hydro-pool and jacuzzi which was again spotless with great facilities. We then went back to relax in the bar which has lovely comfy couches. As a young couple with no kids... it was so nice to see a hotel which caters for both couples and families with kids and business people alike.

We bought the voucher from a coupon deal online and the hotel definitely out did our expectations!! And to finish our stay the breakfast was amazing. We'll definitely be back.

Thanks all and cant wait to visit again!! :D

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and was perfect!! Was so quiet for a hotel which at the time was quite b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnLynch22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne N, Interim Hotel Operations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear AnnLynch22,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to the area and for taking the time to post such a positive review. I was delighted to read of your experience, from the cleanliness of the hotel, food quality, friendliness of our team and the quality of our leisure facilities. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Warm Regards,
Wayne Neilon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,201 - 1,207 of 1,595 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

Kids running around EVERYWHERE! You can't sit at night even at 9:00 pm because kids are running all over unsupervised. They are allowed in the bar until 9:00 pm then they run around in the lobby area for another 1-2 hours. One ran into ,e and spilled my glass of wine. I ordered the same glass of wine every night (4) and was charged a different price each night. Don't go unless you like extremely unruly kids everywhere! And I like kids!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
2  Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne N, Interim Hotel Operations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Maureen B,

Thank you for taking the time to psot your review on Tripadvisor, although disappointed to read of your experience. We are the closest hotel to Tayto Park, one of Ireland's leading children activities, therefore July & August would be an extremely busy time with the family market, I am sorry that this had such an impact on the quality of your stay.

I would like to have the opportunity to discuss your stay with you directly if possible. I can be contacted at wayne.neilon@pillohotelashbourne.com or 01 8350800, I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,
Wayne Neilon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

i booked a family room for myself my husband and our three children. first impressions were the hotel looked beautiful, reception staff were very welcoming, rooms are very very clean. i dont like dirty hotels and this hotel was spotless. was pleasantly surprised to find a fridge in the room as i was not expecting this at all. we stayed for three nights and every day we came back the rooms had been cleaned and beds made. breakfast was luvly great selection. dinner in the red bar was luvly. have no complaints whatsoever. we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: we slept in top floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyGoLucky86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne N, Interim Hotel Operations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear HappyGoLucky86,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, they mean a lot to all the team. Delighted to read that you were very happy with the cleanliness and food quality, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Wayne Neilon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I'm going to start with the only complaint that I have about this hotel, just to get it out of the way. Rooms seem to be given on a first come first served basis. This might be a good idea normally but we went with work and there were probably 30 families going on the same day. Some arrived early and got into their room at 9 in the morning. Some arrived at 11 and the room wasn't available until 3. We had a room with 2 double beds even though we were a couple with 3 children. Where other families were given rooms for the same price with 2 bedrooms in it when they were a couple and 1 child.
Apart from this....I couldn't mark down any other aspect of the hotel. It has loads of grounds for the kids to run around, the rooms are spotlessly clean, anything we asked for (extra shampoo and towels) were brought up to the room within minutes. They have a kids club which is great but the best part for our kids was the FREE disco. They had a ball. The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast was lovely. I would definitely go back and the Tayto park offer is fantastic and great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne N, Interim Hotel Operations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Sharon Q,

Thank you for taking the time to post you very positive feedback on Tripadvisor. We have taken note of the room allocation issue that you referred to. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, found your room to be spotlessly clean and that the team were friendly and helpful. Due to our location being so close to Tayto Park, it is important that we look after our younger clientelle, so very happy to note that kids enjoyed the kids club and disco.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you and your family back in the future, once again, thanks for your positive comments, they are much appreciated.

Kind Regards,
Wayne Neilon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We arrived after 5-6 h drive, very tired, reception was very nice, food good, but too expensive, the rooms like every time we go very clean and lovely. As we had a long trip up to the hotel, we forgot our tooth paste and already ready to have an early night,I phoned reception to ask for a kit, that some hotels sell, ie tooth paste, brush and comb in it,but was patrionising explained that best to walk to the next petrol station even after I told the receptionist that we ve driven so long, she was sarcasticly commenting on this. Must say she was the only 'black sheep' in the staff,they were in generell quiet friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ok-ish, dont like the scrambled eggs as some hotels dont use real ones, but some powdery substitutes. Must say that I changed my mind of staying the planned 2 more nights and checked into another local hotel, which had brill staff.

Room Tip: Dont forget ur tooth paste only tip I can give
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandSassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne N, Interim Hotel Operations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear IrelandSassy,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. I was pleased to not note that you found the room to be lovely and very clean, but regret to read that you did not enjoy the rest of your stay and decided to check out early. We will review the option of having a certain amount of toiletries available, although the team member at reception was only stating that we did not have the toiletries that you requested and that the service station across the road from the hotel would stock these items.

I'm also sorry to note that you did not enjoy the scrambled eggs, although I would like to clarify that we do not use "powdery substitutes", our Chef buys pastuerised eggs which are used for our scrambled eggs. I apologise the we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion, but hope that you may give us an opportunity to welcome you back when you are visiting the area again.

Kind Regards,
Wayne Neilon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Booked a family room on b&b basis for Friday night and was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Reception area is bright and spacious, staff are polite and the rooms are top notch. Extra marks for the linen - very comfortable. Restaurant/bar food was ok as was the breakfast - staff coped very well at busy time. Pool/leisure facilities are excellent - we will definitely return to this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davidm723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne N, Interim Hotel Operations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Davidm723,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to the area. Very happy to see that you found the staff to be friendly, rooms to be top notch and our swimming pool to be excellent. We look forward to welcoming you back.

kind Regards,
Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed weekend of 5th July . Hotel lovely bar food beautiful but breakfast was not good at all . You had a wait a good 8 mins if you requested any other type of egg bar scrambled . Mushrooms were watery and pudding was rotten too . Sort out the breakfast and this place will get top marks all round .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank No1Babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne N, Interim Hotel Operations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear No1Babe,

Thank you for your feedback, following on from similar feedback received from other guests during the first week of July, we are addressing the issues noted and will continue to review to ensure that improvements are made to breakfast quality and service. I was happy to read the you thought the hotel was lovely and the bar food was beautiful. I apologise that breakfast did not match the experience of the rest of your stay. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
1.3 mi away
Ashbourne Court Hotel
Ashbourne Court Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ashbourne
275 reviews
8 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
14.5 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ashbourne House Hotel
Ashbourne House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
294 reviews
14.5 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
464 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pillo Hotel Ashbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pillo Hotel Ashbourne

Address: The Rath, Ashbourne, Ireland (Formerly Ashbourne Marriott Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Price Range: $111 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pillo Hotel Ashbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel combines contemporary chic with 4 star luxury, perfectly located between Dublin City centre and Meath the heritage capital of Ireland so you can enjoy the best of both worlds. With 148 bedrooms decorated to the highest standard The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is the only choice when staying for business or pleasure.The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is ideal for a family getaway, with interconnecting and spacious family rooms available, a fantastic 16 metre swimming pool, children’s play room on site and with Ireland’s newest attraction Tayto Park just five minutes away the children will be entertained for hours. Other attractions within the area include The National Aquatic Centre, Dublin Zoo and Funtasia.Or if you’re staying for business, enjoy our high speed complimentary internet access or work in the comfort of our business centre. Relax and unwind in our Fitness centre, Jacuzzi, steam room or sauna.The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is located on the N2 and is only 11 minutes from the M50, which makes the hotel the perfect location for conferences and events partnered with over 9000 square feet of meeting space over 7 meeting rooms and on site exhibition space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pillo Hotel Ashbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ashbourne
Ashbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing