We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - Great for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - Great for kids”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed from Sunday 7th - Tuesday 9th, booked zoo package and Tatyo package. On arrival on Sunday the hotel was very busy, but receptionist Sarah was lovely. We wanted a room with a bath for our small son and she was very accommodating. Our room was fab, massive (queen size bed for us and double for the kids). The room also had a small balcony. It was clean and very child friendly. We were on the 5th floor and found it very quiet. Aircon in this rare heat wave was brilliant. Breakfast was fine, buffet style, each morning my husband asked for fresh fried egg and this was no problem. Pool was good and kids loved it. Small games room too, and my daughter aged 6 went to a movie night on the Monday night which she loved. We did not eat in the hotel in the evenings, we just liked to go out and about. The weather was so nice so the few drinks we had were consumed outside. We loved the hotel and will go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresefarthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne N, Interim Hotel Operations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear theresefarthing,

Thank you for your lovely review, delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your visit to the hotel. I hope you enjoyed the local area, it was the perfect weather for a short break. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    408
    170
    99
    57
See reviews for
687
311
21
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gorey, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel because of its close location to Tayto Park. My partner and 2 year old went on a 2 night stay. After visiting Tayto Park which is top notch we checked in at the hotel. No problem checking in but staff could have been nicer. Up to the room and very spacious 2 double beds, we brought our own cot. Bathroom lovely and clean, power of shower very strong and overall room very clean. Although tv was a bit annoying. No rte2 , it was broken!! We had asked in an email prior to arrival could we please have our meal (which was in the deal) as bar food instead. We were told no! I also asked this question at the hotel but was also told no. The bar food menu suited our tastes better, was cheaper and with a 2 year old we thought the bar might be more suitable as we were concerned a noisy 2 year old would disturb guests in the restaurant. We ate in the restaurant on the 2nd evening at 6pm. We were shown to our table and asked for our dinner voucher which reception never supplied us with. We were not offered a high chair for our 2 year old. The orders were taken but we were brought a jug of water and no other drinks order was taken, even though at that time we were the only people in the restaurant. Starters were nice. My partner then ordered steak(€5 supplement) and I ordered the duck leg. My duck was ok but my partner ordered her steak well done and it came medium rare. Being fussy she did not want to wait for another so skipped the main course then. Dessert was profiteroles for us and were as expected. At the bill time we were brought the wrong bill as it had 2 mains and the €5 steak supplement on it. We should only have been charged €3 for bowl of mash. This was rectified after pointing this out. Breakfast on both mornings was not very nice at all, the bacon had more fat on it then meat. The scrambled egg was cold and on the 2nd morning despite asking for tea twice it took a third ask to finally get it. 1 particular girl working the breakfast on Wednesday was very rude, and I recommend a customer service course for her. Check out went as expected and we mentioned the steak at dinner but I could not vent our frustration to a Duty Manager as we were in a hurry. I can not comment on the pool as we didn't use the facilities. If you can do Tayto Park on a day trip, do, if not stay elsewhere. Ashbourne is 2 mins away. We went to bettystown on Tuesday and that is only 20-25 mins away. To be honest I was expecting this hotel to be top notch but unfortunately is a long way away from that.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne N, Interim Hotel Operations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Keith R,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it was with regret that I read of your experience particularly the elements relating to customer service in the hotel. I was also disappointed to note that we could not facilitate your request to have your dinner in the bar instead of the restaurant. Our Food & Beverage management team have reviewed the issues you mentioned and have put actions in place to correct these for future guests. Once again, thank you for your feedback and apologies that your visit was not an enjoyable one.

Kind Regards,
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for 2 nights. Check in was grand, receptionists couldn't do more for us and our room was spacious, clean with comfortable beds. Not many towels or toiletries provided.

Pool was perfect, all kids out by 7 so it was quiet after that.

However, the bar/waiting staff were not friendly and we were left waiting for ages at the bar for drink and food. Regularly we had to order our drinks twice. The food was average, not great. Even to get the bill was difficult and waiting on change again took an eternity.

I couldn't believe the dirt of the floors in the bar, it was a disgrace on both nights.

Breakfast was an absolutely disaster. They just couldn't cope with the number of people there. We were showed to our table and it hadn't even been cleaned and we were told to go get our breakfast and when we returned it would be cleaned. It was, but the breakfast was cold so we had to send the breakfast back to be heated.

The music in the bar on the Saturday was terrible. The two individuals singing stopped mid-stream of many songs and in between all songs they stopped to chat and have a laugh between themselves, so rude.

There was a wedding on one of the nights. We were on the 3rd floor and the racket of the music kept us awake.

Its very close to Tayto Park and Slane but it is a bit of a walk into town if you are going out there & not far to Dublin.

Overall, I guess if you are just going on a room only basis, its fine :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityBusters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne N, Interim Hotel Operations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear CityBusters,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor, although disappointed to note that you did not have an enjoyable stay. I appreciate your positive comments regarding the comfort and cleanliness of your room and our swimming pool. We have received a number of similar comments to yours in relation to the breakfast service and I believe that we have addressed the issues raised. All our carpets in Red Bar were professionally cleaned on Monday 8th July, I apologise that they were not in better condition during your visit. Once again, thank you for your feedback, it is by receiving and reacting to customer feedback such as yours, that we can improve our service and facilities for all future guests.

Kind Regards,
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Only stayed for 1 night, the rooms are ok and the staff on reception and in the bar are great, the food in the bar was also good. Breakfast is not worth paying extra for, the service was also not good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatsDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne N, Interim Hotel Operations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear NATSDUBLINIRELAND,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your review. I will pass on you kind comments to our front office and bar staff, they are much appreciated. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Initial view was good and our Receptionist was charming and took the two boys under her notice. Whilst ensuring our booking and all was as required she also asked if we required anything additional. The boys were impressed that she spoke to them and actually listened! We had spoken to two further receptionists one on Sunday evening and one on Checkout. They were all pleasant and very polite. We used the Pool and whilst we had to pay 8 Euro for 4 hats it was good, all facilities working and all spotlessly clean. We ate in the Bar, Sunday evening and Staff were quick and courteous, both male and female. Breakfast was good and the boys had enough choice to keep them happy , including Juices, Cereals and Fried foods with Croissants and Danish Pastries if you required. Rooms and Bathrooms were spacious and clean with Tea and Coffee supplied , additional milk and cups were supplied, on asking, with no issue.

Room Tip: We stayed on level 5 which was quiet, rooms at the very end are above an air conditioning duct and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seamus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne N, Interim Hotel Operations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Seamus M,

Thank you for your lovely review, I was delighted to read that you found the team to be friendly, courteous and helpful. I hope you and your grandchildren had an enjoyable time in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the Pillo Hotel in Ashbourne on Saturday June 15th while attending a concert in Slane. The location was perfect for this and private coach hire was available to and from the gig from the hotel car-park, for an additional cost.
The rooms were large and clean. Most importantly, the bed was extremely comfortable.
On the downside, the majority of staff members we encountered had little or no clue as to what was going on.
I rang the hotel in advance on two occasions, concerning the coach hire and early check-in. I was misinformed on both occasions and my call was not returned even though I was told it would be.
On arrival, some staff said you couldn't order food at the bar, you should sit and they would take your order. Other members of our party were told the opposite!
This became the recurring theme of our stay!
Members of our party were also unimpressed by the tepid food served on our return from the gig.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fingateable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne N, Interim Hotel Operations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Fingateable,

thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in the area and for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I was glad to note that you liked the size and cleanliness of your room, in particular the comfort of the bed. I apologise that you did not receive the correct information to your queries regarding the coach transfer. Your feedback will be reviewed in line with all our customer feedback and we will continuously strive to ensure that guests receive the service that they and we expect. I hope you enjoyed the Slane concert and once again thank you for bringing your experience to our attention.

Kind Regards,
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very modern hotel , very good pool area for kids, the staff are friendly. The food is very nice and there is entertainment on Saturdays the hotel is very clean and the rooms are modern. They have music on a Saturday and if a wedding is on the hotel is very lively

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gedIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne N, Interim Hotel Operations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear gedIreland,

Thank you for your lovely review, glad to read that you found the pool to be very good and suitable for children. I will pass on your kind comments regarding staff friendliness and great food to our F&B team. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
1.3 mi away
Ashbourne Court Hotel
Ashbourne Court Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ashbourne
252 reviews
8.0 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
9.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
1.3 mi away
Ashbourne House Hotel
Ashbourne House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
278 reviews
10.1 mi away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pillo Hotel Ashbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pillo Hotel Ashbourne

Property: Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Address: The Rath, Ashbourne, Ireland (Formerly Ashbourne Marriott Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pillo Hotel Ashbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel combines contemporary chic with 4 star luxury, perfectly located between Dublin City centre and Meath the heritage capital of Ireland so you can enjoy the best of both worlds. With 148 bedrooms decorated to the highest standard The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is the only choice when staying for business or pleasure.The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is ideal for a family getaway, with interconnecting and spacious family rooms available, a fantastic 16 metre swimming pool, children’s play room on site and with Ireland’s newest attraction Tayto Park just five minutes away the children will be entertained for hours. Other attractions within the area include The National Aquatic Centre, Dublin Zoo and Funtasia.Or if you’re staying for business, enjoy our high speed complimentary internet access or work in the comfort of our business centre. Relax and unwind in our Fitness centre, Jacuzzi, steam room or sauna.The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is located on the N2 and is only 11 minutes from the M50, which makes the hotel the perfect location for conferences and events partnered with over 9000 square feet of meeting space over 7 meeting rooms and on site exhibition space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pillo Hotel Ashbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ashbourne
Ashbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing