We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Carlow, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid!!!!!!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Manager completely ignored complaint despite e-mail three times and phoning once.
Booked hotel for a large party of friends also booked restaurant at the same time. When arrived at restaurant and asked for my table was told there was no booking, when I said I had booked it over two weeks ago and confirmed this booking with reception when checking into hotel, restaurant staff blamed reception and when I went out to reception they blamed the restaurant staff. When we eventually got a table the food was cold and had to be sent back. Upon my return home I e-mailed the hotel but manager has completely ignored my complaint.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fefe313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    403
    165
    91
    55
See reviews for
661
303
18
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Was at a corporate event and enjoyed this hotel.
Big rooms nice beds and plugs each side which is important.The bar has nice layout and the event rooms are nice.overall a great night out in a nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimboirelandDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We are a family of 5 who stayed in the Pillo last September for a birthday celebration with other family members and enjoyed it so much we came back.This time round, we were not disappointed.The rooms are great and we were all very comfortable.We were on the second floor and got free wifi in our room! We made full use of the gym and pool, great facilities, kids enjoyed very much.The bar food and breakfasts were very good.Great value too with the kids as they eat free!We had a main meal with our deal, which we had on our second night.There were 10 in our group and four of us had the fish.After our fab starter the fish dish was not good.I dont usually like to complain, but felt we had to as this was a let down after our last experience.When we highlighted this to the waitress, she didnt say much and eventually came back and took our dessert order, which took a good 20mins for 2 bowls of kids icecream! We were a bit disappointed with this as the service up to our complaint was very good. We left the restaurant and my sister mentioned it to reception. With that, the duty manager(David) promptly came to us.He recognised us from last year, and took our comments on board.He was very apologetic and looked after our group very well, more than was expected.

Overall, we had a lovely weekend.One thing we noticed, is that all the staff were the same faces from our previous stay, nice to see! Such great service overall.Thanks for a lovely weekend, hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hypermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife & I stayed here mid January for two nights and we really enjoyed it. Our room was large we had a flat screen tv and it was warm and very comfortable.
We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night and enjoyed it so much that we went back the second night as well. Also the staff were lovely. We'll definitely be back but the only complaint i would have is that the wifi didnt work in our room but thats only a small thing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank culcrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trim, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a nice comfortable hotel. The hotel is a taxi ride away from the centre of Ashbourne. We got a fab deal of b&b plus dinner for €50 pp sharing. Dinner was a set menu and the service was very good We really couldn't fault the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoelady38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

stayed here on the 3 Jan 2013 and really enjoyed my stay, the hotel itself is fabulous and the food was lovely, eat in the bar and reataurant and had breakfast. The only thing is I realised within an hour of leaving the hotel that I had left my phone behind so I rang reception . I really felt the staff did not give the room a really good search or took me that serious and I feel my phone is there or was anyway. Staff were polite but I just dont feel they really searched the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have just spent 2 nights here... We both thought the hotel was fantastic... In our deal we got a 2 course meal each, which we used on the 1st night (1st Jan)
which the meal was great, loads of food, but the hotel seemed very busy and had loads of children running around which at times was too much when u were eating a special meal... We decided to eat at the hotel the 2nd night to, (no kids this time) my partner had fish, which he said was one of the best he'd had... I ended up with turkey and ham, which was loads and in fact we ended up just havin a main each... But the 2 course meal deal €20 each is better value...

The hotel breakfast range was very good, the hot food at times was cold, but I ended up asking for Poached eggs which where fab!...

The hotel offers free wifi, but not in ur room, but everywhere else, ask the Receptionist for the code.

The Leisure centre attached to the hotel was great, we used it 3 times when we were there.. Defo worth the visit...

The rooms were very modern and it came with a good air con unit... And loads of tv channels...

All round, we'd visit again and have booked Mum and Dad to come here in Feb..

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nokia1792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne N, Interim Hotel Operations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Nokia1792,

Thank you for your review, very happy to read that you both had an enjoyable stay. New Year's Day was particularly busy with Families staying in the hotel, and sorry to note that it had an impact on your dining experience the first night. I will pass on your lovely comments about the food to our Chefs. I was delighted to see that you also enjoyed the leisure facilities in the hotel. We currently offer free WiFi in our lobby, first floor foyer and meeting rooms and cabled broadband connection in our bedrooms, this is an area that we will look to review. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and we look forward to welcoming your Mum and Dad to the hotel in February.

Warm Regards,
Wayne Neilon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
1.3 mi away
Ashbourne Court Hotel
Ashbourne Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
242 reviews
8.0 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
14.5 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ashbourne House Hotel
Ashbourne House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ashbourne
271 reviews
9.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
15.6 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pillo Hotel Ashbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pillo Hotel Ashbourne

Property: Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Address: The Rath, Ashbourne, Ireland (Formerly Ashbourne Marriott Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pillo Hotel Ashbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel combines contemporary chic with 4 star luxury, perfectly located between Dublin City centre and Meath the heritage capital of Ireland so you can enjoy the best of both worlds. With 148 bedrooms decorated to the highest standard The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is the only choice when staying for business or pleasure.The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is ideal for a family getaway, with interconnecting and spacious family rooms available, a fantastic 16 metre swimming pool, children’s play room on site and with Ireland’s newest attraction Tayto Park just five minutes away the children will be entertained for hours. Other attractions within the area include The National Aquatic Centre, Dublin Zoo and Funtasia.Or if you’re staying for business, enjoy our high speed complimentary internet access or work in the comfort of our business centre. Relax and unwind in our Fitness centre, Jacuzzi, steam room or sauna.The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is located on the N2 and is only 11 minutes from the M50, which makes the hotel the perfect location for conferences and events partnered with over 9000 square feet of meeting space over 7 meeting rooms and on site exhibition space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pillo Hotel Ashbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ashbourne
Ashbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing