We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class in every sense.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pillo Hotel Ashbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Belmullet, Co. Mayo
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“First Class in every sense.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had three relaxing nights in the Pillo in early December and, for sure, we will be back again. From the minute we stepped in the door, exhausted and hungry we were attended to as if we were the most important guests ever to walk through the door. The manager personally checked with us on a number of occasions to see if our room was to our satisfaction and if there was anything else he or the staff could do for us. The bar staff were very friendly and the service was great. The bar food was also very good. A mention as well about the staff at Jules beauty therapy centre in the hotel - Sarah was superb, her skills and the customer service here deserve top marks also. All-in-all an excellent experience. Can confidently recommend this hotel to all. It is well located right off the roundabout junction M2 and N2 and R135.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DromCaoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne N, Interim Hotel Operations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear DromCaoin,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Ashbourne and for taking the time to post such a lovely review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that you would recommend us with confidence. I will pass on your kind comments to all staff, in particular Sarah from Jule Spa. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Warm Regards,
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    400
    163
    81
    54
See reviews for
646
299
17
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
galway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed here as we were going to Tayto Park. Its just 5 minutes away. The hotel was so so busy! Full of kids as there was a fesh (Irish Dancing). We had a drink in the bar and watched the math but is was far to noisy and busy. Our room was lovely nice and big. The dinner was yummy i would eat there again. The pool is dark so hard to see. Its small enough to swim as only one lane. i would stay here again. The breakfast is buffet so it was very cold. i just had fruit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerliyfudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne N, Interim Hotel Operations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear tigerliyfudge,

Thank you for your custom and for posting your review on Tripadvisor. I hope you enjoyed your visit to Tayto Park. I was happy to note that you found your room to be comfortable and that you enjoyed your dinner in the restaurant. In relation to the pool area, we have since replaced the high level light fittings. I will discuss your comments regarding the food on breakfast buffet being cold with our chefs to ensure that this is improved and food is served hot. I was also happy to read that you would stay with us again. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel. It was really clean, well aired, good ventilation and the rooms were spacious and warm. The Food in the bar is Very good and the reception and bar very clean also. The swimming pool , sauna and steam room are the best I have come across in quite a while, pool is massive and well heated. Overall good value, very clean hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne N, Interim Hotel Operations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear brian C,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Ashbourne, and for taking the time to post such a lovely review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was a lovely two night stay for me and my family. Room was very clean and large. They had a cot waiting with sheets and extra towels for no extra cost.

We ate in the resturant one night and the bar the second night and this was beautful both nights

Swimming pool was lovely.

I couldn't fault this hotel and would definatly stay again

Room Tip: ask for higher floors if there is a function on
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsscook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne N, Interim Hotel Operations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Mrsscook,

Thank you posting such a lovely review, I was delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your visit. It was pleasing to read that your enjoyed your meals in both our bar and restaurant. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Staff are friendly at the desk, rooms are very nice, big and clean with a modern decor. Beds are comfortable and bathrooms are big and clean also. Overall a very good hotel me and my girlfriend have stayed several times. Only reason we did not give it 5 stars is due to the dinner/bar area which late on in the day is dirty and needs to be cleaned more often. A minor negative for a nice hotel:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griffin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne N, Interim Hotel Operations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear griffin27,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Ashbourne, and for taking the time to post your review. It was very pleasing to read that you found your room to be of good quality and the staff to be friendly. In relation to your comments regarding the dinner/bar area, we will ensure that these points are addressed. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just back from 2 night stay in ashbourne B&B + evening meal. have to say hotel was v good. room spacious.. staff nice & welcoming. gym good. location a bit outside town & cheaper taxi from town to hotel as opposed to hotel booked taxi from hotel to town ! would definitely stay here again though.

Room Tip: booked smoking room & was delighted that room quality was not any worse than normal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Themill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne N, Interim Hotel Operations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear The mill1,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay in the hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with the room quality and found the staff to be nice and welcoming. I will look into the taxi pricing point that you raised, as we would like to ensure that our guests get value. I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Warm Regards,
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Couldn't fault the room - large, spacious, comfortable, well appointed, clean to a very high standard. Bar and restaurants excellent too. Staff very friendly and helpful.

One word of caution for business guests: in the week I visited, wi-fi wasn't working in the rooms, meaning I had to do work in the public areas such as the bar, which wasn't ideal. But that may have been fixed now.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emgeeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
14.5 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
8.0 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
1.3 mi away
Ashbourne Court Hotel
Ashbourne Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
1.3 mi away
Ashbourne House Hotel
Ashbourne House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ashbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
9.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pillo Hotel Ashbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pillo Hotel Ashbourne

Property: Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Address: The Rath, Ashbourne, Ireland (Formerly Ashbourne Marriott Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pillo Hotel Ashbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel combines contemporary chic with 4 star luxury, perfectly located between Dublin City centre and Meath the heritage capital of Ireland so you can enjoy the best of both worlds. With 148 bedrooms decorated to the highest standard The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is the only choice when staying for business or pleasure.The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is ideal for a family getaway, with interconnecting and spacious family rooms available, a fantastic 16 metre swimming pool, children’s play room on site and with Ireland’s newest attraction Tayto Park just five minutes away the children will be entertained for hours. Other attractions within the area include The National Aquatic Centre, Dublin Zoo and Funtasia.Or if you’re staying for business, enjoy our high speed complimentary internet access or work in the comfort of our business centre. Relax and unwind in our Fitness centre, Jacuzzi, steam room or sauna.The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is located on the N2 and is only 11 minutes from the M50, which makes the hotel the perfect location for conferences and events partnered with over 9000 square feet of meeting space over 7 meeting rooms and on site exhibition space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Pillo Hotel Ashbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ashbourne
Ashbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing