We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel. It was really clean, well aired, good ventilation and the rooms were spacious and warm. The Food in the bar is Very good and the reception and bar very clean also. The swimming pool , sauna and steam room are the best I have come across in quite a while, pool is massive and well heated. Overall good value, very clean hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne N, Interim Hotel Operations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear brian C,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Ashbourne, and for taking the time to post such a lovely review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,256 - 1,262 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was a lovely two night stay for me and my family. Room was very clean and large. They had a cot waiting with sheets and extra towels for no extra cost.

We ate in the resturant one night and the bar the second night and this was beautful both nights

Swimming pool was lovely.

I couldn't fault this hotel and would definatly stay again

Room Tip: ask for higher floors if there is a function on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsscook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne N, Interim Hotel Operations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear Mrsscook,

Thank you posting such a lovely review, I was delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your visit. It was pleasing to read that your enjoyed your meals in both our bar and restaurant. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Staff are friendly at the desk, rooms are very nice, big and clean with a modern decor. Beds are comfortable and bathrooms are big and clean also. Overall a very good hotel me and my girlfriend have stayed several times. Only reason we did not give it 5 stars is due to the dinner/bar area which late on in the day is dirty and needs to be cleaned more often. A minor negative for a nice hotel:)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank griffin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne N, Interim Hotel Operations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear griffin27,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Ashbourne, and for taking the time to post your review. It was very pleasing to read that you found your room to be of good quality and the staff to be friendly. In relation to your comments regarding the dinner/bar area, we will ensure that these points are addressed. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just back from 2 night stay in ashbourne B&B + evening meal. have to say hotel was v good. room spacious.. staff nice & welcoming. gym good. location a bit outside town & cheaper taxi from town to hotel as opposed to hotel booked taxi from hotel to town ! would definitely stay here again though.

Room Tip: booked smoking room & was delighted that room quality was not any worse than normal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Themill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne N, Interim Hotel Operations Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear The mill1,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay in the hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with the room quality and found the staff to be nice and welcoming. I will look into the taxi pricing point that you raised, as we would like to ensure that our guests get value. I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Warm Regards,
Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Couldn't fault the room - large, spacious, comfortable, well appointed, clean to a very high standard. Bar and restaurants excellent too. Staff very friendly and helpful.

One word of caution for business guests: in the week I visited, wi-fi wasn't working in the rooms, meaning I had to do work in the public areas such as the bar, which wasn't ideal. But that may have been fixed now.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emgeeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed in the pillo hotel for one night. Check in was very smooth. Hotel Room was large with a king size bed, tea & coffee facilities and a lovely view. The room was clean and comfortable.
We had lunch in the red room bar which was a bit expensive but huge portions and very nice. Dinner was in the hotel restaurant and was nice but I felt that it lacked locally sourced produce such as fresh veg and was swimming in oil. A little disappointing. Breakfast next morning was excellent with a huge selection for every taste including beautiful fresh fruit. Leasure centre was lovely. I have stayed here before and would have no hesitation in staying again. Its location is excellant as it is near Dublin and all the tourist attractions of county Meath including the hill of Tara, and Newgrange.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauline h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

A very enjoyable stay in Pillo, Ashbourne. We called ahead on the off chance we could slightly alter our reservation on the morning of our stay and they were very accommodating! Great customer service from reception both before and during our stay!
We found our bedrooms extremely comfortable and generously sized. We ate lunch, dinner & breakfast in the hotel during our stay and the food was of a very high standard which impressed us a lot, our evening meal in the restaurant was delicious.
I did feel that the standard of service at breakfast slightly let the hotel down however, the staff seemed a little overwhelmed by the volume of people! We had to queue for over 20 minutes before being seated. Once inside for breakfast we could see that the staff were very slow to get tables cleared and set up again & they completely ignored our table once we'd been seated & we had to ask several times before any tea or coffee arrived for the table. I'm willing to give them the benefit of the doubt that perhaps there was a specific staffing problem that Sunday morning however because the rest of the stay had been so positive.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciara081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
1.3 mi away
Ashbourne Court Hotel
Ashbourne Court Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ashbourne
273 reviews
8.0 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
1.3 mi away
Ashbourne House Hotel
Ashbourne House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
9.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
19.3 mi away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pillo Hotel Ashbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pillo Hotel Ashbourne

Address: The Rath, Ashbourne, Ireland (Formerly Ashbourne Marriott Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Price Range: $110 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pillo Hotel Ashbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel combines contemporary chic with 4 star luxury, perfectly located between Dublin City centre and Meath the heritage capital of Ireland so you can enjoy the best of both worlds. With 148 bedrooms decorated to the highest standard The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is the only choice when staying for business or pleasure.The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is ideal for a family getaway, with interconnecting and spacious family rooms available, a fantastic 16 metre swimming pool, children’s play room on site and with Ireland’s newest attraction Tayto Park just five minutes away the children will be entertained for hours. Other attractions within the area include The National Aquatic Centre, Dublin Zoo and Funtasia.Or if you’re staying for business, enjoy our high speed complimentary internet access or work in the comfort of our business centre. Relax and unwind in our Fitness centre, Jacuzzi, steam room or sauna.The Pillo Hotel Ashbourne is located on the N2 and is only 11 minutes from the M50, which makes the hotel the perfect location for conferences and events partnered with over 9000 square feet of meeting space over 7 meeting rooms and on site exhibition space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pillo Hotel Ashbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ashbourne
Ashbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing