We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashbourne Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Reviewed November 19, 2009

This is not a Hotel - Its a disco.
So unless you like hundreds of 20 somethings running through the halls slamming doors, pounding music and general mayhem while you are trying to sleep - go elsewhere.

I stayed in this htel a few years ago and it was fine. But now the Lobby/bar area has been changed into a nauseating 70's ??? motif. The room have not be updated since it was built (dirty & stained carpets, same for furniture), bathrooms in disrepair (we could not get hot water, just luke warm) A horrible place. I would never stay there again or recommend it to anyone. Go down the road to the Marriott.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank effncee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 277 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2009

stayed in this hotel whilst attending a function nearby.
hotel had all the usual things you would expect.
staff were very friendly and helpful.
bar was noisy , seemed like a place locals would go to drink as opposed to residents.
i didnt mind that , seemed lively and good fun although i didnt stay.
breakfast was good.
would recommend for a night out and a few drinks rather than a quiet cosy type break.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawkwind23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

This is the loudest hotel I have ever come across, during the day the TV's in the bar are on full blast with soccer and at night there is a night club and 'Live' (should read LOUD!) music in the bar that goes on well past 1.30am. We were on the 2nd floor and the and the grubby room literally shook. We were moved to the front of the hotel but it made very little difference. We complained again in the morning but to no avail. Breakfast, which was ok, is served in the bar where they are still tidying from the night before! Unless deafening music and binge drinking is you thing you should avoid this hotel at all costs. You'd be better off sleeping in your car.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golfiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

i had the misfortune of staying at this hotel in the last weekend in May 2009 (last weekend). It is actually a really well refurbished place but has a night club attached to it - our room was on the first floor and the disco may as well been there too... on Friday night the music stopped at 2.15am and on Saturday at 2.30am. The music actually increased at 1am. When we complained about the noise - to the night porter and to the receptionist - nothing was done and on the Saturday evening we were offered EARPLUGS, from a large box, with the comment that this was a common problem. Our request to be moved fell on stoney ears, saying that there were no rooms available, even though people were booking in through to that evening. it is a real pity that the owners and managers could not be around to address our problems, but it is obviously something they avoid on a regular basis.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happydaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2008

During a recent business trip to Ashbourne County Meath, I stayed at recently refurbished Residents Hotel. The conference facilities were excellent. We had a special rate because we were attending a conference. The rooms were spacious and well maintained.
The bistro restaurant was first class, with very professional standard of service.
I had stayed in Ashbourne before, so I know my way around the town. It is a charming town and ideal for an evening walk.
A wedding in the hotel that day ensured that there was plenty of activity in the bar into the night. This is an ideal hotel for a business stopover and within easy reach of Dublin City.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Wexford-Men
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2008

Where do i start.wel My Husband and I were over for the Weekend and because i was with him over here on business we decided to stay at the Ashbourne House Hotel which may i add was a excellent experience..untill... ON Friday evening, my Husband and I decided to go for dinner down town ashbourne. We passed the Ashbourne Residents hotel and on apperance we went in for something to eat to be told they DIDNT have a resturaunt. then we went into the bar and OMG,i was shocked!! the BAR STAFF,EVEN THE BAR MANAGER,who walked around all nite long with sour face to say"i dont want to be here" disgusted me totally.it wasnt busy,actually in fact it was far from busy.after about 20 mins WAIT,we werre given a bar menu,which consisted of "soup of the day" and sandwhichs at $7,00 which was totally OVER priced. we recieved our sandwichs and to be honest,i wouldnt have paid a penny for them.we left immediately after as i was disgusted with both the service and staff.staff morale is vital and ALL STAFF,not one smile through out our night.even when he was taking our order,he had a sour face on him.will most definatley will NOT BE RETURNING AND WE WOULD WARN PEOPLE NOT TO GO HERE

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank angela34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

second time staying here and what a nice suprise to find that this hote,which I was informed that its under new management, has improved greatly. Last time I stayed, about a year ago, it was hit and miss with things, but this time round I found it hard to fault the place.Staff were warm and friendly, service was attentive . I could notice that the hotel was under new management,there seemed to be a nice vibe about the place reflected in the staff and the atmosphere. I will be stopping here again whenever in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Vicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
1.3 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashbourne House Hotel
Ashbourne House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
295 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
14.3 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,306 reviews
14.3 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbourne Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbourne Court Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Ashbourne, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Price Range: $60 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashbourne Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the town of Ashbourne within easy reach of Dublin and the airport. This stylish hotel offers spacious rooms with free WiFi and free parking. conveniently located across from a bus stop, buses run regularly to O'Connell street, in the city center of Dublin, in 30 minutes. Dublin airport is just 9 miles away. Each room is well equipped with a TV, telephone, trouser press, iron and ironing board, a hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Fogerty's bar is the hotels own stylish on site sports bar, where guests can unwind with a drink or 2 The Bed night club offers guests an alternative late night drink with modern decor and is home to 4 large bars. Ashbourne's shops, bars restaurants and cafes are all within easy walking distance. you can easily explore Newgrange and the Hill of Tara. Tayto park and Funtasia are all only a short distance away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Ashbourne Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing