We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great one night stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashbourne House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashbourne House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great one night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Loved this hotel ,staff v friendly and courteous .Would recommend this accommodation to friends and family .Breakfast tasty and ample ,room very comfortable.Stayed here visiting family would consider using this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshManagement, Front Office Manager at Ashbourne House Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we always try our very best to make sure guest enjoy there stay, and its lovely to get positive feedback, we hope to see you again,
Thank You
Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    79
    53
    23
    40
See reviews for
54
110
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We are just back from a pleasant weekend at the Ashbourne Hotel,staff were very pleasant and helpful. Room could do with a freshen up but was clean,bed very comfy and very good shower.Foodhall,where we had breakfast was very small but food good! Overall a good stay if you get a good deal!

Room Tip: Room facing car park best at weekend as very noisy at back above function room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshManagement, Manager at Ashbourne House Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Good morning Cindy,
thank you for review! we are delighted you had a good stay with us. We are all doing our very best to continuously improve our services and we will achieve this by helpful reviews and suggestions from customers like yourself.
from all of us here we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jozz13
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Despite reading many negative reviews of the Ashbourne House Hotel, after hearing that it was under new management from early this year I decided to go ahead with a Groupon deal because things could only improve, surely? And we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was clean and fresh. We had a large room which had been freshly decorated. It was comfortable with a king size bed and a single bed, and was quiet (we had a room facing the rear car park). Despite the cold weather the room was warm. We found the reception staff friendly and helpful. There was a good choice for breakfast and the meal in The Loft was excellent. The only 2 negatives were 1) condition of the bathroom - this had clearly been excluded from the refresh and was in need of repair and decoration. But the power shower was amazing! And 2) the food hall where breakfast was served was dark and dingy and smelt of burned cooking oil, but nothing wrong with the food. So apart from those 2 points, which I'm sure will be improved within a matter of time, we had a pleasant stay and thought it was good value for money on the Groupon deal.
The hotel is on a bus route into the centre of Dublin which was supposed to be about 30 mins but we were caught in a lot traffic getting out of Ashbourne so it took a lot longer.
We would stay at this hotel again on a Groupon deal.

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor facing the car park was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jozz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oujibaby, Manager at Ashbourne House Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for your kind review. we are delighted you enjoyed your stay here. Also i would like to acknowledge your comment on the breakfast room and will look into updating it.
hope to see you again
kindest regards
from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

After reading other recent reviews I wondered what I had done booking into the Ashbourne House Hotel but was i surprised when my husband and I arrived staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was big with a big corner bath in the bath room the bed was very comfortable. Room could do with a fresh coat of paint but was very clean with everything you needed. Breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice. Evening meal was outstanding and the restaurant was beautifully decorated. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAGreenaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managament, Manager at Ashbourne House Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on our Hotel, we all do our best to ensure that our guests are looked after and enjoy their stay, so it is lovely to have a positive review. We hope we will see you again soon,
Kind Regards

Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my husband for his b-day for two nights. First of all - never got back answers into my emails. Felt ignored. Wanted to do a surprise for my husband. Breakfast very strange. Small room do not accommodate many people. Limited choice. Nice bar area. Compliments to polish girl witch looked after us and managed to get late hot meal on the arrival for us! Rooms ok. Shower didn't work properly. Told to receptionist-don't think she even heard it.
Restaurant. Such a bad experience. Came down for a dinner. Where asked very loudly are we under the deal?!? So what if we where? Couple witch came after us where looked after first. My husband ordered steak. He had been told, again very loudly, that he needs to pay supplement. Same with wine. Did we look like we had no money or what??? So embarrassing... Had a meal very quickly and back to the room. Will we be back here?
NEVER AGAIN!!!

Thank you for the ruined birthday!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mylima26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oujibaby, Manager at Ashbourne House Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear guest,
we have taken on board your comment about the meal. we don't have any differential with guests on a meal deal and somebody checking in from the side of road. the waitress was only checking people off a list of meal deals that were staying overnight to ensure we had everyone accounted for. with the steak i am sure you appreciate that irish beef has gone up 30% in the last 6 months so the supplement is necessary but we do make sure that we have a variety of other dishes with no supplement but we will try ensure in future that the waitresses are more discreet. we will endeavour to improve continuously and will take on board your comments.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night in January. Weather was awful but room was warm enough at all times. Bed was comfortable and pillows were fine. We was in a double room which was big enough for the night and it was clean and ready for our stay. The receptionists were very helpful and friendly. The bar area has a good atmosphere and seemed to serve good food but we didn't have any ourselves. The only disappointment at the hotel was the breakfast. The room you have It in was long and thin and not very welcoming. The choice was very limited and you are handed out your two rashers of bacon and sausage when you can find a member of staff free. The would be better to have a buffet style.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mr1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Had a meal here with some friends who were staying in the hotel. Although they said the rooms were fine and good value for money, the meal we had in the bar was deplorable. I had a burger and chips, which to be honest is hard to get wrong but it was so bad I couldn't even eat it. It was obviously sitting for a while, chips where like rubber and the burger was dry and much the same. I asked the waitress could I change it for something else on the menu and she wasn't too pleased, obviously the customer isn't always right in her eyes. She reluctantly returned it to the kitchen and didn't come back to me for another 10 minutes. At that stage the rest of my group had finished they're meals, so there was no point in me ordering something else. The worst thing was, when they gave us the bill my meal had not been removed. I did however refuse to pay for a meal I wasn't able to eat, and such terrible service I won't be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lola_Rose83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ashbourne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
1.3 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashbourne Court Hotel
Ashbourne Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
5.3 mi away
Roganstown Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
7.3 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
6.6 mi away
Dublin Airport Manor
Dublin Airport Manor
#4 of 7 in Swords
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbourne House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbourne House Hotel

Property: Ashbourne House Hotel
Address: Frederick Street, Ashbourne, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashbourne House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly 3 star hotel, in the heart of the village, 10 min drive to Tayto park, 20 mins to Funtasia Drogheda, bus stop to Dublin outside the hotel, 20 mins from Dublin Airport. Special offers available, €100.00 Bed & breakfast and 4 course meal per double. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Ashbourne House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing