We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Donkey Shed Restaurant

The Donkey Shed Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had dinner here a few weeks ago with kids. Great food and family frendily.Great service and valu for money. Veg shop well stocked and kids loved the little farm walk.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank 995danielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    66
    21
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“lovely food, relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

the menu here is good and the food is very tasty. both me and my son had the adult/child burgers and they were very good indeed. my hubby had the paella and while it was absolutely delicious the portion size is very small and not recommended for a hungry adult. we sat outside in the sun and it was very warm and relaxing. however, the table was never cleaned down from the previous diners. it was late in the evening when we visited so did not get a chance to see the shop or farm which would have been lovely. I twould visit again if i was back in this part of the country.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dominoe39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

When such a lovely place is on your doorstep you want to share it! We go here regularly for breakfast and it's always just right - from the friendly welcomes of Jo and Sonia to the delicious omelettes or french toast - the Donkey Shed never disappoints! I always bring friends and visitors here and they fall in love with the place. brought my niece and nephew there this morning and they thought it was amazing. We ate outside for the first time and it was lovely. The children's breakfast menu is great and they loved the hot chocolate. Bottom line the Donkey Shed delivers on quality food, excellent friendly service and unbeatable value. It's a secret worth sharing :) enjoy if u get to visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank looneytunes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Really good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

It came highly recommended and lived up to the billing- great food, family friendly, lots of animals to see and s great farm shop- definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ramorville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We visited midweek for lunch really enjoyed it. Coffee was great. We returned on a Sunday and couldn't get in the door it was so busy! Very popular with young families as there is a petting farm beside. Well worth a visit

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahric_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Donkey Shed Restaurant also viewed

Ashbourne, County Meath
Ashbourne, County Meath
 
Ashbourne, County Meath
Ashbourne, County Meath
 
Ashbourne, County Meath
Ashbourne, County Meath
 

Been to The Donkey Shed Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing