We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Produce” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newbarn Farm

Newbarn Farm
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ashbourne, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Produce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Brought a young nephew he loved seeing all the animals up close and the produce was very reasonably priced. Lots of local produce.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank tess42_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    24
    6
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

My family have been going to Willie's (the owner) for years even before all the additions to the farm. Love getting my fresh fruit and veg in the barn shop, especially when it's veg that he has grown on the farm himself. It doesn't get fresher than that!!
I also recently had lunch at the new restaurant which has now opened across from the barn "The Donkey Shed". All I can say is lovely food at reasonable prices. When my kids started getting restless at the table we took them for a walk to the animal farm where they were very excited to see all the different farm animals. A great place to bring the kids for a while, have a ncie lunch and get your fruit and veg on the way out!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Sheelagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We are fans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Our family are regulars in this restaurant, they serve very simple rustic meals but oh so tasty! The sandwiches are always nicely grilled, meat and sausages are great, so is their fish and chips, chicken, slow roast beef and pork. Overall a great experience, the only problem is to get place at lunchtime on Saturdays and Sundays as they are packed. Fantastic for kids, with the kids menu very good and containing more options than the usual goujons and chips, very good. And the ice-cream is fantastic, our daughter is a fan! The staff is very nice and friendly.
Another plus is the chance to buy fresh veggies and fruit while there and also see and feed the farm animals, we always get plenty of carrots to feed the friendly donkeys and not so friendly but very hungry pigs.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Martina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Some of the best food in Ashbourne / Ratoath area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Big surprise to find such good food in a very ordinary looking restaurant. I've tried 3 different mains but can strongly recommend their Mexican Burger - it was the best burger I've have ever had. Staff really friendly. Kids can runaround outside with the farm animals between courses (or while you enjoy a glass of wine!).

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank AntoCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent place to eat and relax with the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Hi, I was there recently for lunch at the Donkey Shed, it was excellent, a large portion and very tasty (sole with champ) the others who also dined with us also had lovely meals and everyone was very pleased. The price was good and we liked the atmosphere, also children can have some fun looking at the animals as well.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank 420crobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newbarn Farm also viewed

Ashbourne, County Meath
Ashbourne, County Meath
 
Navan, County Meath
Ashbourne, County Meath
 

Been to Newbarn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing