We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MY NIGHTMARE NIGHT” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aisling Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aisling Guest House
Ranked #3 of 4 Ashbourne B&B and Inns
Castlebar, Co. Mayo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“MY NIGHTMARE NIGHT”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed overnight on our way to a funeral. We arrived and no-one was there to welcome us. Eventually after contacting the owner by phone, we let ourselves in and found our own rooms. Which were cold and miserable, very small, with a birdbath sink. Toilet within the shower cubicle. Arrived back at the guest house at around 10pm, went to bed, only to find that there was a loud and raucous party going on until 4.30am. Eventually got to sleep around 5am. Went to see the owner the next morning who wouldn't come out of his office.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mayoman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    30
    8
    14
    15
See reviews for
37
16
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed here as we were going to Tayto Park, only 5 mins away. We got a family room with one double and three singles, kids were delighted, very bright and spacious. Kate and all the staff were very helpful and patient, especially at breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyDolly2321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lublin, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed for a week, and had a great time. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and welcoming - definitely made the whole experience very positive. The room was clean, very comfy big bright and airy with tea and coffee making facilities. Very consistent "full Irish" breakfast . Perfect location for exploring Dublin and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simmm26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed here for one nite with my husband & 2 children as we were goin to Tayto Park the following day. Got a lovely family room with 2 single beds & 1 double. Everything was spotless & Rod the owner couldnt be more helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Tayto Park was only 5 minutes out the road. Would def recommend & will return if I am in that area again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyRoscommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Clean rooms with comfotable beds. Friendly staff and good facilities in the room.

Room Tip: family rooms are good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William186300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuengirola, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

The Delux rooms out the back with there own enterance are wonderfull.TheHandy for the Airport thats why i staed there 10 mins to the Airport. Excellent wifi in the room,Kate the manager was very pleasent and extremely Helpfull.Best Irish breakfast of my stay.

Room Tip: Room Lovely and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emma315915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

After booking months in advance and confirming days prior to our arrival, we found ourselves standing in the rain outside the locked and empty B&B. The owner later said he “forgot we were coming.” The rooms are so small and cramped the wardrobe couldn’t even be opened because the doors were blocked by the bed. There is no communal space for sitting together outside of the bedrooms. Owner refused to turn on the heat. Owner seems to have a particular bias against Americans, as in every bathroom there are pictures US currency labeled “rubbish.” Only positive note was an employee named Kate, who prepared our breakfasts and kept the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John43501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashbourne
0.7 mi away
Ashbourne Court Hotel
Ashbourne Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ashbourne House Hotel
Ashbourne House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ashbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Newlands Cross
6.9 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
7.7 mi away
Travelodge Dublin Airport Swords
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aisling Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aisling Guest House

Property: Aisling Guest House
Address: Aisling Dublin Road | Baltrasna, Ashbourne, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Ashbourne
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aisling Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, LateRooms, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Aisling Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing