We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Killeshin Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for my 40th.The staff were very friendly on reception especially the night staff.Kevin the manager made a fuss over us all.he didn't treat us all like the nuisances we were but looked after us all till we were all back safe.even after all the questions he still told us the best places to go.he was still there when we got back and enquired about our night.very friendly chap who took the time out for us.will be coming to this hotel again and might even bring the kids next time.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arghh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for your positive review, we look forward to your return to us.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (722)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 722 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

BedRoom was very pleasant and spacious. The staff were pleasant. Everywhere was quite clean and bright. Breakfast was quite good and wholesome although the fresh fruit could be better. Parking is free.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank JKLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to you returning to us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,


John Flannery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in the Kellishin hotel for a one night stay B&B

The hotel itself was generally well presented, outwardly it was clean, well maintained and inviting. We checked in at about 4pm. The Reception are was quite busy and we had to wait a short while but the girl at the desk was quite apologetic. Our booking was handled quick and efficiently and we were ready to go to our room within a few minutes. Assistance with out bags was offered but we declined as we were able to manage easily ourselves. We were informed however that the Bar would only be serving food until 7:00pm. While no explanation was given, we assumed it was due to the fact that it appeared to be communion/confirmation day in the town and that everything was being arranged to suit that eventuality, as we planned to eat in the restaurant anyway it was of little consequence. We hadn't eaten since breakfast so we did go into the Bar and had a small bite between us in advance of dinner and then went to our room to relax before dinner. The Room was spacious and warm, very clean and well stocked. Reception on the TV was poor but not unwatchable.

We had our dinner in the restaurant that evening and the food was excellent, course's came very quickly, almost too quickly, but im not complaining! Despite the room being very busy it was well staffed and there was no issues with the service at all. Portions were more than sufficient and food was well prepared, piping hot and delicious to eat.

After our meal we went to the bar to have a few quiet drinks. We found the bar a little on the cool side as there was definitely a window open somewhere as we could feel the breeze, however we moved to the other side of the bar and it was much warmer. The bar was quiet enough, we expected it to be busier with it being communion day and so many people about earlier in the day, but it was pleasantly calm with only a few others drinking. The bar staff were engaging and friendly and often offered to bring my Guinness down rather than i wait at the bar for it. We stayed there chatting for the night and stayed a little longer than planned. The bar staff changed at closing time to the night staff, but again, very friendly and chatting particularly as the bar got quieter.

Breakfast the following morning was also quite good, good choice of hot and cold foods and plenty of breads tea/coffee etc. Breakfast was a little busier than i like but that was as much our own fault as we had a lie in and only made our way down during the last 45 of the breakfast serving time.

On reflection i couldn't say anything bad about the hotel and the stay was very enjoyable, however, had we wanted some, the fact that the bar food stopped at 7pm would of been a bit disappointing and we would of either been forced to go the restaurant or else leave the hotel and eat elsewhere, and as we like to stay in our hotel during our stays, it would of been inconvenient. That said, if the reason for the early close was in fact because of communion day in the area, its more understandable, but as i said we had always planned for restaurant dinner so it didn't really effect us. But it might be something to check up on if your planning a visit.

We would certainly have no issues in recommending this hotel, and we would like to return to it ourselves sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dfinnerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your comments, as the restaurant is extremely busy the bar service is somewhat restricted. However there is food service from 12.30pm daily in the hotel all day, every day. Thank you again for taking the time to review our property.

Yours sincerely,


John Flannery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We recently wanted to head out for a romantic meal together so I looked online to send restaurants and menus to get an idea of what's on offer in portlaoise,
One thing I hate when going to a restaurant is building your dinner, and what I mean by that is that if you order a steak for instance then you have to pay extra for your veg, potatoes,etc etc so your dinner ends up costing much more.

Well this certainly was not the case in The Cedar Rooms Bistro at the Killeshin Hotel.
There was a set 4 course menu no offer for €32
With a choice of about 7 starters, main courses etc with steak, sea bass, chicken, pasta, and other dishes.
My wife and I decide on the steak, same let me tell you when I say it was cooked to perfection.
Accompanied with boiled potatoes, grilled carrots, parsnip, broccoli and cheese sauce,
The steak was topped with mushrooms and sauteed onions ,
Our started also was exquisite.
Our dessert tasty and two good strong coffee's to finish.

Our waiter clearly loved his job and treated us like royalty attending to our every need and was not over bearing as somethings waiters can be.

To me this restaurant is the best in portlaoise and I only wish I had tried it before.

We finished our night with some drinks in the bar,

Well done to the Cedar rooms restaurant

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Forrest G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for your review and high praise of your restaurant experience. We look forward to your next visit!

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

"AMAZING" is the one word that comes to mind when I think of our wedding day in The Killeshin Hotel, Portlaoise.

From the first day I stepped into this hotel, we knew there was something special about it. We had arranged to meet Antonio for our first show around of the hotel. We discussed everything that night, he was so helpful, and we didn't feel under pressure from him at all. He stated the facts and answered all our petty questions(as all brides have). He really showed us the friendliness of the hotel staff. We took up about an hour and half of his time and we walked away thinking, we like him, we could work him. And from there, we had decided that The Killeshin Hotel was the one for us.

We then met Pauline(Wedding Co-ordinator) in an offsite location as we lived a bit away from the hotel and Pauline obliged us, so we could talk about the packages they were offering etc. She went through every little detail with such care and attention, noting everything we wanted(even the little things). PAuline made the day so special and stress free.

Everytime we visited the hotel from when we booked to the wedding day, the service was impecable, the food was delicious and the ambience was second to none. (I was nervous everytime I went to the hotel because I didnt want them to let me down in any way) But thankfully this was never the case, and we stayed there a good few times.

Coming up to the wedding, the events team were excellent Pauline had everything under control, updating me with the names of people who had booked, and on anything else that needed to be. The day before we met pauline when we were droppping things down and everything was so easy just hand over the items and they do the rest. We met Catriona, that day who was going to be looking after us on the wedding day, she was brilliant nothing too much hassle, checking in and most of all just being there if we needed her.

From Start to finish The Killeshin Hotel made our day the best it could have been, all of my guests are still raving about the food, the food is amazing and really well cooked and served through out the service. The rooms we spotless and spacious and the honeymoon suite was gorgeous! Just Perfect! The staff are the positively refreshing in their attitude to their work and deserve all the praise they can get.

So if you are thinking of Booking this hotel for your wedding, do, do, do!! Its a must and you will not be disappointed.

Thank you to all the Staff...

From Ailish & Brian Clancy

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ailish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, all the staff involved were delighted to receive such praise. We wish you the very best on starting your new life together.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

i had the plesaure of staying in the killeshin on the easter bank hoilday and i would go back their again as my self and my friend colud not praise the staff enough the food was to die for and the girls at reception could not do enough for us from telling about the shopping to the places of interest in the area and as for familys they are very welcome at this hotel the children are welcome with open arms the rooms are clean and a good size what more can i say only we will be back

Room Tip: our room was to the front and we had a lovely view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathleend79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us last weekend. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here over St. Patricks weekend for a friends wedding, the food was lovely, service was great and the rooms were huge and so clean and bright. They really made us all feel very welcome and didnt even complain when we were having a sing song in the reception area at 6am! overall a really great hotel, definitley work checking out.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineM340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you and many other guests at the wedding enjoyed their time with us. We do our best to ensure everything run smoothly and the wedding is made to be the memorable occasion it should always be. We look forward to seeing you again for your next trip to the Killeshin!

Yours sincerely,
John Flannery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.3 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
2.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
724 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
O'Loughlin's Hotel
O'Loughlin's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
188 reviews
9.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
195 reviews
17.1 mi away
Kildare House Hotel
Kildare House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kildare
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killeshin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killeshin Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range: $80 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Killeshin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Killeshin Hotel is a contemporary hotel with roots in the past. We have 87 well appointed bedrooms with a crisp contemporary decor. Superb bar food is served daily from 12.30pm in our Cedar Bar and breakfast is served daily in the Cedar Bistro. Offering full leisure facilities, complimentary secure underground car parking and wifi. The Killeshin Hotel - Where award winning service matters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Killeshin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeshin Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing