We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean affordable room - Great Health Club!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2009

We spent very little time in Portlaoise coming into town in the afternoon and leaving early in the morning. Our main objective was to catch the gaelic football match in town that night.

The Maldron provided a comfortable hotel with free access to the excellent health club next door! There were a number of restaurants next door (Little Caesar's Pizza, O'Briens, Subway, and a healthy bistro) along with the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogophs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

685 - 691 of 708 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2009

One night family trip to Portlaoise, repeat family trip to this hotel as it really is excellent. Not one complaint ever.

Staff lovely, quick check in and check out, baby travel cot supplied, rooms spotless and modern, bathroom all the extras, leisure centre excellent etc. Have never eaten here so can't comment but restaurant was busy at eight o'clock on a Sunday night.

Location: outside town but no problem for us as a family. Postlaoise not that exciting but we had seen the town has a funfair travelling through so brillant. Check out Emo Court and Gardens and Heywood Gardens.

Excellent room rate of only €59 (Sunday Night).

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMcNGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

The Maldron is a nice hotel and was good value for what we paid. It is located beside a complex with a very nice pizzaria, subway, etc so if you don't feel like eating in the hotel, you have other options.

Staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The leisure centre is very nice.

Had dinner on one night included in our package, however, the restaurant doesn't open on a Sunday night for some reason, and there was only carvery available so I can't comment on the restaurant.

Breakfast was perfectly adequate - they could do with some more staff at breakfast time though and maybe more than two types of fruit in the fruit salad!

The Maldron is a nice hotel and is very clean. If you are looking for a nice relaxing break then I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank C200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2008

I was very impressed with this hotel. The receptionist gave us a warm welcome, lovely girl, very helpful manner. Room was very comfortable. Very reasonably priced. There's full use of their fitness suite etc which we didn't have have time to make use of. We didn't have breakfast so don't know what that was like. Had dinner there but restaurant didn't have a great selection of vegetarian food. It was fairly expensive for what we got. Overall though I would recommend it and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Gabidiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

Came to Portlaoise for the comedy festival. Checked the reviews on tripadvisor. Shopped around for the best price and the Maldron Hotel was €100 cheaper than the rest! Located just off the motorway with loads of parking and a leisure centre.
Check in was fast and friendly, rooms were very spacious and clean. Nice duvets, decent pillows, a good bed and a decent powershower which is a must for me. Iron and board in the room as well which was handy.
We had a main course to eat in the restaurant before we went out. Even though the place was very busy we were looked after very well by Mary who was a true professional! The food was good value and very tasty. Breakfast the following morning was a buffet with all the usual trimmings. Again fast and friendly.
Would definatly recomend it.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JoeBlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Having stayed in this hotel in the past about two years ago, I was very pleasantly surprised at the change in the property during this stay. Check-in was prompt and effecient with plenty of information about the areas and the amenities. The reception staff were very pleasant. Our room was spotless, loads of wardrobe space, tea/coffee facilities. Broadband. and all the other standar facilities one would want. The beds were so comfy it was hard to get up in time for breakfast, but we were glad we did it was fab. Its obvious there is a strong hand on the rudder now as compared to our last stay. i am very happy to recommend this hotel. It also has a health centre and pool which we had a look at and it looked great.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank straightalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Stayed for one night at this hotel and enjoyed it very much. Check in was fast and efficient. Room was very spacious with a double and single bed. Both bedroom and bathroom were spotless. We had booked dinner for that evening and it was rather disappointing. Starters were fine but as we were eating them I could see our main course being kept warm under the lights with the result that both our meals were very dried out. But as we were starving we just ate and said nothing. Breakfast on the other hand was great. One of the most organised I have seen. Lots of cereals, juices, fruit, yogourts, tea, coffee, toast, rolls and of course the full irish! Great. All in all a fine hotel

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank mary022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.4 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
2.1 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
706 reviews
1.4 mi away
O'Loughlin's Hotel
O'Loughlin's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
189 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,864 reviews
19.4 mi away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Address: Midway, Portlaoise Co. Laois, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range: $67 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Portlaoise 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off the main Dublin - Cork/Limerick motorway the Maldron Hotel offers guests superior service, comfortable surroundings and all at an affordable price.Relax in our 20m swimming pool or enjoy a rejuvenating treatment in Body & Soul Therapy Rooms.The well known Stir Bar & Restaurant will satisfy all tastes and requirements. Compliment this with one of the recommended wines and the stresses and strains of the world will slowly slip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Portlaoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portlaoise Maldron Hotel
Comfort Inn Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing