We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We were accommodated at the Maldron Hotel Portlaoise for the Regional and National sessions of EYP Ireland. There were +100 delegates in attendance for each conference and many more organizers. The hotel were very gracious in accommodating us, and we never had any problems.

They provided us with everything we needed for our committee work, pens, paper, balloons! You name it. At one point my roommates and I found out our room keys were demagnetized because of our phones, and it was dealt with very quickly. The staff are friendly and professional, and I have nothing but good words for the staff of the Maldron Hotel.

They accommodated our every request and treated us delegates with utmost respect (which is not something we young people come by on a regular basis).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eileen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronPortlaoise, Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hi Eileen,

Thank you very much for your review. All our staff were delighted when I pass them your comments. They all said hello and thank you for your kind words.

Regards
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    198
    87
    52
    31
See reviews for
229
155
16
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I stayed there as part of a large delegation of people between the ages of 15 and 25 for a youth conference in March. The staff were great and really accommodating, unlike many other places that don't want sight nor sound of young people. They treated all of us with respect and didn't disregard us as often happens.

As well as our accommodation we used the venue as a location for the conference, the rooms provided were equipped with everything we needed if a little cramped due to the fact that they were refurnished bedrooms - just another testament to how accommodating they were!

All our meals were provided and were of great quality.

The only minor problem I experienced was the location, we experienced no problem with the noise from the motor way but it's location slightly outside of the main town made walking to the hotel inconvenient and unsafe.

A wonderful hotel, we had a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AimlessStroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronPortlaoise, Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I passed your kind words to our staff. They were delighted.

Hope see you again soon.
Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Had a lovely few days with my sisters and all the kids in this hotel. They were very accomodating and gave us adjoining room which the kids loved. Rooms all were clean and bright. Just one little comment though was that the double beds do need mattress covers, the singles ones all had them on. The pool is a great asset for anyone with kids, and it was clean and tidy. All staff were friendly and helpful. Very comfortable stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akane70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronPortlaoise, Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for you review. It made us so happy to know that you and your family had a good stay with us.
I passed your kind words to our staff, everybody was delighted.

We hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Arrived and the reception girl was very nice and helpful, Room was great,comfy clean all the things you would want. Pool is nice and the food from the restaurant "Stir" that is part of the deal with he hotel was amazing. Its like half pub/half restaurant and felt a little overdressed but the food was lovely and the waiter/barman and all staff were friendly and helpful. Would recommend. Very fair price for the room/dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronPortlaoise, Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Dara,

Thank you very much for your review. All our staff were delighted with your comments.

Kind Regards
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

A brilliant luxurious hotel with a romantic feeling.
My room was absolutely huge, accompanied by a huge bathroom, the staff was nice, everything was clean, the bed was AMAZING! Sort of a pity with the location next to the railway as trains would sometimes honk late evenings and early mornings when I was trying to sleep, but all in all worth it thanks to the central location and high standards.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmelieBrorsdotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronPortlaoise, Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you Morgan,

Our staff were delighted to read your kind words about our hotel.

We are looking forward to see you back soon.
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

I had a nice stay in Maldron Portlaois.
Room was large enough, bed very comfortable , but it was to hot in the room for me.... Even open window didn't help.

I did have room on the food court side.

Breakfast was delightfully with plenty of choices.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Drongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitrionaogorman, Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review

Bruno Gorisch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Having recently stayed in the Maldron for a weekend long group conference I have to say that the hotel was fantastic, in particular the staff who were accommodating, happy to help and always willing to answer any questions we had, including organising taxis and other transport. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable and the food in the restaurant was very good. Would highly recommend the Maldron to anyone visiting Portlaoise, particularly as part of a group.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Morgan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you Very much for your very nice review, we really enjoy having your Conference in the hotel.

Bruno Gorisch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.4 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
2.1 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
671 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
265 reviews
1.4 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
176 reviews
7.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Property: Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Address: Midway, Portlaoise Co. Laois, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Portlaoise 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off the main Dublin - Cork/Limerick motorway the Maldron Hotel offers guests superior service, comfortable surroundings and all at an affordable price.Relax in our 20m swimming pool or enjoy a rejuvenating treatment in Body & Soul Therapy Rooms.The well known Stir Bar & Restaurant will satisfy all tastes and requirements. Compliment this with one of the recommended wines and the stresses and strains of the world will slowly slip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Portlaoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portlaoise Maldron Hotel
Comfort Inn Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing