We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Really friendly staff, great rooms, good food and a very convenient location in a complex of shops and restaurants just outside of Portlaoise town. Also a very good leisure centre with a steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and pool

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NjM1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    194
    85
    50
    29
See reviews for
224
152
16
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed here in a family room for three nights. The place was spotlessly clean and the gym and pool were both excellent despite the need to wear a swimming hat. Seems a bit daft when I have much more hair on my body than my baldy head! We ate one meal in the linked Restaurant and to be fair it was much better than you may expect in a conference type hotel. The breakfast choice is varied and was good quality. The Maldron is situated on the edge of Portlaoise and requires a short drive into the old town. We have family nearby and will use this place again. We got a deal which included an hours bowling in a nearby bowling ally which was also great value.
In summary: really good

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed at the Maldron hotel for one night, great rooms very nicely decorated, clean and warm. The staff was very helpful and friendly. My family used both the swimming facilities and the gym area, again all spotlessly clean and staff very happy to help. Didn’t eat at the hotel as we were visiting family but did pop into the bar later in the evening this seemed a popular venue. If you want to go into town you need a car or reception is happy to arrange taxis for you.
Nice hotel just outside the town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Maldron attending a conference, working and sleeping in the hotel over a full weekend. Staff were wonderfully pleasant and the bedrooms and conference rooms were perfect. They were very accommodating about everything we needed for the conference, which was really appreciated.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eoin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend at the beginning of the year and I don't have a bad word to say about the place. Staff were extremely friendly and helped whenever they could. Bedrooms were very nice, bathroom was clean and spacious and the beds were comfortable. The whole building was nice and modern, very enjoyable and comfortable stay. Would definitely stay there again if I'm in PortLaoise.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I was here for a conference. I experienced Bed, Food, Leisure Plex facilities and conference facilities. I can honestly say we could not have had a better facility. The staff are super friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious and well kept and the food was delicious. Everything was perfect and suited our needs incredibly well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in an extremely comfortable bedroom, the food was lovely and the staff very helpful and hospitable! The leisure facilities were very satisfying and there was a lovely atmosphere throughout the hotel. Will definitely be returning to this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Yellow R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
2.1 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
1.4 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1.4 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
7.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Property: Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Address: Midway, Portlaoise Co. Laois, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Portlaoise 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off the main Dublin - Cork/Limerick motorway the Maldron Hotel offers guests superior service, comfortable surroundings and all at an affordable price.Relax in our 20m swimming pool or enjoy a rejuvenating treatment in Body & Soul Therapy Rooms.The well known Stir Bar & Restaurant will satisfy all tastes and requirements. Compliment this with one of the recommended wines and the stresses and strains of the world will slowly slip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Maldron Hotel Portlaoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portlaoise Maldron Hotel
Comfort Inn Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing