We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
O'Loughlin's Hotel(Portlaoise)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roundwood House(Mountrath)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (737)
Filter reviews
737 results
Traveler rating
327
216
99
57
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
216
99
57
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfood courtleisure centrerestaurant barswimming poollovely poolgames roomkildare villagestayed for one nightsaturday nightroom was spotlessbeds were comfortablelovely stafffamily roomlovely hotellast weekenda lovely staywould highly recommend this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
454 - 459 of 737 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2013

My family and I (all 34 of us) were very disappointed with our stay here for our get together. First we missed the entrance for the hotel as the sign was in among many others and not very clear. Over all the staff were very helpful to the best of their abilities (some were obviously inexperienced),

Rooms clean and comfortable but the wifi didn't work anywhere in the hotel even though our devices were picking it up.

The wrong info was given at the time of booking of a spa treatment deal with our booking.

The overall building just lacked warmth and comfort, The layout of the reception area seemed an after thought, small, cold and directly in front of the entrance door and the bar/ restaurant/ breakfast area was all the same room.

We sat down to our meal on 2 long wooden tables isolated from half the group with no linens or table cloths. This I would have put up with as the food was nice but as we moved to the bar section of the room (feet away and which we filled up) we were disappointed to discover there was no entertainment provided. It was a Saturday night! Then to discover there was no selection of special drinks i.e. cocktails or shots available either. This all topped of by the bar man informing us that the bar is now closing and if we would like to continue our drinks we would have to sit in reception area, order off the night porter who would then bring us our drinks. This happened at no later than 12!

It was safe to say we all had an early night and left the next day feeling sadly very disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Mel

I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us as much as you had hoped. Please be assured I will bring your feedback to the attention of our team here aiming to review our operations. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future, this would allow us the opportunity to show you the warm, professional hotel we strive to be.

Warmest Regards,
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here in November for 3 nights while on business in Portlaoise.Lovely big clean room with spotless bathroom .Pool area was nice but there was a lot of other activities going on in pool , so made it awkward to enjoy relaxing swim.
overall a nice clean hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mick0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Mick,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Please be assured I will pass on your warming comments to the team here. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel on your next trip to Portlaoise.

Warmest Regards,
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I have seen this hotel from a local point of view having a small family birthday and also a girlie weekend away, the facilities are great, the beds comfortable and the food good and all at a very good rate. The staff are lovely and really helpful - I can definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Helena,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your time with us, and that all the team here were lovely and very helpful. It is wonderful that you and your guest enjoyed our offering in Stir restaurant. Please be assured I will pass on your warming comments to the team here. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel on your next trip to Portlaoise.

Warmest Regards,
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

What a great Hotel! The staff are warm and friendly, from Miaread at the desk to Tom and Anna in the restaurant and Bruno the manager... Made the stay an excellent one. Clean fresh rooms, great location and excellent value for money... will definately be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and that all the team here were very helpful. Please be assured I will pass on your warming comments to the team here. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise on your next trip to the Midlands.

Warmest Regards,
Bruno Gorisch
General Manager.
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with a group of other families mid October. Atmosphere is lively yet pleasant with bar and restaurant combined hense the lively atmosphere. The food is lovely , staff very pleasant yet effecient. Rooms are clean and very comfortable . Breakfast in morning is lovely with freshly cooked food always available . Outside appearance is a little bland and hides a lovely hotel inside

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank NBOYLE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
Please be assured I will pass your lovely comments on to our team here.
We all hope we can welcome you back to hotel on your next trip to Portlaoise
Warm regards,

Bruno Gorisch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews