We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay with Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Stay with Friendly staff”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here for a saturday night and it was very relaxed and enjoyable. Checked in at 2.30 pm and had a light lunch in the bar. Visited the Leisure center and later had a very nice meal in the stir restaurant, which was very good value. Breakfast next morning was excellent. Overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    194
    85
    50
    29
See reviews for
224
152
16
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here at the weekend, never again. Took over 15mins to check in, when we finally reached the desk, the receptionist had no more interest in us being there, just took the keys and that was it, not once did she make eye contact. As we were waiting people were complaining as the hotel was over booked so we decided to help out we would double up with our friend, we hardly got a thank from the reception for helping them get a room back. Went to the restaurant for dinner service was shocking 3staff for easily over 80 people waiting ages for drinks and food, dinner was ok bar the dessert when I finally got mine the whole thing was melted in the plate.. overall the hotel was short staffed and the few there had no interest.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkLady8727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here recently with my wife and two children, it's a nice family freindly hotel ,staff were great,rooms nice and clean, great leisure centre, great value for money but my only problem would be the food in there restaurant next door it really let the hotel down it was not up to much standard wise and I wouldn't be fussy either also the breakfast wasn't great really need a new chef !! But a nice stay all the same ...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed two nights in feb 2013. This hotel is very well located. Rooms are spacious, clean and it had a lovely gym and swimming pool. The food is excellent and this hotel has particularly pleasant staff. Well done.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacinta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed in Maldron on w/e end of January. Its great value as we paid €59 for the room for 2 which also included a buffet style deliciour breakfast. We had lunch in the restaurant and it was excellent. The staff were very friendly and the room was modern and very comfortable. Excellent location and free car parking makes it a very attractive base. Would recommend anytime.

Mary McK.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed in The Maldron for one night in January. It is a very nice looking hotel from the outside and also the reception area is very bright and welcoming.

I paid €79 euro for my twin room. It was ok but I was expecting a little bit more modernisation to be honest. Green curtains! Green carpet! Old style shower with poor pressure.

The views are not great at all, motorway and carparks.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed at this hotel last weekend. We bagged a mega offer on pigsback.com and couldn't turn down the chance to visit a town we love and have been to many many times. We found the location of the Maldron very accessible and loved the walk into the town centre. All of the staff members were very helpful. Check-in was quick and easy and everything about the hotel was explained to us, from dining to the use of the leisure centre. We were surprised at how large and spacious the room was. We had tea coffee making facilities, full shower and bath tub and Tv. The food selection for breakfast was great. The waitress explained the set up to us and was more than helpful.
The Maldron is the 3rd hotel that we have stayed at in Portlaoise. Myself and my partner both agreed that we would definitely return. The Hotel has a very relaxed and down to earth feel about it. The staff are friendly and welcoming. It is ideal for families and couples alike. Down the road from the hotel is the 'Roll - n - Bowl' Centre where you can roller skate or bowl. Ideal for any ages, and we are testament to that. We even have the bruises from a few falls on the skate rink.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
2.1 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
1.4 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
1.4 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
7.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Property: Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Address: Midway, Portlaoise Co. Laois, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Portlaoise 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off the main Dublin - Cork/Limerick motorway the Maldron Hotel offers guests superior service, comfortable surroundings and all at an affordable price.Relax in our 20m swimming pool or enjoy a rejuvenating treatment in Body & Soul Therapy Rooms.The well known Stir Bar & Restaurant will satisfy all tastes and requirements. Compliment this with one of the recommended wines and the stresses and strains of the world will slowly slip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Maldron Hotel Portlaoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portlaoise Maldron Hotel
Comfort Inn Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing