We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasent stay at the Maldron Portlaoise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We came away after our stay in the Maldron Portlaoise with an excellent experience of how costomers should be treated when they stay in a hotel. The staff were very friendly and could'nt do enough to ensure we had the best stay possible, the rooms were in perfect condition and the food at breakfast and dinner was second to none and the recptionist was as helpfull as could be encountered. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay and will have no hesitation in going back asap.

Room Tip: Just enquire at recption and you will get what you require
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Gerard C,

Thank you for taking the time to review Maldron Hotel Portlaoise. I am very grateful for the kind comments you made regarding our team here in Maldron Hotel Portlaoise as it reflects the efforts they make daily to ensure the needs of our guests are individually catered for.

Gerard C, I hope to welcome you back to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.

Regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 711 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

Staff genuinely friendly and helpful. Nothing was a problem. Family Room warm and very comfortable. Very impressive swimming pool. Location very convenient to motorway network. Breakfast in restaurant was excellent, again staff very helpful and friendly. Very good value for money.

SNolan Sligo

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Sean N,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us in Portlaoise. Our Team here are genuinely very friendly and will always go out of their way to ensure all of our guests are well cared for. I am also delighted to read how you enjoyed the comfort of our spacious family room.

Regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed there last night. You have really friendly and helpful staff. The bed was totally comfortable, I had a great sleep; shower amazing, and the room was quiet and clean. Good breakfast, with a varied choice, but most of all great staff, especially at reception

Room Tip: Let reception book your Taxi and have a lovely cup of complimentary coffee while waiting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patmcmmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Patmcmmc,

Thank you for your review about your stay in Maldron Hotel Portlaoise and the lovely comments you made regarding our reception team.

I hope you will return to visit us again in Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, again soon.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I had a great stay here recently, great value, lovely hotel and great leisure facilities. It is a little bit out of the way from portlaoise but the receptionist got us a taxi easily. Lovely staff and great value in the restaurant, overall can highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeirdC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear DeirdC,

Thank you for recommending Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.
We look forward to your return to our Hotel.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

stayed there on a girlie nite away - there was 11 of us! had meal in restaurant that nite - food fab, staff great and attentive and obliging!
only thing was (its only a small gripe) we cudnt check in till after 3!
stayed in family room - had double bed and 2 singles - great space, t making facilities, tv etc - no problems at all - lovely room!
we arrived back to hotel after pub closing in portlaoise and the niteporter was very obliging - we drank in lobby as did lots of other guests!
wud defo recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: we had room in front of hotel - u cud hear traffic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mseaview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Mseaview,

Thank you for reviewing your stay in our hotel.

We have excellent menu options available in our hotel, and the food is prepared & cooked to very high standards. Thank you for reflecting this so clearly in your review.

Our weekend check in time is 3pm (midweek 2pm), but generally we can accommodate anyone arriving earlier in the day and we are always happy to. Occassionally this is not possible, if the hotel has been fully occupied the night before.

HelenK, again thank you for your lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise again soon.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here on Saturday night over the October Bank Holiday with my 2 teenagers. Overall the hotel was very good. The Receptionist (think her name was Tara) was excellent, very friendly and helpful. Location was good and although we didn't have time to use it, there seemed to be an excellent food court attatched to the hotel. Breakfast the next morning was lovely, lots of choice and good quality food. Overall, I would definatley stay there again if we were in the area and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear HelenK,

Thank you for your review of Maldron Hotel Portlaoise & for mentionning our receptionist Tara.

We hope to welcome you back to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise again soon.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The best thing about this gorgeous hotel is the friendly staff, welcoming from the moment you arrive. The rooms are warm and stylish. It's the perfect location for anyone travelling, with lots of places to eat nearby. Both myself and my husband had a massage in the spa and it was fantastic. Very pleasent stay will definitley return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Ciara D,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us in Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.

We have an excellent team here, who are always willing to help all of our guests in any way they possibly can.

Ciara D, I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.4 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
2.1 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
710 reviews
1.4 mi away
O'Loughlin's Hotel
O'Loughlin's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
190 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,890 reviews
19.4 mi away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Address: Midway, Portlaoise Co. Laois, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range: $66 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Portlaoise 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off the main Dublin - Cork/Limerick motorway the Maldron Hotel offers guests superior service, comfortable surroundings and all at an affordable price.Relax in our 20m swimming pool or enjoy a rejuvenating treatment in Body & Soul Therapy Rooms.The well known Stir Bar & Restaurant will satisfy all tastes and requirements. Compliment this with one of the recommended wines and the stresses and strains of the world will slowly slip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maldron Hotel Portlaoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portlaoise Maldron Hotel
Comfort Inn Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing