We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Good value would be the chief advantage of the stay. The hotel itself was adequate enough, clean, friendly staff, good leisure centre but I'm not a great fan of the bar restauraunt combination because it impinges on the atmosphere in the bar section. There is a food plaza outlet right beside the hotel giving a wider selection but it is of burger joint quality. Overall it's a decent place to stay but struggles being a little away from the centre of the town lacking that 'buzz'.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeinsterTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
There are newer reviews for Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

624 - 630 of 704 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2011

My friend and i based ourselves in this very comfortable hotel for a one night stopover whilst visting Kildare village Newbridge and Johnstown Garden centre. We found everybody very friendly. We had a beautiful breakfast and would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEABH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Dear MEABH10,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will return to us again.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Got a great offer for this hotel 2 nights b&b, one dinner plus champagne & chocolates for 94euro pp. Hotel is modern & clean. It was perfect for a weekend break in Portlaoise. The food was really nice with excellent service. The bar area was pretty small and wouldn't be very suitable for families looking for evening entertainment.

The leisure centre was lovely. We used the gym & the pool.

I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a weekend break in a modern but not luxurious hotel! I would return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BombomDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Dear BombomDub,

Thank you for taking the time to review Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.

We very much appreciate your recommendation of our hotel. You chose an excellent package for your stay which does offer good value & quality for Money and that is what we aim to achieve.

Laois is a beautiful County with loads to offer and plenty to do and ideal for all kind of breaks. Thank you again.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Its a maldron hotel what can say. This is great for a one night stop over but i wouldnt be taking a weeks holidays here. Its great if your travelling around ireland as a stayover, its just outside portlaosie and is 45 mins from dublin, 1 1/2 hours from cork, kerry, galway. Its on the same site as a foodcourt so you wont be stucck for fast food. Theres no late bar.

Room Tip: all rooms are the same but triple is a little larger
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BootzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Dear Bootz,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are indeed in the heart of the midlands, and with in good travel time from all major destinations, our location in Portlaoise makes us all the more accessible and convenient if you want to break a long Journey.

Bootz, I hope you will return to stay with us again soon and maybe have the time to sample some of the beautiful historical sights & scenic walks in Laois, aswell as family fun activities and Shopping centres.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Two couples stayed at this hotel for one night en route to Killarney. It adjoins a strange strip-mall type food complex with 4 or 5 fast food outlets and a very large car park, but none the worse for that. The bedrooms, as in most Irish hotels nowadays, were large, comfortable and well furnished, with tea/coffee making facilities provided, and there is also a pool and fitness suite, which we did not use.
Unfortunately there is no guest lounge; the restaurant and bar adjoins the hotel but is positioned as part of the larger food complex which, I felt, gave it a slightly remote feeling.
The menu was OK. 3 of our 4 meals were acceptable, if nothing special, but one was chicken fillet beaten absolutely flat and then pan-fried to a crisp. There literally was no soft edible meat left between the two surfaces. I think the maitre d' was aware that it was not right, because we were not asked even once by a staff member if the meal was satisfactory, unlike in most Irish restaurants where they sometimes overdo the inquiries.
Otherwise, the hotel staff were helpful and the stay was reasonably priced. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank good4nutn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Dear good4nutn,

Thank you for taking the time to review Maldron Hotel Portlaoise.

I was very happy to read your comments regarding our excellent service team working in the hotel & your reflection on your stay been reasonable value.

I was surprised that you found our Bar & Restaurant to be slightly remote as they are positioned within our hotel, located just off reception and completely separate to the food court which is located outside the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise in the near future and thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

we stay here when visiting family good prices and nice sized rooms only this time we stayed put sign out for room to be made up and there was no toilet roll put in the room had to ask for it and sauna was out of order but good value hotel ..the spa is great the girls are lovely would travell just to have treatments wit them xx book before go to avoid disappointment

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debscon30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Dear debscon30,

Thank you for recently reviewing our hotel.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your treatments during your stay and have passed your compliments to our therapists.

I hope you will return to the hotel some day soon.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stopped off here to break up our journey en route to Rosscarbery. Very easy to find. Unfortunately we were delayed in getting there and missed dinner by 10 minutes - we had booked DBB @ €55 pps - bargain. Jessy on reception was great and quickly moved us onto a B&B rate and the money we didn't spend on the hotel was used to feed us all in the food court next to the hotel.

Rooms were very comfortable, spacious and had that nice new smell about them. Breakfast next morning was great and set us up for our onward journey there's nothing you needed to ask for it was all there for the taking....and we did lol.

Unforatunately we didn't get using the leisure facilities, however, if the rest of the hotel is anything to go by i'm sure they'd have been great.

We are very fussy when it comes to hotels and have stayed in so called 4 and even 5 star hotels which wouldn't come anywhere near the standard of this hotel. Please keep it this way.

In summary the value for money, quality and relaxation provided here is second to none.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomasog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitrionaogorman, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Portlaoise, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Dear tomasog3,

Thank you for taking the time to review Maldron Hotel Portlaoise. I appreciate your feedback.

I was delighted to read that you found your stay to be of good Value for Money, Quality & relaxing. We try to provide good value packages and I am always grateful for feedback on them.
I hope that you will return to us some day and have some time to experience our Leisure Club and treatment rooms.

Kind regards
Caitriona O' Gorman
General Manager
Caitriona O' Gorman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.4 mi away
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
2.1 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
700 reviews
1.4 mi away
O'Loughlin's Hotel
O'Loughlin's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,849 reviews
7.8 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
186 reviews
19.4 mi away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Portlaoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Portlaoise

Address: Midway, Portlaoise Co. Laois, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range: $69 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Portlaoise 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off the main Dublin - Cork/Limerick motorway the Maldron Hotel offers guests superior service, comfortable surroundings and all at an affordable price.Relax in our 20m swimming pool or enjoy a rejuvenating treatment in Body & Soul Therapy Rooms.The well known Stir Bar & Restaurant will satisfy all tastes and requirements. Compliment this with one of the recommended wines and the stresses and strains of the world will slowly slip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Portlaoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portlaoise Maldron Hotel
Comfort Inn Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing