We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I recently spent the weekend at this hotel with my sisters (6 of us in all), we had a wonderful time and really enjoyed the warm and friendly welcome offered by all the staff. This made for a wonderful weekend and we will be sure to return in the near future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortlaoiseHeritage, Director of Sales at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

DearLaura m,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your comments.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experiece at the hotel and we look forwad to welcoming you and your sisters back in the near future.

Thanks again,

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

848 - 854 of 1,208 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

Well located hotel, but tired bedroom. The hand set of the old style [non flat screen] TV had flat batteries & no battery cover. The loo overflow ran constantly, meaning it was necessary to lift the cover of the cistern to fiddle with the workings, each time after use!! The sweet receptionist was mortified, but offered no discount in lieu of our plumbing efforts! Service in the Spago restaurant was very slow. They admitted to being short staffed & a further member of staff was found. An Italian restaurant w/o an Italian person isn't so good for the atmosphere, but the food was good enough when it finally arrived.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortlaoiseHeritage, Director of Sales at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Jeremy S,

I appreicate you taking the time to post your review following your stay with us.

I am very sorry for the poor experience you had during your time here and I would like to offer you my sincere apologies.

I reget to hear that your room was not up to the high standard we expect.

Thank you again and please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody

Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

I attended our Union Conference in this hotel recently and I must say I had a very pleasant stay. The Conference facilities are very good. The Hotel staff were always very helpful and the Accomodation and Restaurant were also very good. It is in a good location to the town and train station and has good car parking.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Formula1R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortlaoiseHeritage, Director of Sales at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Formula1R,

Thank you very much for shairng your experience with us.
We are delighted to hear that you found our conference facilities very good, and our team helpfull.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for either business or pleasure.

Thansk again for taking the time to write your review.


Regards and best wishes,

Aileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Myself and my wife have just returned from a long weekend in this hotel.
The location is key for this hotel - slap-bang in the middle of the town within easy walking distance of all shops, pubs and restaurants.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Quiet despite its central location.
Cannot fault any of the amenities - rooms and public areas very comfortable.
Sure, there are "fancier" hotels - but these are generally soulless monstrosities isolated in the middle of fifty acres, miles from anywhere.
If that's what you want then this is not for you. But if you want a comfortable, lively break with plenty to do and see on your doorstep - then this fits the bill.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJ_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortlaoiseHeritage, Director of Sales at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear EJ_on _tour,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and location.

We look forward to wecloming you back in the near future.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have just returned from spending one night in the Heritage. I have stayed in this hotel twice before and I really think the standards are dropping. Everywhere could do with a coat of paint.I was glad to see that they have replaced blankets in bedrooms with a duvet.The tv in bedroom was a big ugly tv with very poor sound quality. We were first in dining room for breakfast and I could see that the carpet had not been hoovered. The carpet in the lift was also not hoovered. The breakfast was good and we had a nice meal in the steakhouse.But overall I would'nt be in a rush back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eimear99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortlaoiseHeritage, Director of Sales at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Eimear99,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel.

I am dissapointed to hear that you were unsatisified with your room and, that the hotel's surroundings were not to your liking.

It is only recieving such feedback that we can continute to improve our facilities and service.

Once again thanks for taking the time to highlight your thoughts they will be discussed at the next management meeting.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody

Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Always good when I visit. Haven't been there in few years though. I noticed now parking is not completely free - used to be. Won't put me off but may effect others with alternative hotels available in Portlaoise with free parking. However very central. I asked for a top level room to leave windown open - don't like stuffy rooms. Was accommodated without fuss. One downside - sausages for breakfast had shrivelled like fingers in bath - left a bit too long on Bon Marie but tasted fine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manushamrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortlaoiseHeritage, Director of Sales at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Manushamrock,


Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We are delighted to hear that over all your experience with us was positive.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody

Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I am a regular and would suggest it is rising again after dipping from its opening highs. Fine airy hotel with good leisure club , gents could do with some repairs !. Fine choice of foods but could offer a better priced bar menu.
Drawback single TV with poor sound.
Rooms spacious , clean and very high standard.
Pity car parking is extra now for 10am-6pm.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor away from kitchen extractors !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJMTJM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortlaoiseHeritage, Director of Sales at Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Margaret s,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thanks again for your kind comments.

Regards and best wishes,

Aileen Dermody
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.3 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
728 reviews
1.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
728 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
O'Loughlin's Hotel
O'Loughlin's Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
189 reviews
9.1 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
196 reviews
9.3 mi away
Roundwood House
Roundwood House
#1 of 1 in Mountrath
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)

Address: 20 Jessop Street, Portlaoise R32 DT04, Ireland (Formerly Portlaoise Heritage Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price Range: $84 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel) 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to reflect style, planned with meticulous care to deliver service excellence, The Midlands Park Hotel has earned itself the reputation of being the most sought after hotel in Ireland. Nestled in the heart of Portlaoise Town, this sophisticated urban setting is perfect for business or pleasure. Its striking entrance creates an impressive sense of space and classic modern elegance. Our 115 deluxe bedrooms, incorporating executive rooms & suites offer the splendour of classic design with modern elegance and includes the latest in wireless internet technology complimentary. You will be spoiled for choice with our unique choice of Restaurants and Bars. Our White Flag Award Winning Health & Leisure Club is also available for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Midlands Park Hotel & Conference Centre (Formerly the Portlaoise Heritage Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing