We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice before show meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spago's Italian Bistro - CLOSED

Spago's Italian Bistro
Price range: $20 - $46
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Portlaosie
Level Contributor
122 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice before show meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had a quick meal before a show and everything was fine. Pasta was a bit too well done, but that happens and on another evening it might be fine. The mushroom sauce was excellent.service was good portion size correct and menu was varied...will try again

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dain96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    29
    21
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
kilkenny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I eat here any time I am passing through portlaoise, I have never had a bad meal, service is a bit hit and miss, but other than that it is a great restaurant .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cain7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Went here on two occasions. I really enjoyed the food but find that the service is too slow. The menu is priced resonably and the decor of the restaurant is nice. I would go back again but hopefully the service improves.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, service a little slow, highly recommend.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We ate here 3/5/13. Having read some of the reviews bit anxious but must say that the food was beautiful. We went for the early bird menu 23.50 for 3 courses and every course exceeded our expectations. Starters were a meal in themselves and the mains were excellent. The service was a little on the slow side but we were there early and I think they may have been understaffed so we didn't worry about it. All in all a lovely meal and at 60 for dinner, drinks and coffee for 2 it was excellent value!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leavser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tullamore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Went here for a meal on Tuesday evening April 30th. Food absolutely terrific. Service excellent. Well worth a visit

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank pat m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spago's Italian Bistro also viewed

Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 
Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing