We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food terrible service awful loud music”

Kelly’s Steakhouse
Ranked #3 of 51 Restaurants in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $38
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Kelly's Foundry Grillhouse has, in short space of time, become one the favourite restaurants for Portlaoise locals and visitors alike. Black Rock is our speciality - this is an exciting and healthy dining concept where you cook your own choice of meat (all our beef is dry aged and 100% Irish from Hicks in Cork) on a volcanic stone. Enjoy the fantastic atmosphere and tantalizing aromas as your food cooks in front of you!
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food terrible service awful loud music”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We ate here because it was sunday evening and we were staying at the Heritage with limited choice ... Initially very accommodating of a large group - great menu plenty of choice - watch out for the set menu it is a con and limited choice .. The food was fab cannot fault it.. The service deteriorated throughout the meal to virtually nil by the end .. In fact most of our table left because it was taking that ling to pay and correct the grossly incorrect bill - charging us for 7 deserts that were part of the set menu or child's menu ... I would go again for the food and be prepared for slow service and checking of the bill. The music was bad and loud but when they obligingly turned it down there was a loud mechanical humming noise !!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    44
    16
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lots & lots of room for improvement!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Upon arrival we were left standing at reception for several minutes, the restaurant was not overly busy for a Friday night.

The food was poor - I had cesear salad & a steak. My steak arrived cold although it was cooked perfect. Steak came with a large serving of greasy deep fried onions, veg was also cold & lacked any effort or imagination.
One of the other guests had to send back her steak as it was full of grizzle & inedible. The apple & pear tart was nice for dessert but it was bought into the Restuarant & not homemade.

Restaurant looks tired & dull & the staff while very pleasant were under pressure.
Overall I would not recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a let down!!!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I dined at this restaurant with my boyfriend recently. We both enjoy eating out & I had been looking forward to trying this place out as I had heard that it was good! When we arrived at the restaurant, we were left standing at the reception desk for several minutes before anyone noticed us. It was a very busy night at the restaurant so we understood that the staff may have been under pressure. The waitress who was serving us failed to explain the menu options to us. There was an a la carte menu and another menu handed to us. The additional menu looked like a set menu but there was no price listed. I ended up seeing the price advertised on a poster in the toilets. This would have been a much better value option as the menu we chose worked out to be ridiculously expensive for what we got!!! We both chose the sirloin steak on the hot rock & we asked for it with baked potatoes but there were none left so we chose mashed potatoes instead. Also the wine that we chose was not available either. We were pleasantly surprised when our food arrived very quickly but they forgot one little thing.... Plates!!! We were expected to eat the steak directly from the hot rock which is an absolute hazard!!! Also we were given a bowl of mash to share so I guess they expected us to eat that directly from the bowl also!! After requesting plates, we eventually were given small side plates. It just wasn't ideal at all. The steak itself was nice but it was served with horrible greasy onion rings. A bit of side salad or some veg would have been nice. There was no desert menu & the waitress wasn't very well informed about the desserts. We decided to share a "whiskey cheesecake". It didn't even have a slight whiskey flavour & it was the most bland cheesecake I've ever tasted!! We ordered tea with our dessert & the waitress mocked us for choosing tea rather than more wine. She was unprofessional & bad mannered from start to finish. This restaurant has potential but the management need to step in & sort it out!!! The service is not good enough! We have no intentions of dining at this restaurant again as I would expect a lot more for the price we paid.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Avril09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad decor and overpriced food.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The decor is appalling. There were disco balls hanging from the ceiling which gave the impression of a club rather than a restaurant. The red and black upholstered chairs were out of place and the tablecloth looked and felt like lino.
We got two duck and two cakes and to drink, a carafe of Merlot and it cost around €70.00 (without a tip). Compared to some excellent meals that we have experienced on the continent and even in Dublin this seemed so overpriced without the compensation of excellent service or surroundings.The wine list was badly laid out, the text was difficult to see. No dessert menu for some reason.
Food itself was fine. The duck was OK. Came with generic boiled veg and mashed potato. Chocolate cake was bland and served with tiny amount of ice-cream.
Another thing we noticed was that though there was a steady and increasing flow of people arriving, there was no-one constantly manning the reception desk and diners were left waiting until one of the staff saw them from across the room. Thought this was unprofessional.
Staff friendly but not too professional. Saying that the place was getting very busy when we were leaving and it seemed like it would be a good place to have a party!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Main course before starters! !!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Four of us for dinner waited for about 20 mins for our starters enquired with the pleasant waitress (not her fault) about delay she informed us that our food was on the way our main course arrived but we hadn't had our STARTERS. We decided because we were hungry, to skip them and eat our main course when this was brought to the attention of the management I assume it was suggested that we have them after our main course. Never in all my time dining out have I ever had this suggested to me needless to say we declined. After a very mediocre meal we decided to leave and shall not be returning. Waitress pleasant but service dreadful
FOUR STAR I DONT THINK SO! !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magsdugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly’s Steakhouse also viewed

Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 
Portlaoise, County Laois
 
Portlaoise, County Laois
Portlaoise, County Laois
 

Been to Kelly’s Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing