We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock of Dunamase was absolutely beautiful!!”
Review of Rock of Dunamase

Rock of Dunamase
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rock of Dunamase was absolutely beautiful!!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This may have been my favorite sightseeing part of my Ireland trip. Simply breathtaking view. The ruins sit on top of a hill and you can see bright green Irish countryside 360 degrees around you. I would totally recommend it for the view. Something so peaceful about it and so much history. Don't expect to see a full castle, as it is just ruins, but still worth the stop.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    97
    20
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newry
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An Amazing Place!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Go for the view - Absolutely beautiful - You really get a sense of history when you climb up to this site.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CruisingalongNewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Almost completely Ruined”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

At the Rock of Dunamase lies the remains of an old castle. There is great views of the flat land all around. The castle itself is almost completely ruined. There are rocks scattered everywhere. It is a good place for young kids to run around and hide.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Philipstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery just a short walk away”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We parked at the small church at the bottom of the rock and climbed up. My youngest child is not yet 2 and she easily walked up. When we visited it was very busy but I think it was bad luck that we coincided with a coach trip. It was a nice short walk to the top and the views were really lovely. Worth a look if passing by. I think that for me, I would have enjoyed some information about the history of the site and think there is really room for this to be developed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank alb9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyduff, Kerry
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beautiful scenery”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I like this place you get to see lovely view all round you. The disappointment here is no information about Dunamase. they is good information online

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kieranrocford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock of Dunamase also viewed

 
County Laois, Province of Leinster
Abbeyleix, County Laois
 

Been to Rock of Dunamase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing