We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BELLISSIMA: Roundwood House”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roundwood House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roundwood House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountrath
Certificate of Excellence
Milan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BELLISSIMA: Roundwood House”
Reviewed December 7, 2006

My fiancé and I spent a lovely weekend at Roundwood House, Mountrath! In a beautiful region, an amazing house, warm and gracious hospitality and great food, the best we had in Ireland. Our room was spacious, elegant and very comfortable, but the house and its gardens offered so many pleasant corners hardly describable in a few lines.

I would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Liked — Hospitality, food and decor
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — a longer stay
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciclamino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    17
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
61
73
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2006

My husband and I stayed at this hotel/B&B for 1 night. Having read earlier reviews I was expecting a very high standard and was therefore prepared to pay more than usual. We paid EUR 75 each (i.e. EUR150 for the 2 of us for the night) which was extremely expensive for what we got. An average B&B would cost about EUR40 per person per night.

It was a very average stay. I should add that we were not staying in the main house, we were staying around the back in a much older, less inviting building. Perhaps the main house is much more luxurious. Our room was very basic, there were no facilities - no tea and coffee making facilities, no tv. The shower was terrible, just a trickle of roasting hot water which scalded rather than cleaned. The most peculiar thing was that there were no keys to any of the rooms..so everybody slept with open doors. We didn't particularly mind this but if I had been a woman on my own I would have been much more concerned.

The breakfast was the standard B&B fare - cereal, yogurt, full Irish fry-up, toast, coffee: exactly the same as the breakfast which you'd get in a regular B&B. As a vegetarian, this means I just had eggs and tomatoes - not very impressive. For this price one would have expected a menu with choice rather than 2 scrambled eggs..

All in all, an average stay which was expensive at the price - poor value for money. The grounds and house, however, are lovely as is the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MiaMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pannah2, owner at Roundwood House, responded to this review, May 15, 2007
We are very sorry to read that any guest has a disappointing stay at Roundwood. Of course the whole point of Trip Advisor is that reviewers must be free to say exactly how they feel, and we agree wholeheartedly with this principle.

We would like to make two brief comments in response to MiaMe’s post. The first is regarding the valid point made about the showers in the Yellow House. We are now aware that they are not of a satisfactory standard and are making plans to have them replaced. The second refers to the suggestion that doors without locks are a potential security threat for women staying on their own. We feel it necessary to stress here that, as well as being a hotel, Roundwood is our family home and in the twenty four years we’ve run it as such we haven’t had a single security-related incident. The fact that Roundwood is an unspoilt, historic house, and not a typical hotel, is very appealing to most of our guests. We continue in our endeavours to provide our guests with a pleasurable stay in a relaxed and informal environment.


Yours sincerely,

Frank & Rosemarie Kennan


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, Ca
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2006

We (myself, my mother and my two boys) stayed at Roundwood House on our way from Dublin to Kerry. The house itself is just beautiful. The room was nice and it was comfortable. Our windows overlooked the beautiful garden and all I could hear for miles were birds!! It was out of a fantasy. My boys had a wonderful time exploring the gardens. My mom and I enjoyed the breakfast and wished we had enjoyed dinner as well. Our hosts, Frank and Rosemarie, were friendly and made us all feel very welcome. I would highly recommend this wonderful home for your visit. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wannawazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2006

We stayed in Coach House, which is a lovely place and especially nice for children. Horses, peacocks jumping to the roof, playful dogs Frodo and Sheridan, big back yard for football and much more. Roundwood House is very well situated to explore Kilkenny, Tullamore, Birr and many other places. I would highly recommend Roundwood House!!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank tripswithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2006

I stayed at Roundwood for just one night recently and would have liked to stay for more. The house is very relaxing, and Frank and Rosemarie make you feel at ease straight away. Unfortunately it rained a lot when we were there, but got to explore a little of the grounds before we left. The food is great there, lovely dinner and breakfast, and I liked the communal dining, although this may not be to everyones taste.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MillicentD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 2, 2005

I had the wonderful pleasure of staying at the Roundwood House in May, 2005. I had not experienced staying at a Bed & Breakfast before going to Ireland. I found the Roundwood to be very welcoming, comfortable and fun! Frank and Rosemary took very good care of me (I was travelling by myself) and I found their accomodations clean, safe and very friendly.

On Saturday night they had a full course meal for all the guests. I highly recommend this. The food was wonderful. I don't think I had another meal as great as the dinner at Roundhouse. One of the guests was celebrating her birthday, and there were special touches added to the evening for all to enjoy.

The breakfasts were also great. Rosemary makes a homemade yogurt - I didn't try it, but the other guests raved about it. The choices for breakfast were many, and I was able to have a full breakfast every day.

After leaving the Roundwood, I stayed at a Castle and another Bed & Breakfast on my travels through Ireland. Looking back, I wish I could have stayed at Roundwood the entire time; and next time I probably will. I even changed my plans so I could return to the Roundwood one last night before leaving Ireland.

The best part..... I heard the rooster crow in the mornings. I had not had that happen since I was a small child staying with my grandparents on their farm in Iowa!

The directions to find Roundwood were helpful and accurate. I arrived at night, so it was a bit difficult to get my bearings until the next day, but I found R.H. easy by following the directions.

I did not spend a lot of time walking the grounds around Roundwood, but I believe it would be a great place to spend a very peaceful vacation. My travels took me away from R.H. every day and I returned in the evenings.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2005

We spent 3 nights at Roundwood House and enjoyed every minute of them. The rooms are lovely, the grounds beautiful, the animals friendly and the host most gracious and accomodating. It was like being invited down for a weekend in the country with old friends and new. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J&JHubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountrath
4.4 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
241 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,749 reviews
9.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
10.6 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
637 reviews
11.0 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundwood House

Property: Roundwood House
Address: Roundwood, Mountrath, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Mountrath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountrath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roundwood House is a country house hotel in a delightful location at the foot of the Slieve Bloom mountains, just 1.5 hours from Dublin. The house and outbuildings are over 300 years old and have immense charm and character. Guests come to relax, explore many local sites of interest and for genuine Irish hospitality in a homely atmosphere. Roundwood was listed among the top 50 restaurants in the world in 2002 by London's "Restaurant" magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Roundwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundwood House Hotel Mountrath
Roundwood House Ireland/Mountrath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing