We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey yet lovely”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Roundwood House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roundwood House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountrath
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pricey yet lovely”
Reviewed October 14, 2007

Thought this would be really special, and arranged our trip to include this midlands stop. Nice that is was so old, but could have been kept up a bit better. Felt a little gouged when we found out the locals get 25% off with their coupons. Not a good value for our money, but not a bad place to stay if you really need a stop in this area.

  • Liked — charming country estate experience
  • Disliked — overpriced and not kept up well enough
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FloridaMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pannah2, Owner at Roundwood House, responded to this review, March 30, 2008
We would like to state as a matter of fact that under no circumstances do "locals get 25% off with their coupons". Our rates are both maximum and minimum rates for ALL customers; they don't change for special dates or special events. Roundwood was originally a Quaker property and we totally embrace the Quaker tradition of a 'fair price'.
Frank & Rosemarie Kennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    17
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
61
73
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

We spent 2 weeks touring England and Ireland, and Roundwood was by far the most memorable part of our journey. We stayed for 3 nights, which felt about right for visiting the Slieve Bloom Mountains and the neighboring towns and castles. Roundwood is a restored Georgian home, and is charming. We spent a great deal of time walking around the property while being led around by the house dogs, Sheraton and Frodo. Our entire stay was peaceful, private, and utterly relaxing. Our hosts, Paddy and Hannah, were so warm and friendly that we felt as though we were visiting friends instead of staying at a B&B. Definitely stay for the dinners - the experience of meeting other guests from all walks of life is one that you cannot put a price on. If you are looking for the Four Seasons, go to a big city. If you are looking for a peaceful, secluded, memorable, and authentic experience, do not hesitate to stay at Roundwood. I recommend it unwaveringly.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank CSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2007

One night with some close friends, terrific food and fine company wants you craving for more. Great hosts with real warmth and charm. Frank and Rosemarie really know how to make you feel welcome and have created a very relaxed environment at their fine house. We'll be back !

  • Liked — Real world charm
  • Disliked — No issues
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2007

What a fabulous place to stay. My wife and I had two amazing days at Roundwood, walking in the Slieve Bloom Mountains and visiting Kilkenny. The accommodation, food and hosts were the best we had on our two week trip to Ireland. The House is from the Georgian era and is absolutely stunning, surrounded by beautiful gardens (and animals). We have never fealt so relaxed and away from the hustle of big towns. Frank and his wife were just amazing, and such fun to listen to. We ate both nights with all the other gusets and got such an insight into Irish (and International) culture.

Go there and enjoy.

Dan

ps I can't believe the previous review that this is an ordinary B&B. I can not thnk of anything less ordinary. My wife and I find all of our accommodation through Trip Advisor and thank god we did not see the previous review before we selected our accommodation

  • Liked — Beautiful house and amazing hosts
  • Disliked — ............ could not stay longer
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLover1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2007

I’m a bit surprised to read all the previous raving reviews (Roundwood house is not in Wicklow btw). My husband and I stayed in Roundwood house in April 2007. The house and garden are lovely. We had gorgeous weather, but unfortunately there is no place to sit and enjoy the garden, though we could have a nice stroll after breakfast or dinner.

We had the nicest room (the green room) in the main house. It was nice a old specious room with a curiously small double bed. If you are a bit tall or a bit big you will not fit on the bed.

We had the diner on one of the nights and were not impressed at all. The courses were very bland and the meat was erratically seasoned. Also as one of the courses was grilled grapefruit with cinnamon, you are better off keeping your Eur 50 pp (excluding drinks which are charged at Dublin restaurant prices) in your pocket and enjoy a nice meal in one of the small towns in the area.

Breakfast is a typical B&B affair, with boxed cereal, yoghurt, dried fruit and a fried Irish breakfast. No special arrangements are made for vegetarians even if you advise you are one in advance. There was no breakfast menu.

The location is good, you can make nice daytrip to Kilkenny and Birr from here (We highlyt recommed visiting the Birr castle demesne!) and it's about 40 minutes from Dublin.

In short this is a basic B&B in a nice setting. If you are looking for something special, you will have to look further.

  • Liked — views from room
  • Disliked — the food
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ne75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2006

My fiancé and I spent a lovely weekend at Roundwood House, Mountrath! In a beautiful region, an amazing house, warm and gracious hospitality and great food, the best we had in Ireland. Our room was spacious, elegant and very comfortable, but the house and its gardens offered so many pleasant corners hardly describable in a few lines.

I would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Liked — Hospitality, food and decor
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — a longer stay
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciclamino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2006

My husband and I stayed at this hotel/B&B for 1 night. Having read earlier reviews I was expecting a very high standard and was therefore prepared to pay more than usual. We paid EUR 75 each (i.e. EUR150 for the 2 of us for the night) which was extremely expensive for what we got. An average B&B would cost about EUR40 per person per night.

It was a very average stay. I should add that we were not staying in the main house, we were staying around the back in a much older, less inviting building. Perhaps the main house is much more luxurious. Our room was very basic, there were no facilities - no tea and coffee making facilities, no tv. The shower was terrible, just a trickle of roasting hot water which scalded rather than cleaned. The most peculiar thing was that there were no keys to any of the rooms..so everybody slept with open doors. We didn't particularly mind this but if I had been a woman on my own I would have been much more concerned.

The breakfast was the standard B&B fare - cereal, yogurt, full Irish fry-up, toast, coffee: exactly the same as the breakfast which you'd get in a regular B&B. As a vegetarian, this means I just had eggs and tomatoes - not very impressive. For this price one would have expected a menu with choice rather than 2 scrambled eggs..

All in all, an average stay which was expensive at the price - poor value for money. The grounds and house, however, are lovely as is the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MiaMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pannah2, owner at Roundwood House, responded to this review, May 15, 2007
We are very sorry to read that any guest has a disappointing stay at Roundwood. Of course the whole point of Trip Advisor is that reviewers must be free to say exactly how they feel, and we agree wholeheartedly with this principle.

We would like to make two brief comments in response to MiaMe’s post. The first is regarding the valid point made about the showers in the Yellow House. We are now aware that they are not of a satisfactory standard and are making plans to have them replaced. The second refers to the suggestion that doors without locks are a potential security threat for women staying on their own. We feel it necessary to stress here that, as well as being a hotel, Roundwood is our family home and in the twenty four years we’ve run it as such we haven’t had a single security-related incident. The fact that Roundwood is an unspoilt, historic house, and not a typical hotel, is very appealing to most of our guests. We continue in our endeavours to provide our guests with a pleasurable stay in a relaxed and informal environment.


Yours sincerely,

Frank & Rosemarie Kennan


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountrath
4.4 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
241 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,749 reviews
9.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
10.6 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
637 reviews
11.0 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundwood House

Property: Roundwood House
Address: Roundwood, Mountrath, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Mountrath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountrath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roundwood House is a country house hotel in a delightful location at the foot of the Slieve Bloom mountains, just 1.5 hours from Dublin. The house and outbuildings are over 300 years old and have immense charm and character. Guests come to relax, explore many local sites of interest and for genuine Irish hospitality in a homely atmosphere. Roundwood was listed among the top 50 restaurants in the world in 2002 by London's "Restaurant" magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Roundwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundwood House Hotel Mountrath
Roundwood House Ireland/Mountrath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing