We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place, amazing people, amazing time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roundwood House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roundwood House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountrath
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Amazing place, amazing people, amazing time”
Reviewed March 14, 2011

If you really want to experience Ireland, its people, the culture and the true beauty of the Irish countryside, look no further. Hannah & Paddy hosted our very large party for 7 days/6 nights. There was awesome breakfast to order every morning, delicious prepared group meals, and nonstop entertainment. Most impressive though, was the wedding reception they were able to pull off. Hosted in the gorgeous, rustic Long Room, these two and their amazing staff easily kept stomachs full and wine flowing for a wedding party of 60+.

By the end of the trip, we weren’t just saying goodbye to the country, but to a few new additions to our extended family. And Paddy plays a mean REM cover.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndeangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    17
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
61
73
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We had so much fun!!

We organised a re-union of friends (6 adults, three kids) in Roundwood House. It turned out to be the perfect choice. Paddy and Hannah are great hosts; very relaxed, attentive and fantastic cooks!

The house is beautiful and the rooms are large with really comfortable beds. The grounds are spacious with great walks on the doorstep.

But the best thing about Roundwood House for us, was the way our hosts made sure we had a great time. We were served dinner in a separate dining room - which was really intimate. Our five course meal was top drawer - as good as any of Ireland's best. There's a great choice of wine etc. Paddy and Hannah are really switched on to what you want - it's like you're at their party - and they want you to have the best time possible! There is none of the stuffy formality that sometimes goes with this type of property.

Breakfast is perfect and you can move at your own pace. There is no rush in Roundwood, with a choice of rooms for relaxing in, and then there's outside!

BTW - with the Motorway, we were back to the M50 in Dublin in one hour after leaving.

Thanks Hannah, Paddy (and Amelie)!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5IrishandalongVolvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

My mother and I stayed at Roundwood House in June for three nights and absolutely loved our stay. While planning our trip to Ireland, we wanted to find the most charming, cozy, and historic house that we could find- a place that would really give us the flavor of the Irish countryside. Roundwood House was beyond our expectations! A short drive from Dublin, with easy access to great tourist spots like Glendalough and Kilkenny- Roundwood House is in a perfect central location. Located at the end of a long, meandering driveway through the woods- this house is the epitome of charm. There is a beautiful sitting room filled with books with a sitting area right in front of the fireplace. The grounds are historic and beautiful, you could spend a lot of time just wandering around! Our room was very comfortable, the breakfast was wonderful (be sure to have the homemade yogurt), and Hannah and Paddy were superb hosts. There is also a 'resident' peacock at Roundwood who sat outside the window one morning, looking in as we ate breakfast! If you are looking for a lovely, charming location with lots of character- look no further than Roundwood House.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolina2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2010

It's all about Paddy and Hanna. From the moment Paddy emailed me to say there was a peacock, geese a dog and a cat my 3.5 year old daughter could say hi to when she came - I knew this country house was different in a very good way. As it happened, we opted for a break for the two of us - but so nice to know that our daughter was very welcome. Paddy Flynn is Canadian and I kind of wish I could say he's first generation Irish.... When it comes to effortless charm, grace, humour and making you feel welcome - this guy could open a school and teach the nation how it's done! We met some amazing characters (fellow guests) at dinner and had the best craic ever - talked and laughed for hours. Hanna and Paddy also do all the cooking - we couldn't wait for dinner next evening to see what scrumptious delights were in store after our first gastronomic feast. The food is five star, the welcome and service is the same. It's a relaxed, homley place with their two stunning little girls as cute as fairies. Keep up the good work - we will be back. Aileen

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aileen_power
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skerries, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2010

A thoroughly enjoyable experience from start to finish; real people, real warmth, and a really beautiful old stately home. Outside it was freezing, but inside there were roaring fires in every room, great conversation amongst the guests, and excellent food from hosts Paddy & Hannah. Roundwood House should become a Mecca of the Midlands.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steevill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2010

This is a lovely Hotel run by lovely people.

There are no TVs or proper showers and there are a few cracks in the walls, but this is a piece of proper authentic Ireland, and all the more stunning for it. If you came to Ireland for a warm welcome, great food and bags of charm and character, this is just the place.

If you like Guiness then say hello to John at Purcells 5min drive away in Mountrath, good bloke, great beer, very little choice in crisps.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlKCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We have never stayed here, but have come now for several years for an evening meal, and to enjoy the location. The service is friendly, engaging, and the food excellent. We delight in the special nature of the house; its quality to be itself with comfort and not a replica of other hotels, is a real pleasure. We love the drawing room, and books a plenty. (as a retired librarian with Laois history interests the books turn pleasure into joy) Everytime the food has been of suburb quality and taste drawn out of wholesome and local ingredients, without fussy additions.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Killenard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountrath
4.4 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
241 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
1,750 reviews
9.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
10.6 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
637 reviews
11.0 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundwood House

Property: Roundwood House
Address: Roundwood, Mountrath, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Mountrath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountrath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roundwood House is a country house hotel in a delightful location at the foot of the Slieve Bloom mountains, just 1.5 hours from Dublin. The house and outbuildings are over 300 years old and have immense charm and character. Guests come to relax, explore many local sites of interest and for genuine Irish hospitality in a homely atmosphere. Roundwood was listed among the top 50 restaurants in the world in 2002 by London's "Restaurant" magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Roundwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundwood House Hotel Mountrath
Roundwood House Ireland/Mountrath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing