We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vie de Chateaux

Vie de Chateaux
Ranked #7 of 73 Restaurants in Naas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $37
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fine French dining with gourmet ingredients and great service in the centre of Naas, Co. Kildare. Awarded best restaurant in Co. Kildare in the 2011 & 2012 Irish Restaurant Awards, Vie de Chateaux has been at the top of the list of best restaurants in Ireland since opening in 2007.
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

have been here twice for Sunday lunch. We arrived just after lunch so it was nice and quiet. Suited us as the tables are quite close together so not for those who like their space. The lunch menu is very good value €19 for two courses. Mussels to start are fantastic, tasty and just the right amount. The bread is freshly baked. I had the panfried fish main the first week which was fantastic. had fish pie the second week which I was not mad keen on. It was a bit bland but came with some nice mashed potato. He had steak and chips which he said was good quality meat and enjoyed it. The specials sounded lovely but are fairly pricey. Maybe for a special night out. Had a nice bottle of red and when we finished and wanted one more for our cheese they gave us a glass of the same bottle we had been drinking. Service very pleasant. Will be back for sure

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubliner69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    82
    33
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice variety and well prepared meals”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We frequent vie de chateaux several times for business travell. Nice atmosphere- some nights it can get quite loud when full. It is frequently full as the food is so good. Service can be a bit slow but i think it is intentional. Worse is the bill. It will not arrive unless you ask for it. Back to the positives. Great selection of wines and diverse menu portions are properly sized. Will return just not when in a time constraint

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank STEPHENW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We love this restaurant, the food is beautiful and the wine list is good. The only negative is that the tables are too close together and you can hear everything that the next table are saying. Would definitely go back though.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SecretbeautyCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
246 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Dreadful service & expensive food ”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Totally ignored by what I think was the manager, but he was all over what were either friends or regulars. Food and particularly specials over priced and food at these prices was average at best, won't be back. There is much better value and service to be had in Naas.

Helpful?
2 Thank Poxyeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“always amazing”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This place is always amazing, it always feels special! Getting hard to get a table now as its become so popular - always full, which adds to the great buzzy atmosphere! prawn and mussel starters are highly recommended and the french deserts are divine, but to be honest everything is superb - have never had a bad meal here !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vie de Chateaux also viewed

Naas, County Kildare
 
Naas, County Kildare
 

Been to Vie de Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing