We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Osprey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Osprey Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naas
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel in a great location. The staff are extremely friendly and more than helpful. The bar is a lovely touch to the hotel as there are many different levels with seating areas, plus they do great cocktails. Dinner in the restaurant was very enjoyable. I have eaten in nicer but for a hotel the quality was extremely good which nice portion sizes. I was booked into an a superior room. The room was massive with a lovely stand alone bath and a walk in shower. The room had a great view of the courtyard with a little balcony. However it was the room that let the overall experience down. There were little stains and tears on some of the furnishings. I am not one to complain but this was quite visible in this room and when ones books the more expensive room you would expect the quality to be good. Breakfast the next morning was a self help buffet which was really nice and lots of choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeydroptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Guest Relations Manager at Osprey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Hello honeydroptravels


Thank you for taking the time to leave the Osprey some feedback.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us for the most part, especially the bar. With regards to your comments about your bedroom; we apologise and take your comments on board. We are delighted to report that our bedrooms are currently in the process of being renovated after the completion of the bar, lobby and ballroom last year.
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.


Kind Regards,
Dan Horan
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,194)
There are newer reviews for Osprey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

I took a group of 22 people to this hotel and I have to say it was excellent.
The rooms spacious and clean, the food in the restaurant was out of this world and the staff couldn't do enough for us.
We found the breakfast lovely and tasty, and everything was of the best.
We actually have booked another stay next year.
A well worthwhile visit and would recommend this hotel 100%!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamowenFarmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Public Relations Manager at Osprey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Hello CamowenFarmers

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the Osprey and look forward to welcoming you again next year!

Kind Regards,

Dan Horan
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Spacious room,comfortable and clean. Friendly reception staff. Breakfast very mediocre, slapdash, food piled up on a make shift type table, all the utensils thrown together not very hygenic nor pleasant to the touch. The leisure facilities were excellent lots of choices, unfortunately the hygeine aspect let it down once again-- used plaster on the floor in the changing room on Sunday's visit still there on Monday!! The area that you can sit to change had inches of dust on the wood, ( think this was adjacent to locker no 137 but not sure).

We were disappointed in the Naas area in general from the point of view it was almost impossible to find a Restaurant open at 8.45/ 9 pm on a Sunday evening. We ended up back in the hotel where we had the bar food which was good. Fergal who served us is a tremendous asset to the business.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annette s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Guest Relations Manager at Osprey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Hello Anette s

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on Trip Advisor.
We are happy to hear you found your bedroom spacious, comfortable and clean.
Your comments regarding breakfast have been passed onto the restaurant manager for review. We can only apologise that you didn’t enjoy breakfast.

We are glad you enjoyed our leisure centre for the most part. We apologise for your experience in the changing rooms. Your comments have been referred to the leisure centre manager.
We can’t take responsibility for the fact that you couldn’t find a restaurant that served food at your desirable time as I’m sure you can appreciate, but we are delighted that you enjoyed your meal in the Statler Bar.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.


Kind Regards,

Dan Horan
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my invalid Mother on a voucher I had bought and used it on the last day before it expired. I have to say the reception staff were so kind and helpful. They spoke to my elderly Mum who was on crutches as if she was a VIP! They changed our room so we didn't have so far to walk. The room they were changing us to wasn't ready so they suggested we go to the lounge and have some tea. We decided to have lunch and the staff helped us to our seat and moved chairs, tables to allow us to move more freely. Lunch was delicious!! (As was Dinner and breakfast). The receptionist came in with the key to us and said if we needed anything to come back or phone her and she would come to us! We were also treated so well in the Spa. The manager was so helpful and friendly and spent a lot of time talking to us he also gave us a plastic wheelchair for my Mum to shower in in our room and actually put her in it and pushed her back to the room!! . He also came to talk to us a breakfast the next morning and asked us how we both were and was there anything he could do or would we like to use the facilities again. Our bedroom and bathroom were 5 star luxury!! We had a lovely memorable stay and would highly recommend this beautiful hotel and applaud the staff. Well done!!

Room Tip: They are all good!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishmolly50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Guest Relations Manager at Osprey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Hello Irishmolly50

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Osprey and that you got to use all of the amenities.

Your feedback has been passed onto all departments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Dan Horan
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Something of a surprising oasis, my first, of what will be regular trips from Yorkshire, to this hotel, new job, with manufacturing sites nearby in Naas. Perhaps commenting on the whole business trip - end to end from LBA, through DUB, rental car, journey to Naas, all seamless. Arrived in the dark, such are business trips, but a warm welcome. Did not have the chance to sample either restaurant, bar or spa, but my room was well equipped (tech), plenty of power points - charging tech is important on business trips. I did look out of the window, to be faced by a wall right infront of the window, so no view in that room, but huge comfy bed, and a TV remote that worked. Then I found the bathroom. Magic white freestanding roll top bath, wet room style large head shower.

I have given 4 stars, only because I arrived at 10.00pm in the evening, left at 8.30am the following morning. No experience of any facilities, Breakfast - lovely staff, good options, Continental selection which you select yourself, but also a full 'English' or is that 'Irish' selection.
Happy to review again when I have stayed more often.

Room Tip: For an overnight business stay, my room, loved it. Can't comment for any other occasion.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyQX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Guest Relations Manager at Osprey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Sandyxxx

Thank you for taking the time to leave the Osprey a review here on Trip Advisor.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your brief stay with us; especially your bed and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Osprey on a regular basis.


Kind Regards,

Dan Horan
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and must say that from the minute of my arrival I was impressed. The reception staff were very friendly, extremely efficient and professional. I was delighted to be told I had been give n a complimentary upgrade to a junior suite. The suite was beautiful, spotless,and well supplied . Later that day I enjoyed a casual meal in the lounge. Both the food and the service were excellent. The pool facilities and thermal suites were flawless. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. My only regret was that I hadn't time to experience the spa facilities.
Overall my experience at this hotel was very positive and I look forward to staying there in the future

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ailin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Guest Relations Manager at Osprey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Ailin O

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Osprey and you liked our Junior Suite.

Your kind words regarding out service and staff have been passed on to the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Osprey in the future.


Kind Regards,

Dan Horan
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed on the one night mid-week Spa break. If I didn't know osprey was a four star hotel I would have said it was a three star.I'm not sure if it's lack of money being spent on up-keep by owners or no attention to detail ... (this hotel had been well spoken of by friends of mine but I don't think they stayed recently) Bar Lounge area furniture is tired and in disrepair - a couple of big rips in the leather.The whole lounge could do with some brightening up. Lunch was from the lunch menu (carvery had finished). Pizza we had tasted like it came from a frozen pizza box. Dinner in the restaurant later was fine.
The bedroom design was good and I liked the design of the 'around-the-corner' shower area - but nowhere near the shower to hang your towel ? Damage to a wall in the bathroom had been filled but not painted over ? Broken light cover behind the bed (smashed plastic ) other scratches dings around the room.(I will post photo's if someone from osprey tries to dismiss)No hot water in the shower the morning of check-out. Bed was very hard and uncomfortable.The hotel doors slam shut -so good luck getting asleep (Osprey- the arms on the doors can be adjusted to close with less force !!!!) Ohh! this was great - you can here people in the rooms next to you using the toilets at night. If you have a sign in your rooms that say 'If you require a softer pillow contact reception' THEN YOU KNOW YOUR PILLOWS ARE TOO HARD - try changing the sign to 'if you require a harder pillow...' and see how many calls you get. And before you say we don't get many calls for a softer one, most people don't complain we just will not return.
Swimming pool is like a bad public swimming pool. No separate changing rooms for Spa guests and it's around a ten min walk around the pool an up two flights of stairs in your robe to get to the Spa.The massage table I was on was damaged at the bottom. The relaxation room after the Spa is like nothing I've ever seen- Four tiled beds that's it !! I'm serious ! No nice lighting, No Nice smells or low background music & smelled like smelly feet - we lasted about 30 secs and ran out of there.
The only positive was all the staff we met were friendly and efficient - but somebody somewhere is definitely not doing there job. Would not be surprised if this hotel was down-graded to a 3 star soon. I know there is a lot of bad points in this review but I'm not someone who normally gives a bad review. Our stay was a gift , it did not cost us anything - so money doesn't even come into it You couldn't pay me to say here again .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCaffreyRM, General Manager at Osprey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Stephen E,

Many thanks for your review although clearly you did not enjoy your stay. On the positive points you do raise I thank you on behalf of the staff you met who you describe as friendly and efficient. And you describe dinner as fine, which, in view of the rest of your review, I'll be cheeky and treat as a positive also, (slim pickings as you'll no doubt agree). Now the negatives, in relation to a lack of money being spent on the property we have invested heavily in the Osprey over the past three years and this year have started the process of refurbishing all of our bedrooms, unfortunately you did not get to stay in one of those new bedrooms but the one you did stay in will soon be completed. Most guests are very happy with our pillows and the level of return visits we get we think in part demonstrates that, but we felt it would be a nice option to offer softer pillows for those guests who prefer them, you don't mention if you got them but if so, I hope you liked them. Our pizzas are a new innovation and while we did only start them this week and there may have been some teething troubles I can assure you that they are home made from scratch. We will do our best to improve upon the recipe in light of your comments. I personally stay in the Osprey once a week and never in the same room twice in order to get as clear a picture of what our guests experience as possible and I can honestly say I've never heard a neighboring room use the toilet but as I say, that's only my experience. It has also never taken me ten minutes to walk the two flights of stairs you mention, but again, I can only comment on my own experience and there is also lift access. The spa has also, believe it or not, invested heavily in new equipment, all (unfortunately in this case again) due to be delivered next week. I accept that you were unhappy with your stay and do apologize and as the likely candidate for the 'somebody somewhere not doing there (sic) job properly' I will endeavour to improve upon those points that you have raised. However, I feel it is only fair to point out that while your stay was a gift from friends it was courtesy of a gift voucher that had expired but that we happily extended in an effort to be as accommodating as possible. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Best regards,

John Caffrey
Complex Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naas
1.5 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
0.6 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
583 reviews
6.8 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
555 reviews
5.3 mi away
Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre
19.1 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osprey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osprey Hotel

Address: Devoy Quarter Osprey Hotel Newbridge Road, Naas W91 X40K, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Naas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naas
Price Range: $126 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Osprey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Osprey Hotel is only 35 minutes drive from Dublin City and close to all major routes. It includes the four-star Osprey Hotel, Osprey Spa, Osprey Conference Centre, Osprey Leisure Club and Osprey Bar. Osprey Hotel is of contemporary style with 108 bedrooms including classic and executive rooms, junior and duplex suites and two penthouse suites with balconies. It has a dramatic foyer, glazed atria, restaurant, bar, Ballroom and Conference Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Osprey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osprey Hotel Naas
Osprey Naas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing