We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of Osprey Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Osprey Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Naas
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed at the Osprey on the 19th of July 2012.We were very disappointed on our second visit here.We were waiting fourty five minutes for our main course,i was so annoyed i complained to the waitress.The choice on the menu was pretty limited and the food was basic.The room we were given, unknown to us was directly over some kind of store area.At 3am a bin lorry arrived and unloaded several bins..the noise was constant for 15 minutes,at about 7.30 am a food delivery (Palace foods)truck arrived and woke us with his reversing beeps,however the staff at reception were excellent and extremely concerned and offered us a generous reduction on our bill.Arrived home exhausted...

Room Tip: be careful with your room choice,watch out that they dont give you the rooms over where the bins are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barryands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCaffreyRM, General Manager at Osprey Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear barryands

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on Tripadvisor. My apologies for the problems you experienced during you stay. I am glad that you brought it to the attention of reception and it was dealt with professionally and efficiently. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Osprey in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Amy Clarke
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    332
    135
    62
    49
See reviews for
217
383
24
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed at the Osprey for a night a couple of weeks ago. We went there based on a recommendation and the fact that there was a good deal available. Firstly the directions on the hotels website are, to say the least, a bit confusing and the signage in Naas for the hotel is non existent. On arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by a car park that was essentially one third filled with building rubble, old desks, chairs, beds. As far as first impressions go this was not a good one. I realise that it's a car park, but this sort of thing is unacceptable for a hotel that claims to be four star. Check in went smoothly and the staff were all very pleasant and helpful. On the way to the room a lot of the storage closets that are built in to the walls along the corridor were broken and swinging open revealing piles of linen and towels. Again, not such a good impression. The room itself was nice but the decor had seen better days and could do with freshening up.

Included in our package was access to the "spa" thermal suite. Having made our way through the rabbit warren of corridors to get there, it was decidedly disappointing. We were given a tour of the facility, half of which was out of service, and having basically burst in on the "relaxation" room I had my doubts as to how relaxing this was going to be. Due to the design of the place all of the noise from the swimming pool area funnels up to the spa, this along with the constant interruptions in the relaxation room of people getting tours to be told at the top of their voice that this is the relaxation room was far from relaxing.

Later in the evening we went down to the bar for some food - by far the best part of the whole experience - the portions were extremely generous and the food was extremely tasty and very reasonably priced. Likewise with the breakfast buffet the next morning. It was kept stocked and there was nothing left there to get stale - no skin on the top of the scrambled eggs is a bonus for a breakfast buffet.

All in all it was a mediocre experience. Good food and friendly, helpful staff make up for some of the facility short comings but if I had paid full price I would not have been impressed. Worth a look if you can get a good deal!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublin_Flyer_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCaffreyRM, General Manager at Osprey Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Dublin_Flyer_32

Thanks for sharing your experience of your trip to the Osprey Hotel. I’m sorry your stay got off to a rocky start but I am glad our friendly staff were able to turn that around. I have asked our Spa Manager to review your comments and take appropriate action. I am delighted to pass on your kind words about the food in the hotel to our head chef and restaurant team. We hope to welcome you back to the Osprey very soon.

Kind Regards,

Amy Clarke
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here overnight. We stayed in the executive room. This was huge. The hotel is very nice and looks lovely outside. It was raining while we were there so didn't get to spend any time outside. The outdoor area look fantastic.

We went to the spa area which was very nice and the swimming pool was good too. It was pretty quiet both on the Sunday afternoon and Monday morning. We tried to book a particular spa treatment but were told they were all booked out. So would recommend you book well in advance if you want to try some of the spa treatments. The treatments were €25 for half hour and €45 for one hour treatment while we were there.

We went to Time night club that is in a building right beside the hotel. It is free in for hotel guests - you just show your room key. The club is huge and looks amazing. However we were there on a Sunday night and it was very quiet. The drinks were only €3.50.

We ate breakfast in the hotel. It was your standard Irish breakfast buffet along with average fruit salad, yoghurts, cereals

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorcanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCaffreyRM, General Manager at Osprey Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Lorcan O

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent trip to the Osprey Hotel. It’s a pity that you didn’t get to avail of any treatments in our Spa. We do advise guests to book treatments in advance as our special offer is very popular! I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Amy Clarke,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Spent one night in the Osprey and were delighted to find out upon arrival that we were being upgraded to the penthouse suite.
All members of staff we encountered were polite and friendly. Rene on reception especially.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublinaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCaffreyRM, General Manager at Osprey Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear dublinaa

I wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review here on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and your upgrade to the Penthouse. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Rene and the team.

Kind Regards,

Amy Clarke,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed three nights. Our room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious with both a soaking tub and rain shower. The common areas were nicely appointed. The staff was very helpful and eager to please. We ate at Mash several times and had a few drinks in the pub. Everything was spot on. The hotel is an easy walk to down town Naas. My only negative is that a birthday party was booked on one of the nights and we could hear and feel the thumping of the bass until 12:30 AM. While I understand that the folks having the party rented the place and were entitled to play music, however this is a hotel and the sound level should have been turned down a bit. All in all it was a pleasant stay and if I find my way back to this part of the world again I would not hesitate to stay.

Room Tip: If possible get as far away from the bar and disco as possible. If you are wanting to go into Dubli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCaffreyRM, General Manager at Osprey Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Greg W

Many thanks for your feedback and my apologies that you found the hotel to be noisy. This is regrettable and something we do try to keep to a minimum in trying to ensure that all our guests enjoy their stay with us. I am delighted you will stay at the Osprey again if you get to visit the Emerald Isle in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Amy Clarke,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here at the beginning of September 2012 for 3 nights with my wife and our 2 children (3 and a half and almost 2). Really enjoyed ourselves, staff were fantastic and the hotel was really nice. Would definitely return in the future. The lasting impression from the hotel was that the staff really wanted to make sure everything went well for the guests and if something did go wrong, they were keen to fix it. Bin in baby changing room was overflowing but one mention to reception and this was sorted. We used the hotel as a base to visit the zoo and imaginosity. Dublin is only a short drive away so it was a great choce.

As part of the package we booked, we had B&B and 1 evening meal. The food was excellent and again the service was great. One person that stands out is Maria in the restaurant. She took the time to have a chat in the morning and this may sound small but when we went in on the second morning she had remembered the children names. We hadn't planned to do so but ended up eating in the bar on the 2 nights where dinner wasn't included in our package. There was no point going anywhere else as the food was super and again the service excellent. We did have to send back one meal for one of the children as it tuned out that the tomato sauce on the pasta was spicy (and not to the taste of a nearly 2 year old). Staff were excellent, apologised for the mixup and sent out a replacement (also did not charge for 1 childs meal to apologise).

The only thing was that on checkout we found that we were charged for the dinner that was part of the package. Because the bill is itemised for every individual item, it meant that there was a bit of accountancy needed. Luckily my wife had kept track of what the final total would be. It would be a lot better if the bill displayed the total on the transaction rather than all the items. So, if you have a meal bill of €60, it is displayed on your final bill as each individual item (may be a personal preference!) Once we produced our booking confirmation, it all got sorted.

All in all, fantastic trip, lovely hotel with fine spacious rooms with large king size bed, single bed and camp bed with a cot also as requested. Lovely pool with the added convenience of a family changing room which we do not see too often. Staff are top notch, food is excellent but a little more care on the billing system needed (in this case anyway)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkPaul23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCaffreyRM, General Manager at Osprey Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear CorkPaul23

I wish to thank you for your kind review of our hotel. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and apologise for the problems you experienced. We are very proud of our staff and their friendliness and this seems to come across to all our guests. I will pass on your kind words to Maria. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Osprey very soon.

Kind Regards,

Amy Clarke
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed in the Osprey Hotel from Sept.5th-8th for our Wedding Anniversary , we where upgraded to a Junior suite which was fabulous , Staff very friendly & helpful , food brilliant , swimming pool & spa area fantastic , loved every minute of our stay , will definitely be back , cant recommend Hotel enough.........

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoB258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCaffreyRM, General Manager at Osprey Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear BoB258

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. It really is appreciated. Let me take this opportunity to wish you a happy Wedding Anniversary. I am glad you enjoyed it at the Osprey and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for your next anniversary, if not sooner!

Kind Regards,

Amy Clarke
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naas
1.5 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
0.6 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
6.8 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
13.0 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
5.3 mi away
Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osprey Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osprey Hotel & Spa

Property: Osprey Hotel & Spa
Address: Devoy Quarter Osprey Hotel Newbridge Road, Naas W91 X40K, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Naas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Naas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Osprey Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Osprey Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osprey Hotel Naas
Osprey Naas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing