We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately not 4* service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Killashee - Hotel Spa Leisure
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naas
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
1 review
“Definately not 4* service”
Reviewed September 27, 2008

Attended a conference here in September and was bitterly disappointed. The service was no where near 4* and was possibly the worst I have experienced in a long, long time. From the moment we arrived we were met by inexperienced kids. Check-in was so slow and there was no porter to bring in luggage or bring us to our rooms, which were extremely difficult to find. The food was OK but unexciting. Service during lunch was very poor. There was no milk on the tables and by the time we received it, the tea was cold. Dinner was bland and again the service was not 4*. Again service at breakfast was dreadful. Basic things like salt and pepper or butter were not readily available and staff were inexperienced and rude. There didn't seem to be a manager in sight during our stay. This was in complete contrast to last years conference which was held in Laois. The property itself was nice, bedrooms well decorated and very clean. Parts of the lesiure centre are in very bad repair. THe ladies toilets have tiles missing off the walls and ceiling. But this is the only area were staff were friendly.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mary105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    352
    169
    99
    68
See reviews for
354
469
30
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2008

I'm probably a bit biased with this review seeing as I got married here and being the happiest day of my life I would have been happy staying in a garden shed.. However I review purely the stay and not the wedding, which was incredible by the way.
I stayed in the Bell Tower suite in the original house and did manage to visit the other 11 suites in the house prior to this stay. The original house is decked out in a very tasteful, old world charm type of decor and is just crammed with antique furniture. The bell tower suite is a very comfortable & decent sized suite. The room was immaculately clean and just oozed charm making it a delightful place to be.
The only draw back from the original house is that there are no elevators, so not suitable for though with mobility issues. All 12 suites are unique with the own quirks and décor but all delightful rooms. My family stayed in these room and all were very happy.
The staff in the Killashee was a delight to deal with, they were all very pleasant and professional at all times I dealt with them.
The Chef in the killashee is outstanding, each of the nights I dined there, there was no slip in quality and I can not rave enough about it. I ate in the main resturaunt, the Nun’s kitchen bar and the lunch area, all were of superior quality. By the way the best value and most generous portions of afternoon tea can be found here.
Finally when the Killashee grounds are in full bloom it surely is a sight to see. The landscaped areas are pristine and very relaxing. I recommend a stroll down as far as the Nun’s graveyard.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seanie_pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We selected the Killashee House Hotel and Spa outside of Naas (pronounced "Nace") as a place to recover following our arrival from the U.S. in Ireland. We were attracted to the description of its 80 acre estate, its lovely appearance and the fact that it had a spa. Unfortunately, lackluster food and inattentive restaurant and pub staff really marred the experience. I don't recommend it. As for the 80 acres, most of it is fenced and not available for walking. The formal garden is lovely, but small. The dining room and pub are attractive but here's an example of the service: noting that there were tables outside the pub (on ground level - the pub is actually in the basement), I asked the service person if lunch was available outside. She shrugged and said, "If you like." Killashee is one of the places in Ireland that has staff who are mostly guest workers or recent immigrants. In the dining room, we almost had to run up a flag to order the next course, request wine, etc. Meanwhile, one staff member spent almost the entire time shuffling something in a food service station, while two staff members chatted at the bar. One got the feeling that they viewed actual waiting on tables as someone else's job. There are exceptions - like Anna, who tended the upstairs tea/bar area the afternoon we arrived. The Reception staff is also great, and the manager welcomed feedback. The spa is the high point. On the outside, it captures the style of the 19th century country lodge; inside, the gym features loads of athletic equipment and an olympic pool. Guests are welcome to participate in classes; I loved the aqua aerobics taught by Clare. The spa is also first rate; especially good was the deep tissue massage by Dolores. Overall... there are probably better places to rest and recover.

  • Liked — spa
  • Disliked — restaurant and pub service and food
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betsysSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights to attend a family wedding. This is a former convent and boarding school with beautiful grounds and even a little nuns graveyard on site! Magnificent building and you get a real wow factor when you go inside. Rooms very spacious and comfortable. The Nuns kitchen bar is lovely, really good atmosphere and we had a traditional irish music band playing. Food in the bar was gorgeous - i recommend the fish and chips and mushy peas! I agree with previous comments made about the breakfast - we got in just in time before 10 before the queues formed but i think its a case of most guests leaving it to the last half hour!! Breakfast really good though. Next day wedding was amazing - food lovely especially fillet of beef. Hotel is so big that weddings should not interfere with other guests' enjoyment - i certainly would go back. We never left in the 2 days we were there - a real retreat.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cat50NorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2008

We decided to treat ourselves & get away from it all & we are so glad we did! Having read some mixed reviews we were a little nervous but the place is really lovely. Our room wasn't ready so we got instantly upgraded - a good start! The atmosphere was relaxed but service was excellent everywhere. Check - in was friendly & quick. We ate in Turners - the room is beautiful, food very good & service top notch.

Some reviews have mentioned weddings & there was one on the day we went. Wedding guests seemed to be off in a reserved area & didn't particularly affect us - certainly no more than any other hotel we've stayed in. It was no more geared to this than some hotels we've experienced being geared to golfers, for instance.

The bar had trad music on that evening, which was a nice touch & breakfast the next day was again very good, though busy after 10am.

We will definitely be back!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank greeneyedgirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Ireland = 4 seasons in one day ... this place = 2 or 3 brides / weddings in one day...... nightmare.

This place is what it is, one big non stop Wedding machine. If your going to a wedding there with a crowd of friends and family then I suppose it is as good a place as anywhere. The grounds etc are nice for a photo and the setting isnt bad. However if your name isnt on the Wedding list then dont go in........

The so called 'fine dining' food is production line and cant be masked by the excellent service. If you like your fish cooked to the point were it could be used to resole your shoe then go ahead. The dining room is a great setting and the Harpist certainly adds a bit of atmosphere... however the quality of the food lets the place down big time.

The hotel itself is a good 3 / 4 star hotel but is clearly one which relys on the commercial business of 21st centuary Weddings. Big, bold and brash. Sorry if you had your wedding here - Im sure it was great but horses for courses, but those who arent going to an event should be warned!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Joey_The_Goat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayo
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

i have just returned from a 2 night stay at kilashee house i was attending the races at the curragh and wanted somewhere nice and comfortable to stay. the hotel itself is beautiful the grounds are stunning for a wedding. over all the stay was good except for some extremly rude staff the night porter even grunted at us, on the other hand the staff in the nuns kitchen bar were nice. but i did find a pair of mens socks in my room on arrival.
but over all my experience at kilashee was enjoyable

  • Liked — the setting was beautiful
  • Disliked — most of the staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank julia006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naas
1.5 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
568 reviews
8.3 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
538 reviews
14.5 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
17.8 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killashee - Hotel Spa Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killashee - Hotel Spa Leisure

Property: Killashee - Hotel Spa Leisure
Address: Kilcullen Road, Naas, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Naas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Killashee - Hotel Spa Leisure 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killashee House Hotel & Villa Spa, Naas, Co. Kildare is located just 30 kms from Dublin City Centre & just 2 kms outside of Naas town. Set over acres of historic & intriguing gardens, walkways & parkland, with magnificent views over the Kildare countryside. A hotel that is timeless, natural & elegant where we understand space, fun & food. From family time to fun time, meetings to events and the gym to the spa, Killashee is the ideal retreat to relax & unwind for you & yours. From the hotel's 141 beautifully appointed guestrooms to the indulgent services offered by the Country Club with a 25m swimming pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and a fully equipped gymnasium and also the beautiful Villa Spa with 18 luxurious treatment rooms, there is much to pamper you and much to experience. An oasis of calm, the Villa Spa is the ultimate in sheer relaxation and it is the aim of the Villa Spa to bring you on a journey of total well-being for body, mind & soul. We also have Zing Hair Salon onsite open from Tuesday to Saturday. The hotel boasts two restaurants; Turners Restaurant offers a fabulous fine dining experience overlooking the fountain gardens whereas Jacks Bar & Bistro offers a more casual dining experience from light snacks to extensive lunch, dinner & cocktail menus. There is also live music in Jacks Bar every Friday & Saturday night. The Snug at Killashee House Hotel is a traditional Irish Pub where you can take a step back in time surrounded by open turf fires, admire the many trinkets, antiques and memorabilia from bygone days and of course enjoy an expertly poured pint of Guinness. There are so many activities on the beautiful estate of Killashee House Hotel including the woodland walking trails. Estate Maps are available at reception or why not borrow one of our bicycles which are complimentary to all guests. Take a relaxing stroll through the magnificent Fountain Gardens, Emma's Butterfly Garden in association with DEBRA Ireland or the stunning new gated Jack & Jill Foundation Garden. Also the Off Road Driving Centre in conjunction with Dynamic Events. From basic off - road driving days to fully integrated Team Building events, incorporating full tuition, course participants have a fantastic experience behind the wheel and try conditions that seem impassable but under the eye of the expert instructor. There is also so much to do & see in Kildare and Killashee is ideally located beside numerous fantastic golf courses such as the Craddockstown, Naas Golf Club & the PGA, to name but a few. For the Shoppers, there is Naas Town which offers an abundance of chic boutiques, Kildare Village Chic Outlet Shopping just 10 minutes' drive away, Newbridge Silverware & Museum of Style Icons and the Whitewater Shopping Centre in Newbridge. For unforgettable family days out, the Irish National Stud Visitors Attraction & Japanese Gardens is a must, a picnic at the Blessington Lakes, a visit to Russborough House or Kilruddery House or Carragh Open Farm are just a few of the many fantastic places to visit during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Killashee - Hotel Spa Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killashee House Hotel & Villa Naas
Killashee House Hotel And Villa Spa
Killashee Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing