We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Killashee - Hotel Spa Leisure
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naas
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely!”
Reviewed July 20, 2008

We decided to treat ourselves & get away from it all & we are so glad we did! Having read some mixed reviews we were a little nervous but the place is really lovely. Our room wasn't ready so we got instantly upgraded - a good start! The atmosphere was relaxed but service was excellent everywhere. Check - in was friendly & quick. We ate in Turners - the room is beautiful, food very good & service top notch.

Some reviews have mentioned weddings & there was one on the day we went. Wedding guests seemed to be off in a reserved area & didn't particularly affect us - certainly no more than any other hotel we've stayed in. It was no more geared to this than some hotels we've experienced being geared to golfers, for instance.

The bar had trad music on that evening, which was a nice touch & breakfast the next day was again very good, though busy after 10am.

We will definitely be back!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank greeneyedgirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    352
    169
    99
    68
See reviews for
354
469
30
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Ireland = 4 seasons in one day ... this place = 2 or 3 brides / weddings in one day...... nightmare.

This place is what it is, one big non stop Wedding machine. If your going to a wedding there with a crowd of friends and family then I suppose it is as good a place as anywhere. The grounds etc are nice for a photo and the setting isnt bad. However if your name isnt on the Wedding list then dont go in........

The so called 'fine dining' food is production line and cant be masked by the excellent service. If you like your fish cooked to the point were it could be used to resole your shoe then go ahead. The dining room is a great setting and the Harpist certainly adds a bit of atmosphere... however the quality of the food lets the place down big time.

The hotel itself is a good 3 / 4 star hotel but is clearly one which relys on the commercial business of 21st centuary Weddings. Big, bold and brash. Sorry if you had your wedding here - Im sure it was great but horses for courses, but those who arent going to an event should be warned!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Joey_The_Goat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayo
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

i have just returned from a 2 night stay at kilashee house i was attending the races at the curragh and wanted somewhere nice and comfortable to stay. the hotel itself is beautiful the grounds are stunning for a wedding. over all the stay was good except for some extremly rude staff the night porter even grunted at us, on the other hand the staff in the nuns kitchen bar were nice. but i did find a pair of mens socks in my room on arrival.
but over all my experience at kilashee was enjoyable

  • Liked — the setting was beautiful
  • Disliked — most of the staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank julia006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilkenny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Stayed in the Killashee House Hotel for one night in June with my partner. Having read some bad reviews on trip advisor was a bit dubious about staying to be honest! However, we were pleasantly surprised. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel itself is a beautiful old boarding school which has been restored. Grounds were gorgeous. We didn't get time to use the villa spa but it looked great. Only problem is the rooms are a bit off the beaten track ie we had to take two flights of stairs and then a lift back down one floor to reach ours! We'll definitely go back and stay a little longer next time.

  • Liked — Grounds and large rooms
  • Disliked — location of rooms from lobby
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kilkennyopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2008

We stayed in Killahsee House Hotel for a wedding in April 2008.

We had stayed in this hotel a couple of years of go and its was amazing, but im afraid it has gone a little downhill since then.

The food was ok, a bit cold and the servers were sloppy and didnt seem to know what they were doing at all. Service was slow.

The wedding itself was great, but for the price of Killahsee we feel you could do better ie the K Club or Carton House.

Def not 4 star im afriad.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corksarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2008

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for the second time in april this year and I was surprised how it was disimproved.
On thesurface the hotel is lovely and the staff are great.
But the quality of food in the restaurant was terrible. i couldn't even cut my fillet steak with a knife let alone chew it. My wife had fish that was totally overcooked. For an expensive restaurant (our bill came to 160 euro) I thought it was terrible.

The room was lovely but there was no hot water in the hotel (cold showers).

Overall the one night stay we had came to 400 euro. You could do much better at carton house or even the k club fo that money.

  • Liked — the spa
  • Disliked — the food
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank family_guy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duffer33
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2008

Just back from what should have been a relaxing break at Killashee with a friend. Staff friendly, room great but relaxing....not. After a lovely dinner and a night cap we retired to our room for what we had hoped would be a relaxing sleep. Instead we lay awake listening to other guests of the hotel running up and down corridors singing and shouting. Wedding goers I believe. I would not recommend this hotel for a relaxing stay. Following morning we arrived for breakfast at 10.15 and having queued for 15 minutes to be seated we were served our very disappointing breakfast at about 11.15. I sent an email expressing my disappointment and nobody replied. I won't be back.

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Duffer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naas
1.5 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
568 reviews
8.3 mi away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
538 reviews
14.5 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
17.8 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killashee - Hotel Spa Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killashee - Hotel Spa Leisure

Property: Killashee - Hotel Spa Leisure
Address: Kilcullen Road, Naas, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Naas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Killashee - Hotel Spa Leisure 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killashee House Hotel & Villa Spa, Naas, Co. Kildare is located just 30 kms from Dublin City Centre & just 2 kms outside of Naas town. Set over acres of historic & intriguing gardens, walkways & parkland, with magnificent views over the Kildare countryside. A hotel that is timeless, natural & elegant where we understand space, fun & food. From family time to fun time, meetings to events and the gym to the spa, Killashee is the ideal retreat to relax & unwind for you & yours. From the hotel's 141 beautifully appointed guestrooms to the indulgent services offered by the Country Club with a 25m swimming pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and a fully equipped gymnasium and also the beautiful Villa Spa with 18 luxurious treatment rooms, there is much to pamper you and much to experience. An oasis of calm, the Villa Spa is the ultimate in sheer relaxation and it is the aim of the Villa Spa to bring you on a journey of total well-being for body, mind & soul. We also have Zing Hair Salon onsite open from Tuesday to Saturday. The hotel boasts two restaurants; Turners Restaurant offers a fabulous fine dining experience overlooking the fountain gardens whereas Jacks Bar & Bistro offers a more casual dining experience from light snacks to extensive lunch, dinner & cocktail menus. There is also live music in Jacks Bar every Friday & Saturday night. The Snug at Killashee House Hotel is a traditional Irish Pub where you can take a step back in time surrounded by open turf fires, admire the many trinkets, antiques and memorabilia from bygone days and of course enjoy an expertly poured pint of Guinness. There are so many activities on the beautiful estate of Killashee House Hotel including the woodland walking trails. Estate Maps are available at reception or why not borrow one of our bicycles which are complimentary to all guests. Take a relaxing stroll through the magnificent Fountain Gardens, Emma's Butterfly Garden in association with DEBRA Ireland or the stunning new gated Jack & Jill Foundation Garden. Also the Off Road Driving Centre in conjunction with Dynamic Events. From basic off - road driving days to fully integrated Team Building events, incorporating full tuition, course participants have a fantastic experience behind the wheel and try conditions that seem impassable but under the eye of the expert instructor. There is also so much to do & see in Kildare and Killashee is ideally located beside numerous fantastic golf courses such as the Craddockstown, Naas Golf Club & the PGA, to name but a few. For the Shoppers, there is Naas Town which offers an abundance of chic boutiques, Kildare Village Chic Outlet Shopping just 10 minutes' drive away, Newbridge Silverware & Museum of Style Icons and the Whitewater Shopping Centre in Newbridge. For unforgettable family days out, the Irish National Stud Visitors Attraction & Japanese Gardens is a must, a picnic at the Blessington Lakes, a visit to Russborough House or Kilruddery House or Carragh Open Farm are just a few of the many fantastic places to visit during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Killashee - Hotel Spa Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killashee House Hotel & Villa Naas
Killashee House Hotel And Villa Spa
Killashee Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing