We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended - top class”
Review of Springfield B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Celbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Springfield B&B
Ranked #2 of 4 Celbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I can honestly say this is one of the best bed and breakfast places I have ever stayed at. I stayed with work over 2 nights and it was fantastic. The hostess (Libby) is very warm and welcoming and made us feel very much at home. The house is gorgeous and is near Dublin. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and the cakes too (couldn't stop eating them!). The rooms were spacious and very clean. I would highly recommend this B&B to others!! Brilliant hostess, brilliant atmosphere and a gorgeous breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martaSE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 181 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was the last Irish B&B that we stayed in after three weeks in Ireland. It was a chance selection. A very large Irish country house filled with antiques and hosted by a very interesting Irish-American lady, Libby. Not only did she provide a superb environment and breakfast, she also engaged my wife in a wide-ranging discussion on the meaning of life. A very pleasant and friendly overnight stay.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Hutchoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for 2 nights for my birthday to get away from the hustle and bustle of London. What an absolute diamond of a place! The house itself is a stunning country manor, steeped in history and beautiful artefacts. The hospitality is second to none, I have travelled all over the world and never experienced such warmth, comfort and laughter! Libby is certainly the hostess with the mostess; she even bought me a bunch of roses, a birthday card and a bottle of champagne to our room. The room itself was beyond amazing! A crackling and roaring open log fire, a massive king size bed, piping hot water in the bath and gorgeous paintings, cushions and ornaments. There is a flat screen on the wall and a massive dvd library to choose a movie for a cosy night in. We had plans to get out and see Dublin, yet once we reached Springfield B&B, we wanted nothing more than to cosy up in this beautiful house filled with equally wonderful people. The breakfast is absolutely yummy; fruits, pancakes, eggs, sausages and bacon. There's lots of healthy options such as coconut oil or almond milk, what amazing attention to detail! Des is Libbys partner, a wonderful and gentle healer who is healing many of all sorts of ailments. It was very moving to hear of all the healing work that is happening here.We are already planning our next trip back, it certainly feels like our second home! Can't wait to see you all again! V & J xxx

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning! Pick any, you will love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VJSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I could not speak highly enough about this B&B. My wife and I stayed here and were made to feel as if it was our house. The owner is very friendly and attentive and our room was gorgeous. The house itself is beautiful and is ideally located close to Dublin

Room Tip: The Room with the Spiral Staircase was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed in Springfield on 13th December 2012. What a beautiful house with open coal fires througout house. Our bedroom was magnificent with open fire and king size bed. Had tea and cake delivered to our room by Libby (what a lovely host)
Breakfast delicious with selection of fruit, pancakes as well as cooked breakfast, home made breads etc. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lowpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Hi
just home from staying a night in Springfield and we could not have been treated better. The house itself is stunning and within it is steeped in history and wonderful art and horse related paraphernalia and beautiful furniture. We were made to feel at home and part of the family and nothing seemed to much trouble. Our two boys who helped Libby make breakfast and pancakes in the kitchen had a wonderful time. What a gorgeous house and such wonderful people, and our room and stay was exceptional. We will be back. thank you.

Room Tip: we stayed in the spiral staircase, it over looks the front lawns and feels very private. i recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

A group of seven Americans finished a wonderful trip to several locations in Europe at the Springfield Bed and Breakfast in Celbridge. From the first moment of arrival through the private gate entrance, the group realized this was an ideal spot to spend the last few days of a three-week journey. Each guest room was luxurious, spotlessly clean, and equipped with all amenities including en suite bathroom. Libby was the ideal hostess and served an absolutely delicious breakfast complete with pancakes, sausage, bacon, eggs made your way, and other homemade treats. If transportation is needed, there is a bus stop right at the gate! Just minutes from the town center of Dublin, the traveler has easy access to the vibrant Irish city. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast. It was an absolutely wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Any room would be a delight in which to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindasinkentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Springfield B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield B&B

Address: Celbridge, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Celbridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Celbridge
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springfield B&B is located in Celbridge, Co. Kildare and offers luxurious accommodation and a wonderful breakfast at a reasonable price! Beautiful country manor house dated from 1763, restored to its elegance by the late Morgan Sheehy and turned into a luxury bed & breakfast which is operated by his wife Libby and their children. Only 12 miles from Dublin and 18 miles from Dublin Airport, easy access by public or private transport. This haven of Georgian tranquility begins once you enter the private gates onto the 12 acres. Bedrooms with en suites have large flat screen TVs, DVD players, and are available for booking. This includes a full cooked breakfast or discounted rates for self-catering. Free Wi-Fi, 1/2 mile track for walking or jogging. "Let us remind you just how special you are! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing