We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 Athy B&B and Inns
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful stay”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

stayed at Ballindrum Farm and i must say it was one of the highlights of our trip to Ireland! Mary greeted us with tea and scones upon our arrival...the farm was a lovely and peaceful spot..Breakfast was delicious and served in a lovely dining area..but the best part was having Joseph sing "The Old Bog Road" for us.. he really does have the voice of an angel...you can buy his CD and he donates the money to a charity..Thank you Joseph and Mary for an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilMary53, Owner at Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Bernadette,
Thank you for your lovely comments. I am so pleased that Joseph was here to sing for you and gave you that special memory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

It's all been said before, this is an excellent B&B, nice rural situation, but easy access to a good road system.

Excellent breakfast and big thanks to Vincent for helping with the toll payment on Dublin's motorway - yes@ they deducted 3.10Eu from my Visa a/c - but better to be safe that sorry.

Athy is a small town, some interesting things to see but best of all I liked Patrick Dunne's pub - just like pubs were in GB until they were ruined - it has an 'offie' - several bars a men's snug (used to be called a smoke room) a function room, games room and a great landlord - and an annual conker contest - no H&S here!.

At Ballindrum Farm we spent our last night in Ireland after a 1700 mile round tour - easy access to the ferry home and a wise choice, we left it and Ireland with happy memories.

Thanks.

MJG123.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I was advised by a friend to not plan on traveling a great distance on my first day in Ireland. Ballindrum farm is within an hours drive of Dublin Airport. The countryside is just what I imagined Ireland would be, green , beautiful. Mary was friendly, and welcoming when we arrived very early. Our room was clean so we were allowed to check in early. We stayed in a family room. Very clean. The B&B Is an actual dairy farm. The breakfast was wonderful. Really, why would I stay in an hotel , when I could stay in someones home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigukfan500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilMary53, Owner at Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for our first review of the 2013 season, we hope you had a wonderful visit to Ireland. We are very popular with first night stays due to our proximity to Dublin. Tell your friends the easiest way to find us is stay on the M9 until exit 3, take N78 for Athy , we are the 3rd. right turn L8017. Best wishes, Mary and Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a gorgeous location. Mary and Vincent took excellent care of us and went beyond expectations. We were too tired to go into town for dinner so they fed us as if we were family. This is the perfect respite. The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable and we were made to feel welcome and safe.

We spend much of our time walking around the grounds and admiring the views. We also loved sitting in the conservatory drinking tea and eating excellent biscuits and chatting with Mary. Just lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendeWylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Incredible place. Set in the heart of Irish countryside, this little gem of a B&B is perfect. Nice comfy rooms, clean and practical attached bathrooms.
The welcoming feeling was a real pleasure. Chatted with the owner at our arrival, he was back from taking care of the cows!
Lovely breakfast in the morning, eggs straight from the farm.
This is exactly what you expect from an Irish B&B in your most fairytale-like dreams
An absolute must.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchdudeinireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilMary53, Owner at Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Guests as we finish our 2012 season your comments were very much appreciated. We open again March 1st. to share the delights of Spring on Ballindrum Farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Mary & Vincent were excellent hosts and Mary greeted us with warm scones & tea. We really enjoyed their Dairy farm and the musical talents od their son Joseph. He treateed us to some song and dance and he played the tin whistle for us. We were lucky because he was home feom school on a holiday. We accidently left some medications and Mary called ahead to National Stud Farm and notified them so we could return and get our meds. Mary and Vincent are very knowledge about the are and were very helpful with directions. The Breakfast was wonderful and the rooms were very nice including toiletress and bottled water. The gormans made us feel as if we were part of their family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Most of you won't be as lucky but we were treated to a concert with our breakfast when Mary and Vincent shared a CD of their 13 year old son, Joseph. Joseph has the voice of an angel and we were fortunate to be able to hear him in person the next day when he was home on a bank holiday. Mary and Vincent Gorman made us all feel as if we were old friends.Their delightful home is so clean and graciously appointed, one might want to stay with them for the entire vacation. The dining room has fresh flowers on the table, napkins folded like lotus flowers and a delicious breakfast is served, with fresh fruit and scrumptious scones. Our favorite was smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Ballindrum Farm is charming from the tree over-arched lane to to the calves gambling in the field outside your window. Mary even called to say we had left things behind. We were happy we had an excuse to go back to Ballindrum Farm even though Mary had offered bring our belongings to us. We sincerely hope we have to opportunity to visit again!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room at Ballindrum Farm. I was on crutches and was even allowed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabinojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for the beautiful review. The concert in the conservatory is a special memory for us. Say hello to all your travelling companions .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athy
3.3 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
16.8 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
14.8 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
1.8 mi away
Moate Lodge
Moate Lodge
#2 of 10 in Athy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ash House Bed and Breakfast
Ash House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Calverstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: Ballindrum, Athy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Athy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Athy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballindrum Farm is a working dairy farm, set in an area of rural beauty in south CO. Kildare. One hour from Dublin. Every room has a spectacular view of grassland,hedgerows and mature deciduous trees.Guests are welcome to walk the farm. Breakfast is a feast served from 6am to 10am. Coach tours are welcome by appointment for tea and homemade scones and jam. To find us stay on the M9 until exit 3, take N78 direction Athy, we are the 3rd. right turn L8017, Drive 1.5km. Ballindrum Farm is on the left, drive down the avenue to the farmhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing