We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“santa sleepover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clanard Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The whole experience was awful. The rooms weren't ready until 4pm. the pillows were like iron, bed was not what we booked the TV was broken, the safe was broken, only towels for 2 in a three bed room, food was cold. Santa was a disgrace - he barely said 2 words to our daughter, she missed the "dinner " with the elves as were were told to eat in the bar - information was very poor. They are obviously stuffing in as many as they can and it was the most disappointing experience ever. The attitude of the reception staff on checkout was unprofessional and they couldn't care less. - Don't waste your money - don't go.

Room Tip: WE has booked a King size bed and did not get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerilie, Public Relations Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear marian t,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Clanard Court Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I'm very disappointed to hear that your Santa's Magical Trail experience was not a magical one. I have spoken with the Duty Manager who processed your check out and would like to clarify a few points with you.

I apologise that you did not get a 6ft bed, however, we only have 6ft beds in our rooms that are a Deluxe Double room. Because you had your child travelling with you, we had to allocate a room that contained a double and a single bed, which meant the double bed was a 5ft one. Unfortunately, there is nothing we could do about this.

Again, I apologise for the issues with the TV, Safe and towels in your room. These are problems that are easily solved and had you alerted us to these after you had been in your room, our Duty Manager would have had these rectified for you by the time you returned from your trail.

A week prior to your arrival, our reception team phoned you to reserve a time for your dinner with the elves. This was also noted to you on check-in and was included in your child's welcome letter in the room. I can't explain how you ended up dining in the bar - there must have been some confusion. Furthermore, had you alerted your waiter that the food was cold, we would have replaced your meals immediately as this is not satisfactory to us.

Suzanne, one of our long term Duty Managers, processed your checkout and asked you about your stay. She was concerned about your experience and immediately brought it to the General Manager's attention after you had referred her to your comment card and left the Hotel.

I can't apologise more for the issues encountered during your stay. We are a small, family-run Hotel with only 37 guest rooms, so we definitely aren't 'stuffing in as many as (we) can'. We have had families coming back to us year after year following their great experiences with Santa's Magical Trail and all of the Staff here strive to make the experience a very magical one for all the kids and their families. I hope that your child enjoyed the experience - as that is the most important thing.

Regards

Nerilie Watson
PR & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 598 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

Myself & my husband returned to the hotel to celebrate our anniversary on 19th December.
We stayed in the Ard Ri suite. This is the bridal suite and it is fabulous. The bed is so comfortable. The room is so tastefully decorated. The shower in the bathroom is heavenly. We had a good nights sleep.
We had a meal in the restaurant and I can honestly say the food was delicious. All the times I've eaten in this hotel I have never had a bad meal.
Breakfast again was delicious. It was a hearty meal & set you up for the day.
I had a facial in the Revive Treatment Room. The beautiful Emma did a fantastic facial on me. It was heavenly. Emma has the hands of an angel.
The staff at this hotel are amazing. They are very efficient & friendly & always on hand to be of assistance.
I would recommend this hotel for any occasion or even just to relax and dine in.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudymcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerilie, Public Relations Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Trudymcd,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Clanard Court Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your first anniversary stay with us - and congratulations! We loved having your Wedding celebrations with us, so it was great to welcome you back for your anniversary.

Our Head Chef and his team strive to produce superb food showcasing the best of local produce, so it's great to hear that you have experienced this time and time again.

Emma, our beautician, truly has magic hands and makes you feel so relaxed from the moment you step into Revive.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again soon.

Regards

Nerilie Watson
PR & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Have lunch here with my partner. Very nice entrance to the hotel. Small but nice bar area although I think there is a second part to the bar that opens up if busy. Soup panini and chips for €11. Not to bad at all. Food good quality and good value. Only down side was the girl behind the bar was not friendly at all. Waiter was very friendly. Will return again but a smile and please and thanks from the bar staff isn't a lot to ask

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerilie, Public Relations Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Glenn B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Clanard Court Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us - and yes, during the day, when we get busy we can extend into our Brasserie for extra dining space.

I'm sorry to hear that you didn't feel all of our staff were friendly and will address this with our team. As a small family owned and operated business, we pride ourselves on delivering a very personal service offering and this shines through in the way our staff treat our customers.

I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel again soon - next time you should try the daily lunch specials for €10!

Regards

Nerilie Watson
PR & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We booked the Santa sleepover for sat 30th November. From the moment we arrived on the Saturday it was brilliant, staff were really welcoming and friendly and so attentive to the kids. The elves workshop was at 5 o'clock and from then the kids had something to do, Santa came in to the marquee to say hello, there was carol singing, choc Lollies, dinner served by the elves, then kids movie and games until 11pm. This was all before our Santa trail which was on the Sunday. We will definitely be booking for next year!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillianClifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerilie, Public Relations Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear GillianClifford,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Clanard Court Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us for Santa's Magical Trail. Our team make a big effort to create a truly magical experience for all the families who stay with us on Santa's Sleepover, so it's great to hear that you loved everything about your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Nerilie Watson

PR & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We got married in the Clanard Court in October of this year and we can't sing its praises highly enough!

From planning all the details with the wedding co-ordinators Claire and Nicola, to the running of the day with managers Liam and Adam, and of course all the courteous and attentive staff, we were blown away by how smoothly the day went which meant we could completely relax and enjoy the day with our guests.

Our guests loved the grounds (including the lovely alpacas and goats!) and how family friendly the hotel was. Some of our guests availed of the babysitting service and spoke of how wonderful they were with their children. The staff were not afraid to get hands on but everything was run so smoothly that you didn't notice them working away in the background.

The food was divine, and we're so glad we listened to Chef Mark's recommendation for the pork as it went down a storm!

When it came to adding our own extras to the day they were more than happy to look after us and let us make our own mark on the venue, which made our wedding day even more personal to us.

The band, DJ, photographer and videographers were all pleased with how the Clanard Court Hotel looked after them and ensured that anything they needed was looked after.

The Bridal Suite was beautifully decorated, elegant and spacious. Not only that, but all our guests commented on how spacious and comfortable their rooms were.

From the moment we set foot in the door, to the moment we left as husband and wife, our experience with the Clanard Court Hotel has been phenomenal. An absolute gem!

Seán and Lisa :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisiRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerilie, Public Relations Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear LisiRee,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor - and more importantly, congratulations on your Wedding! I hope you're enjoying life as newly weds.

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Wedding celebrations with us. Our Wedding & Events team strive to ensure that everything is just as you had dreamed it would be on your special day, whilst also taking some of stress out of all the planning that goes into your Wedding!

I will pass on your kind comments to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you both back for your first anniversary stay - if not before!

Regards

Nerilie Watson
PR & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We regularly stop at the Clanard Court for a meal when passing through Athy. Over the years we have taken visiting family and friends there and our experience has always been a positive one.
However , last Sunday we were served such an unappetising meal that we resolved never to go there again.
The chicken curry did not have a hint of curry in it. It was as if some type of white sauce had been poured over the cooked chicken. This was served with rice and chips. The chips could only be described as match stick size and were saturated in fat. Chips were also served with lasagne to my guest and were of equally low standard. It reminded us of something one could expect from some cheap café. Whatever happened to the lovely chunky chips that were always served there?
We complained and were asked if we would like to order something else. We declined as we were in a hurry and were not prepared to wait.
This was a very disappointing experience for us and was very bad value for the money we paid.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerilie, Public Relations Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Mary S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Clanard Court Hotel on TripAdvisor - and thank you for your loyal custom over the years.

I'm disappointed to hear that your dining experience with us on Sunday was not up to our usual standard. From speaking with the Manager that was on duty, I believe the dish you ordered was a Thai Green Curry from our Bar Menu, which is a different style of curry than the traditional chicken curry. I'm sorry if this caused any confusion as obviously this style of curry is not to your liking.

Regarding the chips, we still offer our hand-cut chunky chips with certain menu items or as a side dish. The shoestring fries were introduced earlier this year as they were a higher quality to our previous chips. If you do not like shoestring fries, you are more than welcome to request our chunky chips instead.

As you mentioned in your review, your waiter offered for you to order something different from our menu, which you declined. Our Duty Manager, Geraldine, also listened to your comments before you left and spoke with our Head Chef and chef on duty to pass on your feedback. We thank you for providing your comments as this is critical in helping us to continually improve our service and food offering.

I do hope that you will give us a chance to show you the true Clanard Court hospitality again - as you know from your previous experiences that we offer great food and great Irish hospitality.

Regards

Nerilie Watson
PR & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was our first trip to Ireland; our daughter was getting married at DeBurgh Manor (Burt House) in Athy. After a long day of sightseeing, my eldest daughter, sister-in-law, and I decided to find somewhere to have a meal, to relax and unwind. I had heard good about the salmon at Clanard Court Hotel in Athy, and since they were still serving, that is where we went.

Luck was with us; we had a wonderful meal- my salmon was delicious, as was my sister-in-law's fish & chips, my daughter's onion/leek soup. Our server Adam was very attentive. We girls a perfect evening together, could not have had a nicer time.

We returned two night's later, brought the entire wedding party for the rehearsal dinner, and everyone truly enjoyed a splendid evening. You cannot go wrong with a meal at Clanard Court!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerilie, Public Relations Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Carol R,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your dining experience at the Clanard Court Hotel.

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us on both occasions - we truly make it our business to offer great food and a great atmosphere for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again soon.

Regards

Nerilie Watson
PR & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athy
17.8 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
13.3 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
577 reviews
19.7 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Osprey Hotel
Osprey Hotel
#2 of 5 in Naas
1,216 reviews
11.1 mi away
Kildare House Hotel
Kildare House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kildare
227 reviews
23.6 mi away
Maudlins House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clanard Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clanard Court Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Athy, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Athy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athy
Price Range: $87 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clanard Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clanard Court Hotel combines a modern and homely design in a luxury family-run hotel setting with a uniquely refreshing and very personal experience.Set just 1km from the heritage town of Athy and surrounded by the jewels of the equine county of Kildare, the charms of the midlands and the bustle of Kilkenny, Carlow, Portlaoise and Dublin are never far away.The Hotel offers superb dining options with Bailey's Bar & Brasserie with music in the Bar every Saturday night. You can also relax and unwind in the Hotel's very own Revive Treatment Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clanard Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clanard Court Athy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing