We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality, lovely stay”
Review of Moate Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moate Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Athy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Mary and Raymond are great hosts. This working farm was a pleasant break from the friendly dog to the fabulous morning breakfast. The property is lovely and there are plenty of walks about. Athy is nearby and is known for its canals and had quite a lively crowd of visitors for the size of the town. Ensuite bathroom was great and rooms were comfortable. A nice taste of rural Ireland and Irish hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigskymj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 120 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

Had left organizing accommodation for TryAthy until very late, but lucked out with finding a bed at this beautiful, charming house, tucked away in one of the most gorgeous parts of the country. "Far from the maddening Crowd" was the phrase that struck me most. The hosts, Mary and Raymond, and one of their daughters, whose name I didnt get were really warm and very friendly. The wonderful quiet of the surrounding countryside made me feel as though time was standing still if only for a few hours. My room was very comfortable, I slept like a log, had a lovely shower in the morning and breakfast was perfect, thank you for everything,

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappySkiersCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Mary and Raymond from Moate Lodge were the most pleasant people we have met. I rang Mary from Australia to book and was looking forward to meeting her and not disappointed. Raymond and Mary are fabulous people. Fantastic old home and farm. Mary offered and drove us to the races which were 30 mins away, how good was that! Great rooms great breakfast and hospitality. We will stay at the Moate Lodge next time we return. Will recommend this as a great place to stay to any traveller. GRAND!
From Mark and Lee


We found the hospitality at Moate Lodge fantastic. Upon our arrival Mary took us inside and made us a cup of tea and cake and then drove us to the Curragh races which was a thirty minute drive for her and it was no trouble to her at all. The next morning we had a lovely country breakfast and then Ray took us on a tour around the farm. We would recommend the Moët to anyone travelling in Ireland and will certainly recommend it to our friends back home. Our stay was GRAND
Doug & Lee

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Mary and Raymond welcomed us warmfully during 4 days.
They cooked for us irish traditional dishes like Irish stew (delicious)
They're very kind and they adviced us on what to see in the Kildare county.
The B&B is charming and seems to be traped in time.
It was perfect to forget city stress

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fedaykin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I almost feel bad writing this because the owners are quite nice but the standard of accommodation in the self catering cottages is truly awful. The ONLY redeeming factor is the sheets were clean, we could smell the fabric softener! The cottage was very cold. The kitchen sink was full of water when we checked in even though there was no plug in the plug hole, it was just blocked, so we couldn't use it. There was no kettle. We had to put the immersion on for hot water, that's ok, but when we opened the press to put on the immersion, we got the most awful smell, which was probably coming from the big black sack which was full of God only knows what, that had been left in the end of the press. The towels provided were small, really old, grey and threadbare. The two single beds in one of the bedrooms were so close buy we could barely fit down the middle of them and they were covered by these awful really old musty flowery type covers. We slept in our clothes! And no need for an alarm clock, the resident peacock will parade up and down outside your window from 6am onwards. If that doesn't do the trick then the owners beautiful dog will belt himself off your door every five minutes. The bathrooms were clean but my God you'd want to be twiggy to fit in the showers they were so tiny. The breakfast in the main house was nothing more than average, the fresh orange juice was lovely pity the glass was the size of the egg cup. The poached egg had been microwaved and tasted so rubbery! The best part of the breakfast was the lovely fresh scone we got at the end. The cottage cost us €90 euro, that was for three of us and even though it included breakfast it was barely worth half that.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMMM71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepelins, Owner at Moate Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

It was with great disappointment that I read your review. With regards to the issues you mentioned, the sink does have a plug, unfortunately however the water in the sink was a mistake on my behalf it was being sterilised and I forgot to release the water. The size of the ensuites were built to failte Ireland standards. It was the first complaint we have had about our lovable dog Stevie, we do not have a peacock and the eggs that you had for breakfast are free range from our own hens and were cooked on the Aga cooker. Our guests are of paramount importance to us and we like to think that no one leaves our table dissatisfied, it is unfortunate that you did not make us aware of the problems personally as we would have done our utmost to make your stay more enjoyable.
Best wishes to you both for the summer
Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is the chance to stay at a genuine 18th century family home! The house belongs to the Pelin family and they have lived here for generations. They run the farm, there are also holiday cottages attached and they serve bed and breakfast in their home. The furniture is in keeping with the house (thank goodness) so everything looks completely in place in the bedroom and the communal areas - except for the trappings of the 21st Century (en suite and televisions etc...). There is nothing but fields and sky to be seen from the window as the house sits back off the road. It is a completely peaceful and warm experience, and the busy towns of Athy, Carlow and Newbridge (famous for its silverware) are not too far away for shopping and entertainment.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinamurhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Raymond and Mary Pelin greeted us and treated us like honored guests. The room was clean, comfortable and cozy. When we arrived, Mary escorted us into her charming parlor and we enjoyed delicious scones, jam and tea in front of a lovely fire along with delightful conversation with Mary. Our bedroom was spacious, clean and comfortable. Moate Lodge is rural but not so far from the town of Athy. In addition, Moate Lodge is near enough to The Irish National Stud Farm and Japanese Gardens, which you should not miss! Breakfast was wonderful. Mary and Raymond offer a variety of hearty food including the traditional Irish breakfast, porridge, scones, brown bread, etc. all seved in a cheerful, sunny breakfast room. The Pelins treated us like family and we look forward to visiting Moate Lodge again.

Room Tip: All the bedrooms are up a flight of stairs. Good to know if you may have difficulty with climbing s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryb5810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athy
2.3 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
11.0 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
567 reviews
17.4 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast
4.2 mi away
Dollardstown House
Dollardstown House
#1 of 10 in Athy
178 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aurora House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moate Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moate Lodge

Address: Moate Lodge Moate Lodge Moate Lodge Off the R418 at the Norman Moate, Athy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Athy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Athy
Price Range: $86 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Moate Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing