We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roaming dogs problem” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forest Farm Kildare

Forest Farm Kildare
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Athy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Farm Kildare
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Athy
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Roaming dogs problem”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We go camping to spend some time with our dogs. This place is not at all suitable because they have a serious roaming dog problem. 3 of the neighbours dogs hang around the site begging for food and rooting in bins if left unattended for any length of time. Despite management picking them up and dropping them home, they are never gone for any more than a few mins. They try to get into the tents and this obviously makes it very difficult for people to relax with their own pets. This goes on all night and we have been woken by these dogs during the night both times we've visited this site. There is also an elderly dog who seems to live under one of the caravans, and then the very sweet house dog, Billy. We've been there twice, and both times had to make the trek home to drop our own dogs back due to the roaming dogs on site.

We also received an awful welcome from the self appointed site police woman, an elderly woman who informed us she lives in her caravan there. She came down to complain about us speeding around in a silver car (our car is not silver), she then started questioning us about how we care for our dogs in a very condescending and insulting way. She mentioned us cleaning up our rubbish, despite us having 2 bins there, one for recyclables and one for general waste and cleaning up after the dogs, despite the dogs being secured, with one of us at all times to facilitate cleaning and despite the other 5 dogs roaming about the site. It was very off putting and we felt very unwelcome in the place after our conversation with her.

The people who run the site are all lovely, it's quiet and clean enough. There is not a whole lot to do unless you're going to go driving. It could be a lovely place if management could sort the problem of the dogs and the lady who polices the site. Until then we can't return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

I stayed on the camp site with my husband and three young children. The man that welcomed us at reception was very friendly and chatted with us about things to do in the locality. The price was the lowest that we have paid for camping anywhere in Ireland. We were told that we could pitch our tent anywhere in the large camping field. The facilities were clean and had everything that we needed. There was a group of scouts camping at the same time so it was great that there were other people around. I would recommend this campsite highly for families. Lots to do in the area also.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Showers smell and dirty

Very poor cleaning

But it is a lovely place and would be great for kids if using your own bathroom in caravan,

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ciara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

I stayed in one of the self-catering apartments for three nights with my Dad and my sister. The apartment smelt as if it had not been properly cleaned or aired for a very long time. The dishes in the cupboard were dirty, facilities were basic (e.g. there was no bottle opener or cork screw), it seemed as if the owners had simply left it up to the individual visitors to clean up after themselves, so the bigger cleaning jobs like cleaning the cooker out and mopping the floors didn't seem to have been done. There were also dirty clothes in one of the cupboards in the bedrooms and lots of cobwebs. The heating is controlled from the main house and as it was a little chilly I asked if we could have it on in the evenings - the owner didn't complain but did seem reluctant. I only really spoke to the owners when we arrived, when I asked about the heating and when we left I didn't find them particularly warm or friendly although they were helpful when I asked about places to eat nearby when we checked in. Location wise it's very close to the Irish National Stud - which is why I chose to stay here. The camp site is huge and there are a lot of self-catering apartments however it's very quiet and you need your own transport to get to and from the farm as it's a couple of miles from the nearest town. I would neither stay again nor recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnvisits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

We stayed here in Sept 09 in two of the apartments. They are huge - the website doesn’t do them justice. Had lovely breakfast each morning in the B&B. Grounds are beautiful. Lovely caravan park there too. Would definitely recommend it here!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murp71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2008

We got there early enough. Tried to book in but there was no-body on reception and no-one answered the bell. We went into town (Athy) for a while and came back. This time there was people there.
After getting booked in we were then directed to a very large area to pitch our tent. All the room in the world. After getting the tent up - we checked out the facilities. They were absolutly brilliant. The toilets and showers were spotless and the 'nicest bogs I have every seen on a camsite'. There was a common room for people to get together (if there were any) which was quite comfortable (large comfy seats and such). There was a kitchen but you needed tokens to use the cooking facilities (luckily we brought our own anyway) but it was a good clean place to wash up.
The only bad thing about this site was that there was only one other couple (two women) camping. There were a few dotted caravans but people were not about. The place was so quiet you could hear a pin drop on the grass. Apart from that - we had a great time.
If you need anything - Athy town is just a 5 minute drive away and they have everything there (large supermarkets and takeaway food).
Grat place for a stop-over or a quiet visit.

  • Liked — Great for the Quiet Life
  • Disliked — Too Quiet
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belfastlady06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athy hotels
0.6 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
2.9 mi away
Moate Lodge
Moate Lodge
#2 of 10 in Athy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aurora House Bed and Breakfast
2.9 mi away
Dollardstown House
Dollardstown House
#1 of 10 in Athy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Farm Kildare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Farm Kildare

Property: Forest Farm Kildare
Address: Dublin Road, Athy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Athy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Athy
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing