We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hospitality along the Kerry Way!”
Review of Blackstones House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blackstones House
Ranked #1 of 4 Glencar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Best Hospitality along the Kerry Way!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I walked the Kerry Way, Blackstones House was our second stop along the trail. We had walked 17 miles from Black Valley and were exhausted. We hadn't known that the B&B was so far from Glencar but the hospitality we enjoyed made the extra miles on the trail worth it! Breda welcomed us with open arms and prepared us an amazing steak dinner. Because we were on foot, we weren't keen on walking into the town of Glencar and since an evening meal is an option we were happy to take it! Our room was cozy with an incredible view overlooking the river with mountains in the background! This was our favorite B&B out of the 8 we would stay in in County Kerry. I would've loved to have stayed for longer than one night.
For more on our 8 day, 108 mile hike along the Kerry Way please feel free to visit our travel blog at www.bobbyandmaura.com

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markohiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Absolutely beautiful setting. Small but cozy and warm room overlooking raging river. Breda was delightful and kind. Breakfast delicious. The scene in the picture below is from a somewhat different vantage point from the room window view, on the Blackstones Bridge. Blackstones House is a bit of a challenge to get to, but th end result is well worth the effort.

Room Tip: Don't miss Rumours Bistro in Glenbeigh for supper or lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This past Sunday I returned from my vacation in Ireland, and one my fondest memories is now having stayed at Blackstones House, thanks to the wonderful hosts Patrick & Breda and Scruffy, their curious Jack Russell terrier. If you love idyllic scenery, cozy rooms and fine amenities, hearty homemade breakfasts, kind company, peaceful sleep, and dogs, you must stay at Blackstones House! As soon as I and my friends arrived in the driveway, Scruffy came to greet us at our car, led us up the front steps, and scratched at the door to let the hosts know we had arrived. Scruffy even showed us to our bedroom and led us on a leisurely tour around the river. He seemed to know what he was doing (until he led us into a muddy thicket - but that was all part of the adventure...). Upon arrival, Patrick immediately made us fresh coffee and served us homemade muffins by the cozy fireplace, which my friends, Scruffy, and I all really enjoyed later in the evening as we read books by the warmth. I will remember gladly the great conversation I had with Breda about the future experiences of children and how technology is changing childhood; she and Patrick don't treat you as customers but as friends. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom had a great shower, and we were never cold--unlike other places we stayed at. The traditional Irish breakfast they cooked for us was exceptional, and not one of us had any complaints about our stay. Patrick, Breda & Scruffy truly make this place unique from all other B&Bs, and if I lived in Ireland, I would visit them all of the time. I cannot say enough good things about this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed in this area and it was superb location. Scenery was the high point. Hosts were delightful and the rooms was large. Pressure shower was a big surprise. View out the dining area included a stream and mountains. Could not have been any more quiet. Great location for the ring of Kerry area. Would stay there again. Nice, BIG bed was a real treat for BandB in Ireland.

Room Tip: If you go in the off season, plan to take food for dinner, or you will have to drive to a place to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twoscratchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2012

So glad to have found this place. Met by Breda and Pádraig (and Scruffy the dog) and immediately felt at home. Tea and coffee with homemade cake was served in a homely living room- a very welcome treat after such a long journey! We were shown to a beautifully spacious bedroom looking right out onto the river. We were delighted to discover that dinner was also available- normally on request- and had beautiful starter of mussels, followed by a steak dinner (locally sourced meat). Ideal location for climbing Carrantuohil. Really homely atmosphere and will definitely return someday soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Were utterly amazed at the picturesque beauty of this spot. It really is a hidden gem. Breda and Patrick were away when we arrived, but the ladies who were there were very helpful and friendly. When Breda and Patrick came back they were the perfect hosts. Patrick was very helpful with the serving of Whiskey!!!!!!! We wished we had booked for longer. The rooms were spacious, luxurious and the views spectacular!! Breakfast was delicious and an abundance of! Just a fantastic place to relax after a day out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Lovely accommodation with excellent service. Breada's home made brown bread is superb. Scenery ....absolutely out of this world...a little bit of heaven. So peaceful and beautiful.

Room Tip: I can only comment on the room I used, which was a family style one with two single beds and one dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret49_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencar
0.0 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,960 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stepping Stone Bed and Breakfast with Cooky Monsters cafe
0.0 mi away
Kingdom View B&B
Kingdom View B&B
#3 of 4 in Glencar
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackstones House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstones House

Property: Blackstones House
Address: Glencar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Glencar
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Glencar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackstones House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blackstones House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing