We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home!”
Review of Blackstones House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blackstones House
Ranked #1 of 4 Glencar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

So glad to have found this place. Met by Breda and Pádraig (and Scruffy the dog) and immediately felt at home. Tea and coffee with homemade cake was served in a homely living room- a very welcome treat after such a long journey! We were shown to a beautifully spacious bedroom looking right out onto the river. We were delighted to discover that dinner was also available- normally on request- and had beautiful starter of mussels, followed by a steak dinner (locally sourced meat). Ideal location for climbing Carrantuohil. Really homely atmosphere and will definitely return someday soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Blackstones House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 70 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

Were utterly amazed at the picturesque beauty of this spot. It really is a hidden gem. Breda and Patrick were away when we arrived, but the ladies who were there were very helpful and friendly. When Breda and Patrick came back they were the perfect hosts. Patrick was very helpful with the serving of Whiskey!!!!!!! We wished we had booked for longer. The rooms were spacious, luxurious and the views spectacular!! Breakfast was delicious and an abundance of! Just a fantastic place to relax after a day out.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Lovely accommodation with excellent service. Breada's home made brown bread is superb. Scenery ....absolutely out of this world...a little bit of heaven. So peaceful and beautiful.

Room Tip: I can only comment on the room I used, which was a family style one with two single beds and one dou...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret49_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

If your travelling the ring of kerry and want to find some of the best places off the beaten tourist track then Blackstones is for you. The main selling point for me is the area. It's right next to the river and glencar has some of the best walks in Kerry in my opinion. It's a little tricky to find and not the best signposted area, check it on google maps and ask some locals in glencar village is you need help! If anyone is familar with the Glencar Cattle show it's right beside when this annual festival is held.
Host are very accommodating and knowledge about the area and gave me a history lesson which I enjoyed! I was travelling with my kids (5 and 3) and they loved the space and walkways. There a small harbour two mins walk away where they can arrange fishing trips etc...
As there are no restaurants in the area, evening meals are provided at Blackstones and very good! Rooms we were in have great views of the river.
If your tired of the main tourist spots killarney, dingle etc.... and want peace quiet and a place where you wont see bus loads of coach tours pulling in then try glencar. Given you can walk from Blackstones as it right on a river, this wins it for be as the best of the accom in the area.

Room Tip: I guessing most rooms view the river but just ask to be sure.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancoMcDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Magical, beautiful, Perfect , great cooking
Breda and Patrick absolute gems
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holloway J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I'm nearly afraid to give a review of this B&B as I don't want to let the secret out! The location and setting is magical. I fell in love with Kerry here and will come back every year as long as I can. Breda is the perfect host and cannot do enough for her guests. It's a warm friendly atmosphere and the backdrop of the 'Reek's' is legendary. The house sit on the river and there is great fishing and lovely long walks along it and also along the Kerry way.

The first time trying to find the house was an adventure but we are used to it by now. It's a 10min drive from the start of Carrauntoohil walk and a mile or two walk from a real local pub. It's about a 30min drive from Killorgan.

If your looking for a quiet escape from the hustle and bustle of modern life then this is the place for you. Magic!

Room Tip: Just ask for a large room and it shouldn't be a problem.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Argonautica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I stayed for the week and really enjoyed the homely welcome and excellent food. I thoroughly recommend Blackstones House and plan to return some time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHILIP052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencar
0.0 mi away
Towers Hotel
Towers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glenbeigh
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stepping Stone Bed and Breakfast with Cooky Monsters cafe
0.0 mi away
The Sleepy Camel
The Sleepy Camel
#2 of 5 in Glenbeigh
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kingdom View B&B
Kingdom View B&B
#3 of 4 in Glencar
25 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Blackstones House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstones House

Address: Glencar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Glencar
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Glencar
Price Range: $111 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackstones House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Blackstones House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing