We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hosts.”
Review of Glencar House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glencar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glencar House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glencar
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ideally located for the mountains, an actual 9 minute drive from the hydro road route up Carrontouhil.
The views from the dining room and our room were gorgeous, of the mountains.
At dinner when the stag wasn't in the garden, the shallows were very entertaining.
The food was great, we loved it.
Liam and Eilis were great hosts, very friendly and helpful.
A great base for the mountains of Kerry.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CadTenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 100 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

After a long day of driving it was so nice to finally get to The Glencar House. Liam and his wife are absolutely delightful. The bar area is so comfortable. We enjoyed meeting some locals while trying out different Irish drinks. It's very clean and pleasant. The food is great. They made us a sandwich to take on our hike up Ireland's highest peak. It's off the beaten path in a beautiful wooded area. We even saw a deer one night while eating dinner. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lydia59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We looked for a quiet and confortable hotel to have our holiday in Ireland : faboulously situated in a lovely and wild nature, the Glencar House Hotel let us to have two wonderful weeks. After a delicious and generous breakfast, we generally have spent our days to walk in the Iveragh or in the Dingle Peninsula with our packed lunch home-made at the hotel. Every evening, we were very happy to see again our smily and kind hosts. They are really plenty of attentions to give us a happy stay. Eilis always cooks filling and delicious dinners.
Thank you for your hospitality !
Françoise, Bruno and Augustin

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank PIGE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Glencar house hotel is a haven of peace and tranquility, set in a most beautiful part of Kerry. It is an ideal base for those who enjoy walking, fishing, cycling or just driving around.
Liam, Eilish and all the staff are so welcoming and we were made to feel at home the minute we arrived.
Nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is delicious, and the bar is so cosy and relaxing. Our bedroom was great overlooking the mountains. We found it very hard to get out of bed each morning because it was just so comfortable!
We have stayed in the Glencar house before and each time we go back we enjoy it even more.
Can't wait till we get to go back again!!
Keep up the great work Liam and Eilish!!

Louise and Dave.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louisefitzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Glencar House was the only place to stay we found in Glencar. With 4 girls backpacking, we stayed in a family room. Glencar House is surrounded by the most idyllic scenery on the Kerry Way. Eillis is the perfect hostess, she cared about us, cooked some delicious meals!

Thank you for your hospitality! Love, the four Belgian girls

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefanie1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My partner and I had booked a mountain walking, lake viewing and driving adventure holiday in the county of Kerry in Ireland for a week July 2013. My partner discovered the Glencar hotel on internet search engines. We wanted to get a hotel/ house to set up as a base for our driving adventures. Glencar house hotel did not disappoint. The location of hotel was perfect with scenic views of mountains all around.

My partner then found Glencar House Hotel on facebook to explain our vegetarian and no cheese diets. Liam and Ellis were very accommodating and helped us with our Sat nav questions about what to put it to help us find the hotel. We drove down from Dublin to Glencar house hotel with ease after that. Sign posts to the hotel are clearly marked.

The hosts Liam & Eilis along with all the staff were so friendly, welcoming and keen to ensure our stay was enjoyable. The rooms were fresh, clean with flowing hot water and ample amounts of tea. The food was outstanding; I would recommend the Irish Full Breakfast. When we did stay in for an evening meal it was so delicious. Ellis went out of her way to ensure our dietary needs were catered for!

Just by the local town of Killarney and in the area of the Ring of Kerry. There is plenty to do if you are looking for a walking, cycling or simply driving. The hotel provided ample walking maps, things to do in the area, information about the fishing areas.

Hotel has a snooker table, cosy little bar and friendly people. The surroundings are beautiful, so peaceful and were made to feel at home. Thanks for the hospitality. We would very much consider staying at Glencar again. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michaela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

It feels like this place is built around around a fireplace in are cozy little bar. When we arrived here, we were very warmly welcomed by the host. We were walking the Kerry way and even though it is not directly on track, it's totally worth staying here - there is a shortcut coming back to the Kerry way at Blackstone bridge. After a long day of walking we could really relax here. After having a shower the Guiness at the fireplace was like something that came directly from heaven. The food was by far the best we had in Ireland during our trip. Hospitality is the key of this place. The only suggestion for improvement would be the room temperature - could be a little warmer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MnMadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencar
10.6 mi away
The Dunloe
The Dunloe
#1 of 1 in Beaufort
707 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,141 reviews
24.9 mi away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletownbere
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
4.3 mi away
Stepping Stone Bed and Breakfast with Cooky Monsters cafe
6 mi away
Kingdom View B&B
Kingdom View B&B
#3 of 4 in Glencar
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencar House

Address: Glencar, Glencar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Glencar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glencar
Price Range: $92 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glencar House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glencar House is a rustic mountain hotel in the heart of the Caragh Valley and is the ideal base for a fishing or walking trip. Glencar House Hotel offers the lover of the outdoors easy access to the finest facilities from world-class salmon & trout fishing and walking trips or climbing trips , to golf and trekking. The hotel boasts panoramic views of the valley, woods and MacGillicuddy's Reeks, home to Carrauntuohill Ireland's highest mountain. The popular tourist town of Killarney is situated 22 miles from Glencar House hotel and is centrally situated within the famous 'Ring of Kerry' route. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing