We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First-class hospitality in stunning surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Glencar House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glencar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glencar House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glencar
Stanford, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First-class hospitality in stunning surroundings”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We spent one night in this charming hotel in the middle of the Ring of Kerry. I wish we had more time to explore and stay longer! The hotel is an old building, but it is well maintained, clean and extremely comfortable. My husband and I arrived after 8:30pm, hungry and cold, and our hostess was kind enough to make us a delicious soup and one of the best goat-cheese salads I've ever tasted. This was served up in the wood-panelled bar infront of a roaring fire. Our host kept us from being thirsty with drinks from the well-stocked bar. The bedroom was extremely comfortable, clean and warm. The breakfast was first-class with a full range of cereals, hot cakes, fruit etc., and a hearty cooked breakfast. The area is renowned for fishing and hiking, as well as the stunning scenery. I would love to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F00tn0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilis C, Proprietor at Glencar House, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
You were very kind to take the time to post your positive review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate that you did. It was such a shame that your visit to Glencar was so short, hopefully you will get back to see us again and take more time to explore the area and see all the beautiful sights around us. I am so delighted that the Goats cheese salad was such a hit with you, it is very popular with all our guests. Wishing you both a very happy summer season and we look forward to seeing you again hopefully. Take care. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
35
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Glencar Hotel is in a remote, beautiful location. The building has seen better days -- the restaurant and downstairs generally could do with a big overhaul -- but the prices for the simple but pleasantly decorated rooms reflect this. The hosts are very friendly, and provide excellent homecooked meals in the evening as well as a full breakfast which is included in the price of the room. I enjoyed my stay and would recommend the Glencar Hotel to anyone interested in a stay in the wilds of Kerry.

Room Tip: It's wonderfully quiet here so I think all the rooms will be just fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnuttall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilis C, Proprietor at Glencar House, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Glencar House. It was lovely to meet you and your family, I hope you enjoyed exploring Kerry and seeing the sights. Hopefully we will get to see you in Glencar again. Regards to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have stayed at Glencar House 3 times over the last 2 years and it is consistently the most friendly and welcoming place that I have ever stayed at! Liam and Eilis (and Lizzie, the wee westie) cannot do enough for you. The rooms are large and clean. The food is good with B&B or include dinner which usually has three good choices for entree, main and desert. Glencar House has a bar hat is also frequented by locals as well as guests so whilst you have a Guinness by the open fire, you can hear how the fishing went, how the walkers fared on Carrantuohill or why the Government is no good at all! Mike O'Shea manages the Caragh River fishery which includes access and boats on Lough Acoose and Lough Cloon. You will always catch small trout on the Loughs and maybe a salmon the river or loghs Cloon or Caragh, but weather conditions, river flows are very important to success.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilis C, Proprietor at Glencar House, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
As always it's a pleasure to welcome you to Glencar House. We are so delighted that you have come back to visit us 3 times and look forward to seeing you again soon when hopefully you can do a spot of fishing on the Upper Caragh or Caragh Lake. We really appreciate your comments and your positive feed back, it's always a pleasure to see you in Glencar. Take care and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theys, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed in Glencar with my girlfriend after a long and beautiful day along the Kerry Way. Owners are so kind and easygoing ! We spent a lovely evening next to the fireplace, drinking Guiness with some other guests, very relaxing ! There is a lovely path to join the Kerry Way without to retrieve it at Glencar passing through fishing courses.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenjaminFromFance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durrus, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed at Glencar for two nights with my 9 & 10 year old boys. We had a very relaxing time. The boys loved the snooker table, the board games supplied and the piano. We had a meal on both evenings which was delicious. Eilish & Liam could not do enough for us and they made our stay very enjoyable. Would love to return sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: Very large family room with lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizcroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My sister and I have spend some absolutely fantastic days in Glencar. Our twin room was spacious and the beds very comfortable. Spending our days walking in the breathtaking countryside surrounding the hotel, we were very thankful for the carefully prepared and delicious dinners in the evening as well as the pints of Guinness and the warming fire place in the bar. Liam and Ailish were very caring, recommended routes, sorted out transport and an excellent guide for climbing Carrauntuohil. We hope to be able to come back and we will recommend a stay to all our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Laois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

5 dogs and 3 couples travelled to Glencar Hotel on Friday 7th September for a weekend hillwalking and exploring the local country side. Liam & Eilis gave us a fantastic welcome and Lizzie the resident Westie welcomed our 4 legged companions. The hotel oozes an old fashioned charm, the open fires in the bar, the views from the sunroom, everywhere spotless. The peace, tranquility, surrounding wildlife, unspoilt countryside, a break from the hustle and bustle. Our rooms comfortable and food to dream about! Sitting in the dining room, looking out on Carrantuohill appearing from the clouds, eating fantastic food, I was in Heaven. Being able to bring our dogs to this wonderful place was what made it perfect, no fuss, a safe environment, lots of space to walk and exercise. I look forward to returning for another perfect weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NeroCoLaois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencar
7.5 mi away
Bianconi
Bianconi
#1 of 2 in Killorglin
122 reviews
15.2 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#20 of 39 in Killarney
822 reviews
4.9 mi away
Towers Hotel
Towers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glenbeigh
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Dunloe
The Dunloe
#1 of 1 in Beaufort
706 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.0 mi away
Kerry Ocean Lodge
Kerry Ocean Lodge
#2 of 2 in Glenbeigh
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencar House

Property: Glencar House
Address: Glencar, Glencar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Glencar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glencar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glencar House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glencar House is a rustic mountain hotel in the heart of the Caragh Valley and is the ideal base for a fishing or walking trip. Glencar House Hotel offers the lover of the outdoors easy access to the finest facilities from world-class salmon & trout fishing and walking trips or climbing trips , to golf and trekking. The hotel boasts panoramic views of the valley, woods and MacGillicuddy's Reeks, home to Carrauntuohill Ireland's highest mountain. The popular tourist town of Killarney is situated 22 miles from Glencar House hotel and is centrally situated within the famous 'Ring of Kerry' route. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing