We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!”
Review of Glencar House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glencar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glencar House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glencar
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at Glencar house for three fabulous and memorable nights.

The hotel was delightful and simple but what really made it really shine was the location and our hosts - Eilis and Liam. They were so caring and attentive and ... the food! We expected to be eating in pubs or towns near the hotel but no! The dinners there were exceptional (to be honest we ate there every night because it was the best food we had on our whole trip) and so well priced. Breakfast was also a treat and we were able to watch the rain, deer, hares and birds from the conservatory.

We had a room with a great view of the mountains and thanks to Liam we were able to get a guide to take us up there.

We live in Australia but should we be in Ireland again, we would make the trip back even across the country!

I would recommend staying there to anyone looking for a break and a touch of real service - you definitely need to give it a go.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Glencar House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 98 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

My family went to Glencar House for many years when I was a kid and we loved the freedom of the huge gardens, river walks and beach trips as well as the feeling of coming home to a place so familiar and well loved each year.

Having read the reviews here, my parents and I decided to return for a few days - and WOW! None of the charm of Glencar has been lost but only added to. Eilis & Liam are the most hospitable of hosts and made every effort to see that any request was met. Eilis is a fantastic cook and every meal was delicious. Despite the fact that they run a busy hotel, both Liam & Eilis always had time to stop and chat, share stories and make everyone they came into contact with feel at ease.

The accommodation is unfussy and simple. The surroundings are unspoilt and even in the constant rain, are quiet and provide restoration for a weary London soul!
And to top it all off, Dad caught a great big salmon which provided much celebration both after it was caught and that night - a great feast of salmon, wine and fantastic conversation ensued!

This is old fashioned Irish hospitality at its very best (think pre-Celtic tiger) where generosity, joy in serving and attention to detail and to the customer is paramount. Don't miss this gorgeous gem of a hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilis C, Manager at Glencar House, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We were so delilghted that you and your parents decided to return to Glencar House this year and relive all your childhood memories with us. We really enjoyed hearing all the stories of the times you visited Glencar House back in the 70's. We look forward to seeing you again next year and hopefully your dad will be lucky enough to catch another big salmon. Best wishes from Eilis and Liam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Glencar House. After a white knuckle drive through The Burren in the rain, we arrived in a very tense state. Our nerves were calmed and sprits lifted by the treatment we received from Eilis and Liam. Food, drink, and atmosphere could not have been better. We chose to stay in Glencar becasue we were looking to find relatives in the area, and Eilis and Liam helped us with that too. It was our best stay in Ireland and are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilis C, Manager at Glencar House, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor, we really appreciate it. We are so glad that you were able to track down your relatives while you visited Glencar and we do hope that you will get back here at some stage in the near future for a family gathering. Regards to all the family, Eilis and Liam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

An extended group of family & friends spent a great weekend in Glencar last weekend. The location is remote but the setting is tranquil & beautiful, Ireland at its best.

We had 3 kids under ten years of age and we got a great family room. It had two rooms with 3 single beds & a double. The accommodation was basic but extremely clean & spacious, perfect for our stay. There was plenty room for the kids to play football outside. Many in the group ventured up Carrauntoohil with the aid of a local guide. Instead we visited the local towns.

The hosts were very welcoming, accommodating & flexible with the kids. We were spoilt with the best of home baking & cooking. The kids enjoyed the full size snooker table & tv room. We enjoyed the bar, which was homely with a warm open fire. The sing song & music on Saturday was a real treat.

The weekend was exceptionally good value. A recession friendly hotel. We enjoyed a great family friendly break. Looking forward to a return trip already.

P.S. There is a beautiful walk through a forest & around a lake to the back of the hotel. Definitely worth doing & perfect for those not adventurous enough to climb Carrauntoohil.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had our 2nd Annual Cousins reunion on the June bank holiday.To say that it exceeded all expectations would be an understatement.From the time we arrived, the hotel staff couldn't do enough for us.Most of us had booked for 3 nights,The food was wonderful and the atmosphere at the hotel was second to none.I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone considering a reunion of any description or for singles couples families etc.The scenery and various walks around the hotel are outstanding.Value wise I don't believe there is a hotel in Ireland offering better value.Roll on next year for our next reunion.Many thanks Liam and Eilís.
P.S. This is the first time I felt obliged to give maximum points for a review

Room Tip: Room 5 is a beauty
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRANK531958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

As a repeat visitor to the area I can definitely recommend Glencar House as the best accomodation in the area and a great base to explore the mountains. In terms of value and comfort it cant be faulted. I love the feel of the place and it has very friendly hosts. I should mention that the bar is great too!
I'll be back again next year.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earlyevening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We recently enjoyed a lovely weekend in Glencar House hotel with Liam and Eilis. Beautiful location, friendly atmosphere, home cooking, even got the family dog Lizzy to take us for a walk! If you want a relaxing, stress free break this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencar
3.8 mi away
Towers Hotel
Towers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glenbeigh
171 reviews
16.6 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
969 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kerry Ocean Lodge
Kerry Ocean Lodge
#2 of 2 in Glenbeigh
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
13.5 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
12.6 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencar House

Address: Glencar, Glencar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Glencar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glencar
Price Range: $90 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glencar House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glencar House is a rustic mountain hotel in the heart of the Caragh Valley and is the ideal base for a fishing or walking trip. Glencar House Hotel offers the lover of the outdoors easy access to the finest facilities from world-class salmon & trout fishing and walking trips or climbing trips , to golf and trekking. The hotel boasts panoramic views of the valley, woods and MacGillicuddy's Reeks, home to Carrauntuohill Ireland's highest mountain. The popular tourist town of Killarney is situated 22 miles from Glencar House hotel and is centrally situated within the famous 'Ring of Kerry' route. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing