We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for walking!”
Review of Glencar House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glencar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glencar House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glencar
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect for walking!”
Reviewed May 19, 2011

What a wonderful stay I had at Glencar House Hotel! Great hosts, great place, great area up in the mountains with lots of great walking. I climbed Carountahil on my 53rd birthday under fabulously sunny skies. I won't forget this jewel of a place.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank optimistic20814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
38
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

what a wonderful place! husband and I stayed at Glencar so he could do some salmon fishing- he caught three! I don't think we have ever stayed at such a friendly hotel.the food was superb--i really enjoyed my porridge with baileys! as we sat eating breakfast we saw red deer on more than one occasion.
Our room was large, beautifully clean and we slept so well!
Probably the best thing though was the evenings spent in the bar sitting round the peat fire with fellow guests and locals-- Paddy even brought in mackerel for us to enjoy in the restaurant.
Thank you so much Liam and Eilis we will keep in touch and see you next yearxx

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwinahumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Our charity group for the Beverley Butterfly Foundation stayed here while we climbed Carantoul Mountain.

Eilis and Liam along with all their staff ensured we had an amazing time. They could not do enough for us.... the food was amazing.... the hotel is cosy and warm.... great atmosphere and brilliant bar. The food was without doubt flawless and very generous, from breakfast to dinner.... we even got sandwiches and snacks complimentary.

The owners and staff even joined us for drinks and we played the piano and had a sing song. It was my birthday and I got cake and everyone got a free round of drinks. We even got certificates for climbing Irelands Highest Mountain. Our dinner table for 20 people was adorned with butterflies which is the theme of our charity group.... all the small details was amazing.

The grounds are idyllic and the hotel so peaceful and lovely. We are all going to re book for august weekend just because we had such an amazing end to our 1,000 mile journey through 4 highest peaks in UK and Ireland.

Without a doubt the best hotel I have stayed in..... friendliness, atmosphere everything made it an amazing 2 days. We were sad leaving and all got hugs form the owners. Glencar House ROCKS.

Room Tip: Any room is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank damienwalsh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2011

If you're after a real experience of Ireland then i can honestly say this is the place to go. We've just got back from a 4 day stay at Glencar House where we did lots of cycling and bagged the highest mountain in Ireland... The whole trip was a wonderful success and was made all the better by the fantastic people that run the hotel. Couldn't be more helpful with guidance and providing everything we needed. Weather was fantastic, food was perfect and the actual location absolutely spot on with the hills / mountains of Kerry. After a hard days cycling and walking being able to have a nice pint of guinness in front of a open fire with great hospitality and the odd game of snooker, I honestly couldn't think of anything more I could want... wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drucej31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Up a lovely lane to reveal the hotel, nestled below the Mountains. Eilis and Liam made us very welcome and our room had wonderful views, even from the "throne"! It was also wonderfully toasty at night. Food was great and we had dinner on both nights. The first night, following drinks by a turf file in the bar, the second after a frame of snooker, (full sized table). The location is such that you can explore rivers on foot, directly from the front door, or travel through the valleys or head to any of the coastal areas of the Kerry Way. You you want a change from sterile hotels I am back two weeks and looking back can still highly reccommend the joyous place with bags of personality and wonderful hosts. Maria, Jim and Snoop

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mariabakerbrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

At first impressions, you might think this was an old run down hotel, but it really isn't. It has been lovingly and sympathetically restored and they haven't replaced windows with double glazed units that don't suit the style of the building or stuck on a new PVC door. You can almost feel the history as you walk up the driveway and into what is actually a very pleasant, clean, bright building full of charm and olde world grandour. It was a breath of fresh air, considering how many modern, sterile, characterless buildings we've stayed in over the years. The couple running the place, Liam and Alicia, couldn't have been more inviting or friendly and the service we received was 100%. The hotel was quiet, as we arrived out of season, but we were treated more as friends than paying guests. We sat by a roaring turf fire in the small cozy bar before eating dinner in the beautiful old fashioned conservatory with panoramic views of the Kerry mountains, looking for deer as we ate.

Our room was large and bright and we had everything we needed.

I will definitely jump at the chance of going back here again. It would be a beautiful place for a family get-together. Oh, and if you like fishing .... you'd be in heaven here. The Caragh river is at the end of the garden and fishing permits can be bought at the hotel. Fishing isn't my thing, but the river was so beautiful, even I was tempted to give it a shot.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front would have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beeney45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Glencar House is the perfect place to use as a base if you want to attempt to climb Ireland's highest mountain which was the reason for our stay. The hotel is in a great location with spectacular views of the mountains. It's remote but places like Killarney are only a short hop away by car by so you have the best of both worlds. One of the best things about the hotel is the people running it, Eilis and Liam. They were fab and couldn't do enough for us. Due to various trips we were coming and going at odd hours but Eilis and Liam bent over backwards to ensure we could still get a proper meal,etc. The hotel has a real homely feel about it which was personified by us having a meal in the tv room so as not to miss a big Irish rugby match! Liam and Eilis are well up on local knowledge and provided us with maps and guidebooks to help with our various jaunts. The room we stayed in was clean, spacious and warm. The hotel has a great bar with an open fire which was very welcome after a day on the rather damp mountains! Although we did not go for the fishing it's clear from looking around the hotel that fishing is big in the area and again I would suggest that the hotel would make a great base for adventures with rod and fly. The food was great and we basically got to choose what we fancied as we were the first guests of the season and the hotel was relatively quiet. There was a family with children staying on our last day and commented on how "child friendly" the hotel was. Lots of big lawns to run around on and no traffic to speak of. In a nutshell, if you fancy a homely, clean and most of all friendly hotel in this part of Ireland then I would totally recommend Glencar House. We had a ball!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stodders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencar
4.9 mi away
Towers Hotel
Towers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glenbeigh
164 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
7.5 mi away
Bianconi
Bianconi
#1 of 2 in Killorglin
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#21 of 38 in Killarney
853 reviews
19.6 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
13.7 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencar House

Property: Glencar House
Address: Glencar, Glencar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Glencar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glencar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glencar House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glencar House is a rustic mountain hotel in the heart of the Caragh Valley and is the ideal base for a fishing or walking trip. Glencar House Hotel offers the lover of the outdoors easy access to the finest facilities from world-class salmon & trout fishing and walking trips or climbing trips , to golf and trekking. The hotel boasts panoramic views of the valley, woods and MacGillicuddy's Reeks, home to Carrauntuohill Ireland's highest mountain. The popular tourist town of Killarney is situated 22 miles from Glencar House hotel and is centrally situated within the famous 'Ring of Kerry' route. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing