We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Plough Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Ventry B&B and Inns
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Having just returned from Ireland, this was our second B & B we stayed in (for two nights). We drove up to see this beautiful home, with picturesque views of the sea and surroundings area. Close enough to town and 'the sand' (beach); great walking! The family was delightful and very helpful. The breakfast was very delicious, the room was clean and the view incredible. A place I would definitely return to when I get the opportunity.

Room Tip: we had a front room view of the sea! Incredibly beautiful. Must drive Sleigh Head Trail!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    23
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
21
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

By coincidence we also stayed at the Plough B & B during race weekend in Dingle. I can honestly say our stay here was truly magnificent and we have already booked ahead for race weekend next year (hopefully the sun will be shining for the races next year!)
We got a lovely friendly welcome from the hostess Beatrice and her son, we later met her husband, all three were very friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed great conversations with them about the locality. They were highly informative about the area and helped us with every query we had.
Our double room was very comfortable and clean, plenty of room for two of us, shower area was spotless and towels soft and clean, plenty hot water, tea/coffee facilities etc. what more could you ask for?
While eating our breakfast in the morning Beatrice spoke with us and asked us if we had been woken during the night as some guests who were expected in the late evening only checked in well after midnight...we assured her that our comfort had not been affected in any way. We actually felt sorry that somebody who works so hard at her business should be expected to receive guests so late at night....Beatrice was cooking breakfast bright and early in the morning. By the way there was a great menu for breakfast and we both tucked in to beautifully cooked and presented good food.
We left The Plough well satisfied and out hosts even gave us a "tip" for the Derby at Dingle races...a great time was had in Dingle. Thank you Beatrice and your lovely family,,,looking forward to 2013!

Room Tip: Sea view is magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Beautiful view, nice room and a king-sized bed! The biggest one we had in all of Ireland. Friendly family and a huge breakfast! Liked the location outside of the bustle of Dingle, and it made a good jumping off point for our tour of the Peninsula the next morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The magnificent Ventry Harbour was made even more overwhelming by the wonderful welcome from hosts David and Beatrice at the Plough B&B. From our first moment in the door, they did everything possible to make our 2 night stay one to remember. Their local knowledge, genuine helpfulness and information about the area was a great bonus.
The comfortable bed gave us the best nights sleep, the power shower, view of the harbour from our room, PLUS the delicious breakfast menu with generous portions, cereals, never ending coffee, toast and real butter! Everything about this B&B experience made our stay back in this beautiful area so much richer. We will return! Thankyou Beatrice and David, we are very happy customers and sad to leave!
ps: Just logged onto this site to read a negative review... they could not have had the right place?? Certainly not our experience of the Plough B&B!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MnM13072012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Wow . . . well, if you read the other poorer reviews, you'll have an idea what a miserable person the 'hostess' is. First, the good - lovely view and lovely breakfast.

Now for the bad . . . the short version is that the hostess is in the wrong profession - a mean spirited person and the room was a dump (see pictures). Read below for the longer story . . .

It all started when we arrived late. I have to say I found it odd when the reservation system wanted a time of arrival at booking, but since it was one of the first places I booked for our trip, so I thought maybe it was normal for Ireland. Well, I should have trusted my 'spidey senses.' Early in the day, I realized our arrival time would be very different than originally guessed (we we traveling down from the Aran Islands) and called the number that was provided and moved our estimated arrival to be very late in the evening.

After a long and stressful drive, we arrived at the Inn to find a nasty note on the door that they had waited until 9:00 for us - funny, our message was that we would not arrive until after 11. But there was a number. We called it several times with no response. Luckily, another couple stumbled up from the pub and let us in.

Then the fun really began - there was no other information for us as to where to stay. After talking in the entry way for some time, trying a few doors, and considering sleeping on the couch in the common area, the owners son came out of his room. We explained the situation and he went and got his mom. When she came down, she was loaded for bear and proceeded to lecture us and question our honesty about why we were late (we're a successful, couple in our late 30's with three kids (thankfully not with us) and certainly should have appeared earnest). At one point, I picked our luggage back up and asked if she'd prefer we leave, only then did she show us our room.

In hindsight, we should have left and slept in the car that night.

The next morning, we arrived at breakfast to again get the third degree in questions and a lecture about the hardship we had put her through. They had finally listened to our message from the previous morning and made sure to tell us repeatedly that we had said 10:00, not 11:00pm. Either way, they had left the note at 9:00 and who was the paying customer here?

For the remainder of our two day stay, we continued to get the stink eye from the hostess and her husband. The common area was taken over by the owner's son and his friends playing video games. The shower was rusty and moldy (see pictures) and the remainder of the room cramped and uncomfortable (based on other reviews, our lower level center room looking over the sea was one of the better options). To top it all off, the towels were threadbare (see pictures).

In short, the hostess doesn't seem to be interested in serving in that role. All of the guests on this busy race weekend seemed to be an inconvenience. We should have known it was a bad choice when it was one of the few places in the area that didn't have to put up its no vacancy sign during our trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

hi we stayed in The Plough bed & breakfast just last week. We were in a back room bedroom with a very small double bed, the view was of the shed........the views at the front of the house are lovely. The breakfast was anything but good ! cereals were on a high shelve hard to reach, tea & coffee was only warm, it took 25 mins for our breakfast to arrive, mine first and then my husbands a few mins later, then the sausage arrived for his breakfast, brown bread was only ok. Breakfast was cooked in the kitchen which we could see into from the dining room, no extractor was used so we smelled of fry food as did the whole house.

Room Tip: as this is a good location for the Dingle area, make sure you ask for a room at the front ot the hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rossie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Beatrice was extremely professional and friendly during our stay and very helpful with getting around. She also has a laundry service which was a great help as Dingle laundry is closed on weekends! Despite the weather, we enjoyed the quiet rooms and had a fantastic view of the sea. Breakfast was delicious with a choice of cereals and menu! Didn't know about the lobster though!! Definitely a place to rest and relax after being out and about all day!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventry
4.5 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
4.5 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
4.7 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ballymore House Bed & Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Garvey's Farmhouse
Garvey's Farmhouse
#1 of 1 in Ventry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moriarty's Farmhouse
Moriarty's Farmhouse
#4 of 6 in Ventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Plough Bed & Breakfast
Address: Ventry Village, Ventry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Ventry
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Plough Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Bed & Breakfast Ireland/Ventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing