We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky little museum on Dingle Peninsula”

Celtic and Prehistoric Museum
Ranked #3 of 8 things to do in Ventry
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Quirky little museum on Dingle Peninsula”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stopped on a whim on our day around Dingle. The collection is a bit quirky, as it shows prehistoric and celtic objects across Europe, not just Ireland. But we liked the little comment cards which showed the owner's personality. We also liked that the personal quarters were open to see (not visit, just peer in the room) and it also shows an individual with alot of creativity (and a very comfy large dog on a chair). Note that the museum does not take credit cards and many other places on Dingle dont either!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzy429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    42
    12
    7
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada City, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Jaw-Dropping Collection of Artifacts”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Why Rick Steves barely gives this place a few words in passing ("Ireland 2013") is beyond me. The artifacts in this tiny, artfully designed museum could blow away things you'd see in the Smithsonian. There is a full Wooly Mammoth skull and tusks. Jewelry, flint heads, and other artifacts from the days of the Vikings and earlier. Kids would love the dinosaur skeleton and the woolly mammoth as well. It is well worth the 5 Euros to get in and there are beautiful items in the gift shop. It is almost hard to believe these artifacts are real, so you have to see for yourself to decide.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“fantastic experience”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

ideally located at the beginning of your slea head tour and only takes 30 minutes so wont delay your trip too long

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank shane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Last week I was in Dingle for a 2 day break and friends wanted to go and visit this museum, I had never heard of it and all I can say it's well worth a visit. Great layout, so many ancient artifacts from around the world. Great staff and a lovely craft shop to end the visit there. If you have an hour to spare, do be sure to visit this museum, you won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dee_bantry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unexpected gem”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a fabulous place, tucked away right at the end (or beginning) of the Slea Head Drive. The artefacts are displayed very well and there is a lot of interesting information. The huge tree fern in the entrance hall is beautiful and the gift shop was full of lovely and unusual bits and bobs. Myself, my partner and our 6 year old daughter had a great time and I would wholeheartedly recommend a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celtic and Prehistoric Museum also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle Peninsula, County Kerry
Ventry, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Celtic and Prehistoric Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing