We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous pub food with great service and staff”

The Skipper Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Ventry
Price range: $12 - $34
Cuisines: French, Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed November 25, 2018 via mobile

Thanks to all the staff who were very friendly and the kids enjoyed the food which was super. Have to say we were treated like locals the food is very good and priced very well. We will be back next summer.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank maryandmichael2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 468 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2018

Dined here whilst staying at the Peninsula Hotel (FAB STAY ONCE AGAIN) was not that hungry so just had a Cajun chicken salad. It was the best I have tasted in years, really spicy and flavoursome accompanied by yummy salad.
I don't know if the restaurant is responsible for the hotel breakfast, but have to say it was
exceptionally good.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Georgina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

We had eaten at the skipper restaurant several times when in was in the village and really enjoyed it while in dingle in August we missed it and only realised on our last day where it had moved to so on our visit last weekend we decided we must eat there. Firstly the bar/restaurant was so dimly lit up I had to take out my phone torch to read the menu board starters were mainly a salad of one type or other, chowder and chicken wings, which I ordered they were tough as old boots and not the freshest, the chowder was fine and the salad were just salad really with a bit of mackreal on top!!for mains I had the hake with beurre blanc after a considerable wait out came a plate with a few roasted veg a child's portion really and my fish smothered in this awful creamy sauce tasting of nothing! I was embarrassed as we had recommended this restaurant to our friends we also ordered the lobster now at 30€ a half kg we were told it was 1 kg in weight we expected it to be presented a bit better than on a plate with a few roasted veg and a leaf of lettuce! And melted butter in a side dish at this point all agreed that it was definately nothing as nice or tasty as the old skipper. We didn't even wait for coffees or desserts and honestly the staff didn't seem to care whether we were satisfied or not.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Eleanor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018

We ate here many times when it was based in Ventry & loved it. The food last weekend was even better than previous visits. Best homemade chips I have ever eaten. Kids loved their fish & chips,chicken goujons & crepes. Loved their wine tasting offer. Staff were lovely & its a very relaxing place to bring kids to.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TractorMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

We loved this restaurant when it was at Ventry but it has now moved to the Dingle Peninsula hotel. The food is just as good - fantastic fish and also non fish dishes. Much cheaper than equivalent restaurants in Single and well worth the trip to the wonderful coast. Unfortunately no coastal views from the restaurant bit fabulous sceneray all around.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank LAHLAH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Skipper Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to The Skipper Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing