We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fresh food, reasonable prices, friendly staff.”

The Skipper Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Ventry
Price range: $12 - $34
Cuisines: French, Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed March 26, 2011

We went twice in one week recently and on both occasions were delighted with our meals. On the first occasion we had the fixed price menu, tasty soup followed by fresh mackerel, potatoes and mixed vegetables. Some days later, we went a la carte and were equally pleased; one of us had the John Dory, which was deemed delicious and the other had mackerel again. The portions were generous. The young chef was friendly and keen to receive feedback. This is a small restaurant in a village setting that is ideal for casual dining.

Date of visit: March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank dublin186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 362 of 469 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2010

I went last week and was charged 7 euro for warmed up shop bought (lidls?) apple pie with squirty cream and a manky strawberry and a cup of tea. Maybe they heard the english accent and tried it on, except I live and work here now so will be heading back into Dingle for my Friday afternoon treat in future.

2 points for the weather which was fabulous that day.

2  Thank mindyourownbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

The Skipper is a French restaurant located in the village of Ventry (Ceann Tra) on the Slea Head drive. Using the freshest of local produce, wonderful French-influenced dishes are produced. Great value too, for those on a budget. 2 courses for €12.50 or 3 for €15, and all tastily done

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018
Google Translation

Date of visit: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Skipper Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to The Skipper Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.