We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, wonderful stay, beautiful scenery!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballymore House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Ventry B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We had a wonderful time while staying at the Ballymore House! Les and Jenny were so fun to talk to, gave us tons of helpful advice on what to do and where to eat, and made our stay memorable. The breakfasts were quite tasty, great coffee, great little extra toiletries in the room, snacks, games, books, maps, you name it and they had it.

It was a short drive to Dingle, such a cute town. Everyone must check out the beer garden downtown. Sit near the heat lamp and drink a pint. The drive, with many historic and beautiful stops, along Slea Head was great for exploring and taking pictures of the Dingle Peninsula and its many treasures.

Thank you, Les and Jenny! We were blessed to have met you! :) (And Mr. Leo, the cat! We loved him!)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2trvl1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 83 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2010

This was our first trip to Ireland and my husband's first experiences with B&Bs. Our hosts went out of theait way to make us feel welcome. The breakfast was great and being from New England our morning coffee is important. They made great coffee!
The cleanliness of the room was just as perfect as well. If traveling to DIngle for the first time and not sure where to stay; Ballymore House is the place to choose. You won't want to leave. Close to everything and distant enough to be very peaceful.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsObe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We stayed here last week and were very happy. Les and Jenny are very friendly and will make you feel at home. A short ride to Dingle Town Center. Rooms were clean and the breakfast was great. House overlooks a small inlet and a dairy farm across the street. Nice area for a morning stroll. I took one star off for location only because I like to walk to the pub at night. If you want quiet and don't mind a 2 minute drive to the pub it's 5 stars. We had 4 rooms and everyone found them clean and the beds comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mack24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We stayed at Ballymore House with our granddaughter; there were some wonderful things about it, but a negative, too. Our hosts, Jenny and Les, were genuinely friendly and helpful. We were greeted with a pot of tea and excellent cake; they had maps and restaurant menus on hand as well. They served a delicious breakfast, which we rated as "best on our trip'! There were many choices, fresh fruit and juice, etc. We had a view of the water from our room (the B&B is not directly on the water). The B&B is not in Dingle, but is several miles away in Ventry. It is easy to find, however. The negative was the size of our room; perhaps it would have been all right with only a double bed, but with a single bed as well, there was barely enough room to walk around. The bathroom (toilet and shower) was equally small (the sink was outside, in the bedroom). The beds were very comfortable and the room was spotlessly clean, but it was a very cramped space. So we would recommend it with some reservations, especially if there are three in your party.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovestotravel065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Les and Jenny are fabulous hosts. Breakfasts are tasty and plentiful. I particularly enjoyed the local smoked salmon and the fresh baked scones. Be sure to get Les to sing the song about "The Rose" for you!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorhurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Les and Jenny Roper truly went above and beyond all others in offering advice, suggestions, fun and friendly conversation, and the most varied and abundant breakfast we had on our trip. The peaceful setting very close to the bay was delightful. We only spent one night, but wish we had booked for longer. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doclupowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

We stayed in Ballymore house for 2 nights and we were delighted by our stay there. Les and Jenny have the sense of hospitality, their welcoming was very warm. And they have full of advices to share about the area.
The house is very cleaned and well situated, Dingle is just 5-10 minutes driving and the view from the bedroom was fantastic!
The breakfast was also excellent and Jenny is a specialist in cooking scrambled eggs, ask for her secret !
We really enjoyed our stay in Ballymore House and will definitively return there if we have a chance to do so.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irish_girl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventry hotels
2.5 mi away
The Plough Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Ceann Tra Heights Bed and Breakfast
2.5 mi away
Moriarty's Farmhouse
Moriarty's Farmhouse
#3 of 6 in Ventry
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Garvey's Farmhouse
Garvey's Farmhouse
#1 of 1 in Ventry
75 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Ballymore House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymore House Bed & Breakfast

Address: R559 Slea Head Drive | Ballymore, Ventry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Ventry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ventry
Price Range: $94 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ballymore House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballymore House Bed & Breakfast Ireland/Ventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing