We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group Dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
O'Connor's Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 3 Cloghane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A group of 6 of us dined here recently. We had been walking and wished to eat early and this was accomadated. Very good standard fare and fair prices is our summary. Roast duck, steak, cod, plaice were all on the menu and they were accompanied by wonderful local grown "new potatoes". Service from everyone here was pleasant and friendly. Michael (a Cork born Kerryman???) is a good host. The pints of Guiness he pulled were excellent, with a creamy head.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamblingOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 167 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

This was my third trip to Ireland and my third visit to O'Conners Guesthouse in Cloghane. The guesthouse is charming, with that old world authentic feel. The accomodations are very comfortable, as the guesthouse is roomy, with a dining room, bar & lounge and beautiful view of the bay. You have everything you need in this qaint little town that's very pleasing to the eye. Sherry, the owner is a fabulous cook. You are pleasantly surprised with every meal. We traveled into Dingle/Tralee and the food cannot even begin to compare to hers. We wanted to just get back to O'Conners for a home cooked meal (became spoiled after only two days). Michael, the owner was very friendly (and funny) and the whole family were very gracious hosts. If you are looking to get value for your money than I highly recommend that you stop in for a visit at the guesthouse. You will be sure to come back for a visit and be sure that you will be remembered by your first name. Don't change a thing O'Conners!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anastasia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed only one night during and 8 day hike around the Dingle peninsula. Charming "authentic" B&B, bar with locals and travelers. Great atmosphere. Excellent meals. The room was a bit cramped but clean, comfortable. The number of guests arriving around the same time overwhelmed the hot water supply and a cold shower at the end of a 7 hour hike was a downer (but briefly forgotten after a pint or two in the bar). The host is a gifted schmoozer. The wait staff polite.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pttuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed here in November which means two of us only spent 25 euro each per night including a breakfast far superior to many we have had in expensive hotels. On arrival, we were a bit unnerved as the bar seemed dead and the room seemed dated. But we were mistaken. The place is only getting started at seven in the evening, it fills up to be a great cosy warm friendly bar - the perfect place for a few pints. The room may be slightly dated, but was very comfortable. The staff were great, friendly, just the usual hassle of cleaning staff wanting to tidy up your room when perhaps you want a few more hours in bed. On the second night we ate in the dining room. Very good steaks. Wonderful desert. Warm and friendly service and fantastic value. After more drinks in the bar we had another restful night before checking out with ease. There is a lot to be said that is positive about this place, and it is great to stay somewhere in which you feel you are getting serious value for money. A wonderful winter getaway. We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluetrailers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband arrived in Cloghane, weary and lost. Michael and Elizabeth made us feel welcome and at home. We had a room with a view of Brandon Bay- so beautiful! That night we were invited to a private party at their pub! What fun and laughs:) We met so many wonderful people, and we met new friends. We would love to stay there again and will recommend this to our family and friends! Thank you, Michael, Elizabeth and their son David! Brian and Chris Black,
Rochester, NY

Room Tip: Any room, but our was Room B!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed 3 nights and in spite of, or perhaps because of, the windy, rainy days, hunkered down to enjoy the local flavor and personalities, music, hospitality and rounds of
Guiness and very good wine and food introduced by our host Michael. We were located downstairs so didn't have much of a view...the room was adequate, the shower very good, the common rooms a bit musty but comfortable. We enjoyed the quiet of the village and the location at Brendon Bay, close to but away from the busy, tourist town of Doolin.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The 4 of us went to O'Connor's and then a few days later, when they had an arts festival, we made sure we went again. There we met the entire cast of a local Irish Play and followed them to the venue! Terrific. Don't know anything about the lodging portion as we rented a house.

Room Tip: We only dined in the restaurant TWICE warm goat cheese salad is my recommendation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JudithaVermontArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloghane
7.9 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
7.4 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
789 reviews
7.6 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Shores Country House
The Shores Country House
#1 of 7 in Castlegregory
428 reviews
7.4 mi away
Paddy's Palace  Dingle Peninsula
9.0 mi away
Dingle Peninsula Hotel
Dingle Peninsula Hotel
#2 of 8 in Ballyferriter
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Connor's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Connor's Guesthouse

Address: Cloghane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Cloghane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cloghane
Price Range: $91 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — O'Connor's Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run guesthouse, nestling at the foot of Mount Brandon. "A little bit of Heaven in the Kingdom" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your O'Connor's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing