We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant, good food & friendly service”
Review of Tigh Giblin

Tigh Giblin
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Spiddal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, good food & friendly service”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by our host at Cloch na Scith cottages and we weren't disappointed. Great friendly service, lovely food - would recommend & would return!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cbidule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    61
    18
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Visited several times while staying in the area for the Galway races could not say enough about the food and service. Top quality food and service. Will be back next year.

Helpful?
Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great pub and restaurant, fantastic music”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Didnt have a meal here, but listened to the music. What a great night, staff were great, singers were welcomed and the music was brilliant. Would recommend it to anyone wanting to hear some proper traditional Irish music, played and sang with real skill and emotion. Great Craic.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Roadtrip visit”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Lovely place with grand service from Siofra! Especially the fish and chips was great!
(Beautiful girls as well)

Helpful?
1 Thank PieterRoorda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, friendly staff, good service”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We visited Spiddal for 2 days in July. We had a meal in Tigh Giblin on the first night and enjoyed it so much we decided to go back again the following night. We both had the rib-eye steak the first night and both steaks were cooked to perfection. The following night we both had the fish and chips, the fish had crispy batter on the outside with lovely flaky fish inside. The owners and staff are very friendly and efficient. Whilst they don't have a great selection of wine, the wine we had was very good. An added bonus was a traditional music session later on in the evening. I would highly recommend a visit to Tigh Giblin if you are visiting Spiddal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ethel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tigh Giblin also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Tigh Giblin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing