We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spiddal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardmor Country House Spiddal
Ranked #2 of 14 Spiddal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2012

One of our best memories from our trip along the West coast. We had 2 rooms reserved - one double for me and my husband and a twin for our 2 friends. Upon arrival we received a warm welcome and were offered to choose rooms out of several available. Our room was cosy and clean, a little old-fashioned, but tasteful and well-equiped. Both house and the garden were delightful and well maintained. The breakfast in the morning was unbelievable, we stayed in the dining-room for over an hour and hated to leave.
We payed just 65 euro, something that seemed incredible compared to our stay in Dublin, where we payed 60 euro for one horrible nightmare of a B&B (Avondale).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 122 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed for one night with my two children (7 and 14) and found it a lovely place to stay. Location was close to the village and the B&B had lovely views and beautiful kept gardens. The breakfast was fantastic with plenty of choice. The rooms were very clean and had everything we needed. Vera recommended lovely restaurant (Italian) in the Village and kids and myself loved it. Would stay again and would definitely recommend. Thanks Vera for a lovely welcome. June

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea for good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandShopaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We were 2 couples who stayed 2 nights at Ardmor Counrty House, June 23rd abd 24th. All at the B & B was as in the website www.ardmorcountryhouse.com. The owners, Vera and Bartley were friendly, helpful and hospitable hosts..The rooms were clean and well-appointed. The beds were very good. We ate early the 2 mornings there and had the dining area to ourselves to enjoy a very good breakfast start to our 2 mornings. Vera was helpful in providing us with information on restaurants in the area and directions and a map to Connemara, Kylemore Abbey and to Clonmacnoise monastery on our way to Dublin airport. It was a first time B & B exoerience for one couple, Lorraine and Dean, and couldn't have picked a better esperience!
Will be recommending Ardmor Country House - Mary and Alex, Lorraine and Dean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed with Vera and Bartley for several nights. They were most warm, welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was wonderful every morning, Rooms were clean and roomy.
Vera gave us a wonderful suggested route to tour Connemara, with very clear directions and a little map.
While we were in Galway we wanted to spend one night out in the Arans, and Vera and Bartley held our luggage for us while we took our little side trip. They also let us postpone payment until we got back, because their credit card connection wasn't working.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We arrived early in the day here after a long flight and a three hour drive from Dublin and Vera and Bartley were so kind to allow us to stay and make ourselves at home while they prepared our room. The house is beautifully decorated, as are the grounds. We had a nice room in the back overlooking Galway Bay. We met interesting people at breakfast each morning, and Vera's cooking was well received. She's a wealth of knowledge of things to see and do in Spiddal and surrounding areas. She gave us a map to follow for the road to Connemara and marked our route with precision. We followed her advice and had a wonderful scenic drive the next day. While in Spiddal we ate at An Cruiscin Lan and Peppino's. Both were good!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladydi2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I can say nothing but positives about Vera and Bartley. We have stayed with them quite a few times over the years that we have traveled to Ireland. Every visit was wonderful. The rooms were spacious and wonderfully decorated. This year we had a view of Galway Bay and the Aran Islands from our room with two chairs and a table in front of the windows. The breakfast is served at a large table so you can interact with other guests. This year, there were students from GA and also a French couple. Vera has excellent breakfast options including fruit. She also serves a great Irish breakfast. And she does her own baking which is wonderful. We have been traveling to Ireland for 15 years, staying at B&Bs always but Vera's gardens are some of the most beautiful
We expect to travel back to stay with Vera again next year and cannot wait.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Spiddal is a great choice if you prefer the outskirts of Galway to staying in the town proper. There was a mighty storm afoot and we enjoyed watching it from our room after returning from town and the beach. Our room was spacious (though the bath is a tad smallish) and had a lovely view of Vera's carefully tended garden. Our bed was wonderfully comfortable with layers and layers of lovely wool blankets - no one suffers cold at the Ardmor House!

Vera Feeney is a most charming woman who has traveled extensively. Her collections are an intrigue in themselves. And Vera knows how to make guests feel at home. She has excellent advice for things to see and do and she is a Grand Mistress of the Kitchen. Her pastries, jams and soda bread are head and shoulders above others in Ireland.

We loved the long dining table and the opportunity to chat and exchange venues with guests from the UK and Germany.

Thank you, Vera, for making our stay so memorable

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ideas2Art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spiddal hotels
112.7 mi away
An Cruiscin Lan Hotel
An Cruiscin Lan Hotel
#1 of 2 in Spiddal
101 reviews
113.6 mi away
Radharc Arainn B&B
Radharc Arainn B&B
#7 of 14 in Spiddal
28 reviews
0 mi away
An Caladh Gearr Thatch Cottage B+B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
112.6 mi away
Ard Eoinin Spiddal Bed and Breakfast
0 mi away
No photo provided
110.7 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Spiddal
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmor Country House Spiddal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmor Country House Spiddal

Address: Spiddal House Spiddal House Spiddal House Spiddal House Greenhill, Spiddal, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Spiddal
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Spiddal
Price Range: $71 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing